SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 02, 2013, 10:34 AM
Lt Col, USAF, Retired
United States, IL, Swansea
Joined Jan 2010
288 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmavr8 View Post
Looks great!
Do you have a link/description/product# for the switches and voltage meters handy? Could I have it please?
Thanks! A little overkill, but fun to build!

Here are some of my parts:

Case: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o08_s00_i01
Main Screen: 15.6" Samsung laptop monitor out of a broken Toshiba Laptop
Laptop Screen Conversion Kit: http://www.ebay.com/itm/110925504614...84.m1497.l2649
Backup Monitor: 9" Philips DVD screen

Computer:
Power Supply (PicoPSU): http://www.mini-box.com/picoPSU-160-XT
Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157228
RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157228
SSD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820239045
WIFI: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833704078
Keyboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16823126264
USB/Audio Panel: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813999356
Video Capture: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815116048
Power Switch: http://www.frozencpu.com/products/10...v_pc=145#blank
USB Extension: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o05_s01_i00
Case Fans: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811999199

Electrical:
UPS/Charger: http://www.mini-box.com/picoUPS-100-...8&category=981
Intelligent buck-boost DC-DC converter with USB interface: http://www.mini-box.com/DCDC-USB?sc=8&category=981
- Enclosure: http://www.mini-box.com/DCDC-USB-ENC...8&category=981
Switches: http://www.ebay.com/itm/160794722080...84.m1497.l2649
http://www.ebay.com/itm/150960768131...84.m1497.l2649
http://www.ebay.com/itm/150960768618...84.m1497.l2649
Volt Meters: http://www.ebay.com/itm/230913123442...84.m1497.l2649
Ammeter: http://www.ebay.com/itm/310551242752...84.m1497.l2649
AC-DC Power Supply: https://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/st...oductId=123432
Battery: https://www.chromebattery.com/12v-11...connector.html
12V to 5V Regulator: http://www.ebay.com/itm/140891595448...84.m1497.l2649
AC Plug: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o05_s00_i00

Audio/Video:
RCA to VGA Converter/Switcher: http://www.ebay.com/itm/190596379150...84.m1497.l2649
Video Amp: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o06_s02_i00

Misc:
Carbon Fiber Vinyl:http://www.ebay.com/itm/130806128673...84.m1497.l2649
kc10kevin is offline Find More Posts by kc10kevin
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 02, 2013, 10:37 AM
Registered User
United States, RI, Cumberland
Joined Mar 2008
249 Posts
@kc10kevin
hey what computer are you using for your GS and what is the amp draw on that

EDIT:just saw your post
Qnzkrew is offline Find More Posts by Qnzkrew
Last edited by Qnzkrew; Feb 02, 2013 at 10:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 10:43 AM
Lt Col, USAF, Retired
United States, IL, Swansea
Joined Jan 2010
288 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amfamora View Post
I have a question if anyone can ease my concerns....

Have a 24 to 12v stepdown regulator with a a max of 5amps or 60w draw. TV alone shows 12v 3A max draw. Once I throw in USB Ports the Video receiver, video amplifier will I be pushing my luck?

Also says 24v input Ill be running off a 5000mah 4S Lipo. Anyone think Ill run into dramas?
I was a little concerned about the Amp draw as well on my monitor. I threw mine on a Watts UP and saw it only drew .5A and only a few watts. My guess would be it would draw much less than the 3A Max it is saying. Easiest way would be just throw it on an amp meter and see what it draws when turned on.

I originally went with this 24V to 12V stepdown regulator: http://www.ebay.com/itm/300839818825...84.m1497.l2649

I don't know which one you bought, but I'd make sure the voltage range input will handle down to 14.8V (4S). I was using a 6S and it worked great. Didn't have to worry.

As you can see from the above parts list, I going to switch mine around a little and use an SLA battery, picoUPS (for switching and charging) and a DC-DC regulator to get a constant 12V.
kc10kevin is offline Find More Posts by kc10kevin
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 10:47 AM
Lt Col, USAF, Retired
United States, IL, Swansea
Joined Jan 2010
288 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qnzkrew View Post
@kc10kevin
hey what computer are you using for your GS and what is the amp draw on that
Computer specs are listed in the post above. I built it myself from the parts listed. Put it on a Watts UP and found it only draws between 2 and 2.5 Amps with the monitor on and only 20-30 watts. I was shocked it drew so little.

