Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 19, 2009, 10:36 PM
Registered User
Austin, TX
Joined Sep 2007
423 Posts
My grab-n-go ground station:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=176
FPV Bill is offline Find More Posts by FPV Bill
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 19, 2009, 10:48 PM
Registered User
North vancouver, B.C. Canada
Joined Apr 2008
18,460 Posts
Reck
nice set up
good idea to be able to set up within minutes and be descrete.

at .5 miles i am surprised you don't just use a rubber ducky mounted up above your head or above other peoples heads?

so you can fly .5 miles all around you
David22 is offline Find More Posts by David22
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 19, 2009, 11:30 PM
Registered User
Austin, TX
Joined Sep 2007
423 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by David22
Reck
nice set up
good idea to be able to set up within minutes and be descrete.

at .5 miles i am surprised you don't just use a rubber ducky mounted up above your head or above other peoples heads?

so you can fly .5 miles all around you
Now I fly between 1 and 1.5 miles so the patch is nice for that.

I tried a rubber duck antenna and had terrible results with it. Here's a video from that same thread where I document my ground station

http://www.vimeo.com/1663194
FPV Bill is offline Find More Posts by FPV Bill
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 11:44 PM
Registered User
North vancouver, B.C. Canada
Joined Apr 2008
18,460 Posts
I love videos

cool experiment

I used an antenna that looks just like your first small one, but with 1.2.
maybe it is the same antenna?

didnot work for me either.

Bought a 1.2 sytem from my local spy shop and used the , what i call a rubber ducky that came with it, much higher dbi. I think it is 6

Bigger X2 but X4 better reception. better for sure anyways but pay a big price for aerodynamics

my oracle switches far away from me without a doubt
David22 is offline Find More Posts by David22
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 20, 2009, 03:13 PM
Registered User
Switzerland
Joined Oct 2006
16 Posts
Yes, the monster-groundstation was a part of my diploma project at university I did last summer. To my surprise (2 PCs, 3 monitors, 3 microcontrollers and dozen of cables..), the system worked perfectly during the first test flight. But it really neads a better plane, it's too large and heavy.
Unfortunately there wasn't a second flight until now, simply because I didn't had time for flying ANY planes :-( So all the stuff is still waiting in the storage for a come-back, hopefully next summer!

Haha, I didn't meet the police until now, but I'm sure they will ask me "some" questions ;-) At least the walkers didn't seem to feel comfortable with the large parabolic antenna pointing at them, or was it more because of my flying-skills? Hmm...

cheers
Hueber is offline Find More Posts by Hueber
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 03:53 PM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
Hueber that is awesome, why couldn't you live in N.Y.?
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 20, 2009, 06:42 PM
Registered User
United States, NE, Omaha
Joined Oct 2005
392 Posts
Here is my g/s, the black box holds a Duo 2400, single airwave receiver, oracle diversity controller, EasyCap 2.0, and an ezTracker.

Mark
Blue Collar is offline Find More Posts by Blue Collar
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 06:47 PM
Registered User
MorrisM's Avatar
Oklahoma City
Joined May 2004
1,663 Posts
Mine is somewhat smaller than Hueber's. But I expect he has a bit more range.

There was another thread where someone had a Solo briefcase ground station. Amazon had the briefcase for less than $20. I still want to add diversity, but it works well as it is.
The primary goal was fast set up. It takes less than 30 secs to get it ready.
I use a TV tray to set it on.

Morris
MorrisM is offline Find More Posts by MorrisM
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 06:52 PM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Edmonton,Canada Eh
Joined Jun 2007
7,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MorrisM
Mine is somewhat smaller than Hueber's. But I expect he has a bit more range.

There was another thread where someone had a Solo briefcase ground station. Amazon had the briefcase for less than $20. I still want to add diversity, but it works well as it is.
The primary goal was fast set up. It takes less than 30 secs to get it ready.
I use a TV tray to set it on.

Morris
Don't know if it was mine you saw.... there have been a few people use a briefcase for a GS.

I don't use this one anymore, it did work quite well but I took it apart to make a custom case GS.
galaxiex is offline Find More Posts by galaxiex
Last edited by galaxiex; Oct 20, 2009 at 07:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 07:01 PM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Edmonton,Canada Eh
Joined Jun 2007
7,566 Posts
Have shown this before in one of the other GS threads...

This is what I use now, it's a bit big and heavy, thinking to go back to something a bit lighter and more compact....

Or just make a second, compact GS for a "quick grab-n-go" GS.

Not that this one is hard to setup, it's all ready to go at any time, it's just very heavy.

galaxiex is offline Find More Posts by galaxiex
Last edited by galaxiex; Oct 20, 2009 at 07:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2009, 02:08 AM
Registered User
Switzerland
Joined Oct 2006
16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarro
Hueber that is awesome, why couldn't you live in N.Y.?
No worries, I guess I will have enough range to fly to N.Y. for a visit ;-)
Hueber is offline Find More Posts by Hueber
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2009, 09:41 AM
JettPilot's Avatar
Miami
Joined Apr 2005
10,113 Posts
Galaxiex,

After seeing the Voltage indicator in your old box, I started looking for the RPM meter and the speedometer also

I like the new box better ! How much does it weigh ? I know what you mean about size and weight, but what can you do... Mine weighs 45 pounds At least I will build some more muscle carrying mine around

Mike
JettPilot is online now Find More Posts by JettPilot
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2009, 10:20 AM
Just trying to get a nut.
scrtsqrl's Avatar
United States, VA, McLean
Joined Oct 2006
6,320 Posts
My humble base station...

I wear it around my neck.
I've flown my plane out to 4km with a 200mW VTx

At 1:30 and the end of this video you also see the Windsurfer Antenna, which I use now. It is at least as good as the 8dBi patch antenna.

Frafjord (4 min 58 sec)
scrtsqrl is online now Find More Posts by scrtsqrl
Last edited by scrtsqrl; Oct 21, 2009 at 12:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2009, 10:25 AM
JettPilot's Avatar
Miami
Joined Apr 2005
10,113 Posts
I dont think I will be hiking to the top of any mountains soon with my ground station, portability has its advantages

Mike
JettPilot is online now Find More Posts by JettPilot
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2009, 03:36 PM
Did you get it on video?
Flying-Monkey's Avatar
USA, FL, Miramar Beach
Joined Nov 2005
6,041 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrtsqrl
Windsurfer Antenna, which I use now. It is at least as good as the 8dBi patch antenna.

Ok, where would one buy a windsurfer antenna?
Flying-Monkey is offline Find More Posts by Flying-Monkey
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Show us your FPV / RVP ground Base set up in action Trackercal FPV Talk 94 Nov 05, 2010 10:21 AM
Discussion Show Us Your FPV Helo Set Up Trackercal FPV Talk 2 May 11, 2009 11:05 PM
Gallery Show us your Ground equipment setup a9amg FPV Talk 2 Dec 03, 2008 02:47 PM
go on show us your avatars mudlark Life, The Universe, and Politics 105 Dec 19, 2007 07:23 PM
Show us your choppers! sneu Electric Heli Talk 23 Dec 30, 2001 10:50 AM