Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Oct 22, 2009, 12:15 PM
Joined May 2009
162 Posts
Question
might a bandpass filter help with 2.4 V-Tx locking out FASST Rx?

Hey Guys,

So everybody nows, using a 2.4GHz Video Transmitter will make FASST lock out.

I have made a test on a cheap 80$ Spektrum Analyzer, and it looked like this:

Well I'm not an expert, but to me this looks like these two won't interfere with each other, but in fact, they do. So hf-noob me would say, Fasst locks out, because the VTx that is like 40cm away from the Fasst antennas shouts so loud, that the receiver can't hear the transmitter on the ground anymore. I learned the basics of electronics in school, and I know that there is an electronic component that's called a Bandpass-Filter. As far as I understood, using a bandpass, you could filter the frequencys from 2460 to 2500Mhz, so the Fasst receiver wouldn't hear it anymore, meaning it would be able to operate like without the VTx.

So as I said, I know that there is a bandpass component, but I don't know if there is one in the right size, that in fact filters frequencies above 2460 MHz, and I also don't know if this would solve the problem at all.

Is there anybody that is familiar with the matter and would be so kind to exlain it to me? That would be awesome

regards,
Wolfgang
lichy is offline Find More Posts by lichy
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 22, 2009, 12:30 PM
Suspended Account
Netherlands, NH, Edam
Joined Jul 2004
5,535 Posts
No, won't work, as a bandpass filter hasn't got steep enough filter slopes, nor the small bandwidth required to do it. Just pick another frequency for RC control or video and stop trying to get 2.4 + 2.4 to work, as you will never get the range or flexibility the other solutions offer.

Cheers,

Sander.
ssassen is offline Find More Posts by ssassen
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 22, 2009, 01:22 PM
Miami
Joined Apr 2005
10,107 Posts