With everything on, I'm drawing about 4-5 amps.

The computer is inside the GS case.
kc10kevin is offline Find More Posts by kc10kevin
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 11:43 AM
Registered User
United States, RI, Cumberland
Joined Mar 2008
249 Posts
alright time to start building a proper ground station. thanks for the shopping list
Qnzkrew is offline Find More Posts by Qnzkrew
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 12:48 PM
I tell her RC is cheap !
carguy1994ca's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
13,322 Posts
Wow ! All I can say is I'm looking at my tripod based GS with all its wires and things and I don't like it anymore You guys do a great job with your GS.
carguy1994ca is offline Find More Posts by carguy1994ca
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 02, 2013, 04:25 PM
Multicopter Crash Tester
Amfamora's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Apr 2012
204 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc10kevin View Post
I was a little concerned about the Amp draw as well on my monitor. I threw mine on a Watts UP and saw it only drew .5A and only a few watts. My guess would be it would draw much less than the 3A Max it is saying. Easiest way would be just throw it on an amp meter and see what it draws when turned on.

I originally went with this 24V to 12V stepdown regulator: http://www.ebay.com/itm/300839818825...84.m1497.l2649

I don't know which one you bought, but I'd make sure the voltage range input will handle down to 14.8V (4S). I was using a 6S and it worked great. Didn't have to worry.

As you can see from the above parts list, I going to switch mine around a little and use an SLA battery, picoUPS (for switching and charging) and a DC-DC regulator to get a constant 12V.
Thats the one I have purchased to replace the 5A Regulator just to be safe..... hmm may need a stronger battery as well to be sure eh.

*edit* Done and Done
Amfamora is offline Find More Posts by Amfamora
Last edited by Amfamora; Feb 02, 2013 at 05:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 02:27 PM
Chris
The Netherlands, NB, Eindhoven
Joined Sep 2010
1,935 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amfamora View Post
All ebay mate.... 20 of those switches cost me like AU$10 and the Volt Amp displays range from AU$5 - $9 each _

Switches:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/130810152...84.m1497.l2649

Voltage Display..... $3... I lied :P

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-2-Wir...item4ab7c5f0f5
Amfamora and techspy thanks for the links!
I had some v-meters but they weren't as pretty.
And these switches are dirt cheap... wow

kc10kevin, great link line-up. Some of the components are completely new to me (microPSU, UPS, DC-DC...). Thank you too.
cmavr8 is offline Find More Posts by cmavr8
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 02:30 PM
Chris
The Netherlands, NB, Eindhoven
Joined Sep 2010
1,935 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc10kevin View Post
Computer specs are listed in the post above. I built it myself from the parts listed. Put it on a Watts UP and found it only draws between 2 and 2.5 Amps with the monitor on and only 20-30 watts. I was shocked it drew so little.

With everything on, I'm drawing about 4-5 amps.

The computer is inside the GS case.
I just tried an old 15" sony tft monitor I had laying around and it draws 2 amps at 12V... Just the monitor alone (including inverter losses).

I guess I can run the monitor + Rx + composite to VGA converter on 2 paralleled 3s2200mah packs that I have...

(Trying to set up my really cheap, first-FPV here...)
cmavr8 is offline Find More Posts by cmavr8
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 03:19 PM
Lt Col, USAF, Retired
United States, IL, Swansea
Joined Jan 2010
288 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmavr8 View Post
Amfamora and techspy thanks for the links!
I had some v-meters but they weren't as pretty.
And these switches are dirt cheap... wow

kc10kevin, great link line-up. Some of the components are completely new to me (microPSU, UPS, DC-DC...). Thank you too.
You bet. These were new to me as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmavr8 View Post
I just tried an old 15" sony tft monitor I had laying around and it draws 2 amps at 12V... Just the monitor alone (including inverter losses).

I guess I can run the monitor + Rx + composite to VGA converter on 2 paralleled 3s2200mah packs that I have...

