SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 26, 2009, 02:16 PM
United States, WI, Fond du Lac
Joined Sep 2008
1,740 Posts
Build Log
P-61 Black Widow 50"

This is my first build log and my first (and second) scratch built model after a 35 year break from the hobby. The P-61 has always been one of my favorite aircraft of WWII. It was first purpose built radar equipped night fighter for the US and the heaviest fighter at the time. Its contribution to the war effort was limited by its late entry (and the fact that there were few targets left by that time!)

The P-61 has good proportions for a model; nice broad wings with ample tail surfaces. Itís also a challenging build, especially the center fuselage with its complex shape and lots of glass.

I decided to build a prototype before tackling a more scale model. In the 35 years I was out of the hobby a lot has changed! It was the advent high performance electric power systems that really piqued my interest. Also, I became aware of foam building techniques and bought Keith Sparksí book Building with Foam.

The prototype is semi-profile with a full center fuselage but nacelles made from 1/2" foam board. The foam wing is covered in kraft paper. The prototype flew great right from the start, beginners luck no doubt. It looks and sounds great in flight.

The success of the prototype encouraged me to start work on the scale version.

Prototype specs:
W.S. 50" (3/4" = 1ft.)
AUW 38oz
motors 2410-09
Props 10x6EP
ESC 2x18A
Battery 2200mAH 3s1p
pmullen503 is offline Find More Posts by pmullen503
Last edited by pmullen503; Nov 18, 2009 at 04:46 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 26, 2009, 02:52 PM
Neophyte hacker
Albuquerque, NM USA
Joined Sep 2003
15,924 Posts
Hey, that prototype looks better than some of my planes!

Nice subject too. Love look of it in the air.

charlie
portablevcb is offline Find More Posts by portablevcb
Old Oct 26, 2009, 03:27 PM
Joined Sep 2008
1,740 Posts
Fuselage