HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 24, 2009, 03:18 PM
13brv3's Avatar
Navarre, FL
Joined Mar 2002
3,845 Posts
It looks like you can order it directly from their web page.
http://www.cvs.com/CVSApp/catalog/sh...ump&navCount=3

My closest store had plenty, and I picked one up a few minutes ago to try out.

Rusty
13brv3 is offline Find More Posts by 13brv3
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 24, 2009, 03:42 PM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
5,186 Posts
youve gotta travel to different CVS stores and see which ones have it.
I hit one and they didnt, the next one did.

As far as the blue screen. The tv will take moderate static before it goes to blue, so the threshold is decent. And the second the signal get better it comes back. Now this doesnt mean it has to be a perfect signal, like I said it does take some static. The screen is almost completely filled w/ static before it jumps to blue. There is no delay when the signal gets better and the blue screen goes away.

With that sid, if your not going to use the converter Tarro spoke about, youll need to have a backup viewer like your video recorder. In my case, I have the Mini-dv recorder screen open so when it goes blue, I can still see in the video.
Matt Gunn is offline Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Bill Hempel Xtreme Decathlon
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 04:00 PM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
Get the converter it is only $40 and runs on 5 volts. I don't plan on flying from the monitor, just letting people see, teach FPV and run a RC truck with my boys.
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 24, 2009, 04:07 PM
The Fixer
Canada, ON, Mississauga
Joined Jan 2009
3,903 Posts
If you could get the service manual for that and post or E-mail the schematic. Someone could tell you how to disable the blue screen. Or not.
Martin Y is offline Find More Posts by Martin Y
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Martin Y; Oct 24, 2009 at 05:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 04:29 PM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
5,186 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Y
If you could get the service manual for that and post or E-mail the schematic. Someone could tell you how to disable the blue screen.
in the "others" section of the main menu is a check box called ATV Blue Back.

The manual says this :
Press the enter button to turn it On (If no signal received, background of screen will turn blue) or Off.


well Ive checked both and it does nothing. I think ATV means analog, therefore it only works through the coax cable.
This is specualtion because I havent tested it through my cable.
Matt Gunn is offline Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Bill Hempel Xtreme Decathlon
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 04:32 PM
The Fixer
Canada, ON, Mississauga
Joined Jan 2009
3,903 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by webdr
in the "others" section of the main menu is a check box called ATV Blue Back.

The manual says this :
Press the enter button to turn it On (If no signal received, background of screen will turn blue) or Off.


well Ive checked both and it does nothing. I think ATV means analog, therefore it only works through the coax cable.
This is specualtion because I havent tested it through my cable.
Not the Owners manual the Service (Repair) manual.
Martin Y is offline Find More Posts by Martin Y
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Flyfly Fox Glider
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 04:47 PM
13brv3's Avatar
Navarre, FL
Joined Mar 2002
3,845 Posts
I did a couple of quick tests outside, and I'm pretty happy with it for $150. Heck, I might even pick up another one.

I measured the video delay to be 60-70 ms, which is as good as anything I've tested, so the monitor won't be introducing any excessive delays if you try to use it for FPV. Adding the converter "might" add to the delay, so that "could" be a downside.

Has anyone tried an anti-glare coating, or shield of any type on a monitor like this?

Cheers,
Rusty
13brv3 is offline Find More Posts by 13brv3
Site Sponsor
Last edited by 13brv3; Oct 24, 2009 at 04:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 04:49 PM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13brv3
I did a couple of quick tests outside, and I'm pretty happy with it for $150. Heck, I might even pick up another one.

I measured the video delay to be 60-70 ms, which is as good as anything I've tested, so the monitor won't be introducing any excessive delays if you try to use it for FPV. Adding the converter "might" add to the delay, so that "could" be a downside.

Cheers,
Rusty
Like I said I don't plan on flying from it so it is not a big deal to me, I love my goggles.
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 24, 2009, 05:03 PM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
5,186 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarro
Like I said I don't plan on flying from it so it is not a big deal to me, I love my goggles.
what goggs are you using?
Matt Gunn is offline Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Bill Hempel Xtreme Decathlon
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 05:47 PM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by webdr
what goggs are you using?
EVG920 but I modified them.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ghlight=evg920
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 24, 2009, 06:33 PM
Gravity Tester
KnimRod's Avatar
Central Michigan
Joined May 2003
1,133 Posts
Does anyone know if this monitor/TV will display a PAL composite signal?
KnimRod is offline Find More Posts by KnimRod
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 09:30 PM
13brv3's Avatar
Navarre, FL
Joined Mar 2002
3,845 Posts
I took a look through the manual, and don't see anything about PAL. The TV tuner mentioned NTSC, and ATSC, so I'm doubtful it would do anything with a PAL signal.

I just couldn't help velcroing a receiver and battery to the back of the monitor. It could be much neater if I had actually planned to do this, but it's still pretty nice as a stand-alone FPV station. The case is so empty that I could easily mount the receiver (or 2) inside, and probably make a battery compartment as well.

Thanks to Tarro for the original tip on these

Rusty
13brv3 is offline Find More Posts by 13brv3
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2009, 11:45 PM
Joined Mar 2006
1,670 Posts
Price Drop

http://www.cvs.com/CVSApp/catalog/sh...ump&navCount=3
scrape is offline Find More Posts by scrape
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2009, 11:57 PM
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
United States, GA, Woodstock
Joined Jan 2007
6,800 Posts
Sweet...ordered one
GoldCraft is offline Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2009, 06:54 AM
Honey Badger
Blue Chip's Avatar
United States, FL
Joined Oct 2005
1,814 Posts
What is the height and width of this thing without the stand? I want to see if it will fit inside of my box.
Blue Chip is offline Find More Posts by Blue Chip
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Pinnacle HD Pro Stick - HD TV Tuner for your comp/laptop - Like new! rougeqc21 Non R/C Items (FS/W) 2 May 02, 2007 04:56 PM
For Sale HD TV/Monitor xFxLxYxExR Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Mar 28, 2007 12:58 PM
US: HD-TV rollout schedule... what happens next? fprintf Life, The Universe, and Politics 5 Aug 25, 2005 11:35 PM
I Love Hd Tv! KingOfTheHill Life, The Universe, and Politics 0 Feb 23, 2005 12:25 PM