(Trying to set up my really cheap, first-FPV here...)
Interesting it's pulling that many amps when my lcd pulls less than an amp. You can pick up a 15.6" laptop lcd on ebay pretty cheap and the conversion kits is cheap as well. Both together for probably less than $70.
kc10kevin is offline Find More Posts by kc10kevin
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 03:24 PM
Chris
The Netherlands, NB, Eindhoven
Joined Sep 2010
1,935 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc10kevin View Post
Interesting it's pulling that many amps when my lcd pulls less than an amp. You can pick up a 15.6" laptop lcd on ebay pretty cheap and the conversion kits is cheap as well. Both together for probably less than $70.
Yeah... it's an old old monitor (one of the first LCDs I think)...
I can also get a 15.4 for free from old laptops, but I'm not there yet...
My first tx/rx/cam haven't even arrived yet, so I'll test them with this setup for the moment.. I should get an hour on the 3s2p pack I'll make.
cmavr8 is offline Find More Posts by cmavr8
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 09:30 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
13 Posts
my ground control station

I've wrote a basic line do it yourself how to post

check it out here

features of the station:
up to 2.5 hours of use on a single 12v 7Ah sla battery
secondary screen switchable between av and vga (via pc hdmi port and vga converter)
wireless connection to antenna tracker (xbee repeater, Bluetooth, 5.8Ghz)
access point modem - for multiple connection to the station (andropilot for ex)
can be easily modified and upgraded

added some pictures of the station
elador is offline Find More Posts by elador
Last edited by elador; Feb 06, 2013 at 06:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2013, 06:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elador View Post
I've wrote a basic line do it yourself how to post

check it out here

features of the station:
up to 2.5 hours of use on a single 12v 7Ah sla battery
secondary screen switchable between av and vga (via pc hdmi port and vga converter)
wireless connection to antenna tracker (xbee repeater, Bluetooth, 5.8Ghz)
access point modem - for multiple connection to the station (andropilot for ex)
can be easily modified and upgraded

added some pictures of the station
[IMG]http://api.ning.com/files/0TyPLysMYmZSgpSp0lCMHb27PQ2Hzzub6B7ebxq3x6622Sqkjm fAnviBueh3PZWIl1RkAbGtoeCfRNncy1XoS*vIwPWaLPDc/IMG_1205.JPG?width=188[/IMG]
[IMG]http://api.ning.com/files/0TyPLysMYmbKttBlYvBj9Eep1VOcHlVIH46ORTolf2*tYRn5c-fKn*iNJFo-2eq6lSEpxtck3wwA*1YyHqgtHAxn2dMHwMDU/IMG_1211.JPG?width=188[/IMG]

[IMG]http://api.ning.com/files/0TyPLysMYmZMjfuIz2WHxafefK9uS3kn*ksGfToQIS1QCouWIq lzXWr-lCyaVUHPDCwV-DHvJGwy*ZJ5JHe7am5CUHv7mDuy/IMG_1216.JPG?width=188[/IMG]

I made a quick temp rough sketch of the power schematics
elador is offline Find More Posts by elador
Last edited by elador; Feb 10, 2013 at 06:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 01:17 AM
Registered User
┼tvidaberg, Sweden
Joined Jul 2008
225 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pukin_Dog View Post
I whant it to be all in one and nothing to put together or so. It thought to be mounted on a tripod. The only thing that has to be done at field is to put on the antenna trackingsystem that is fitted with Neodyne magnets on top. Everything powered by one or two LiPo.

It will have more functions when I have thought it through completely.

This is what it looks like now. It is more or less ready. It does what it is supposed to do. I'm not sure if this is final or if I'm to gonna use an aluminium case like most do.


Instead of a helical which was the intention from the beginning I instead use a Crosshair antenna.





Pukin_Dog is offline Find More Posts by Pukin_Dog
Last edited by Pukin_Dog; May 02, 2013 at 12:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Show us your FPV / RVP ground Base set up in action Trackercal FPV Talk 94 Nov 05, 2010 11:21 AM
Discussion Show Us Your FPV Helo Set Up Trackercal FPV Talk 2 May 12, 2009 12:05 AM
Gallery Show us your Ground equipment setup a9amg FPV Talk 2 Dec 03, 2008 03:47 PM
go on show us your avatars mudlark Life, The Universe, and Politics 105 Dec 19, 2007 08:23 PM
Show us your choppers! sneu Electric Heli Talk 23 Dec 30, 2001 11:50 AM