HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 12, 2009, 07:41 PM
Challenging Convention
Andology's Avatar
UK
Joined Jul 2006
717 Posts
lol, reminds me... I watched Transformers (2) last night and i kinda thought of "us lot" when it got to the bit where the military sent up the UAV's Sorta looked like the image Tarro attached... Would be good... If i won the lottery i think i'd create a command center in a basement somewhere (like a bat-cave LOL) with UAV launchpad (like thunderbirds)..

Anyway, enough dreaming!!

Cheers

And
Andology is offline Find More Posts by Andology
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 15, 2009, 05:47 PM
Registered User
Ellis108's Avatar
Oregon Coast
Joined Jul 2008
513 Posts
Another Craig TV GS

Nothing new, but here's my GS.

* DPCAV 900ghz VTX with Patch
* Craig 15" HD LCD TV
* Aiptek Video recorder
* 7" car DVD monitor fed from video recorder
* 8 Amp hour sealed battery/ with volt meter on cable

The 7" acts as a backup in case the LCD TV blues-out. It also has enough video cable, that a guest can hold it to watch the action.

-Ellis
Ellis108 is offline Find More Posts by Ellis108
Last edited by Ellis108; Dec 15, 2009 at 06:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 06:24 PM
define("BEASTMODE", "1");
KeithLuneau's Avatar
United States, LA, Moreauville
Joined Jan 2002
4,367 Posts
Where did you get the LCD volt meter? I need something like that for my ground station so I can keep an eye on the lead acid battery in it.
KeithLuneau is online now Find More Posts by KeithLuneau
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 06:35 PM
Registered User
Ellis108's Avatar
Oregon Coast
Joined Jul 2008
513 Posts
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=263602_263622

Get a couple, they're handy.

-E
Ellis108 is offline Find More Posts by Ellis108
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 06:42 PM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
I just ordered 2 of those neat meters, I like lights on my GS.
Who has more fun than us FPVers?
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 15, 2009, 06:43 PM
define("BEASTMODE", "1");
KeithLuneau's Avatar
United States, LA, Moreauville
Joined Jan 2002
4,367 Posts
Great, thanks!

Are these the ones that cycle through each cell when connected to a balance plug? Can you set it to show just the total pack voltage all the time? I've often thought of using one onboard my Slowstick so I could see the pack voltage, but didn't like the idea of it cycling though each cell all the time.
KeithLuneau is online now Find More Posts by KeithLuneau
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 07:00 PM
Registered User
Ellis108's Avatar
Oregon Coast
Joined Jul 2008
513 Posts
Yes. It didn't want to work on the 1st cell pin, so I hooked it to 2nd cell pin. It reads "cell-1(0)...cell 2 (12.6)... total (12.6)"

I could't find a better option, and you get used to the flashing.

-E

P.S. somebody could prolly find some other wiring options to get just total voltage.
Ellis108 is offline Find More Posts by Ellis108
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 07:03 PM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Edmonton,Canada Eh
Joined Jun 2007
7,572 Posts
This one switches between volts and amps...

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8319
galaxiex is online now Find More Posts by galaxiex
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 07:06 PM
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
United States, GA, Woodstock
Joined Jan 2007
6,797 Posts
Craig TV seems to be popular.....yet another one....

Home Depot Box
Craig 12v TV/Monitor
BNC to VGA convertor
Aiptek dvr
900 mhz dual av rx with patch
DX7 with 2.4 ghz patch and 500mw amp
GoldCraft is offline Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Last edited by GoldCraft; Dec 15, 2009 at 07:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 07:08 PM
Registered User
Ellis108's Avatar
Oregon Coast
Joined Jul 2008
513 Posts
NOW you tell me!

I'll have to get one - if the shipping is not ridiculoso.
Ellis108 is offline Find More Posts by Ellis108
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 07:33 PM
define("BEASTMODE", "1");
KeithLuneau's Avatar
United States, LA, Moreauville
Joined Jan 2002
4,367 Posts
Damn and I just got an order in from Hobby King that I waited 3 weeks on... lol Guess I'll have to place another order soon, and start the waiting all over again!

Thanks for the link!
KeithLuneau is online now Find More Posts by KeithLuneau
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 07:40 PM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
I don't need amp draw on my GS battery and the flashing is going to look like something special is going on.
I am just going to tap wire with a servo connector from my power strip and plug it in.
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Last edited by Tarro; Dec 15, 2009 at 07:48 PM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 15, 2009, 08:38 PM
Registered User
Ellis108's Avatar
Oregon Coast
Joined Jul 2008
513 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarro View Post
I don't need amp draw on my GS battery and the flashing is going to look like something special is going on..
Hahaha... That's what I was thinking - but didn't want to say it.

-Ellis
Ellis108 is offline Find More Posts by Ellis108
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2009, 03:49 PM
Registered User
skunkworks2006's Avatar
Michigan
Joined Nov 2006
2,712 Posts
What size lipo is everyone using for your ground station? I've been using NiMh packs and they work fine, but I always feel the need to peak charge them right before I fly. I also can't get the video splitter to function with just 8 NiMh cells.
I know there are lots of variables, but I'm looking to power all of these on 12V:
video rx
7" LCD monitor
video splitter
maybe USB charger for Aiptek cam or accesories.
What Mah and C rating should I be looking at for a couple of hours of flying?
skunkworks2006 is offline Find More Posts by skunkworks2006
Last edited by skunkworks2006; Dec 16, 2009 at 03:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2009, 04:47 PM
Challenging Convention
Andology's Avatar
UK
Joined Jul 2006
717 Posts
I've got a 3s 5000mAh going in mine... My version 1 case has 2 x 6v lead acid @4Ah which is fine..

My 3s Lipo in my new version (5Ah) will be powering the following:

video splitter - 120mA
TV (12") - 850mA (for guests)
Internal Processor / Electronics - ~200mA
Goggles (Headplay) - 350mA

I'll also have external jack to run Diversity Rx as backup but shouldn't need it as i've modified my Diversity to have Lipo Built inside and lasts a pretty good while on it's own..

So, in total, assuming the TV & goggles are running at the same time we should have around 1.5A current @ 12v and based on the fact i only want to take out max 3000mA from my 5000mA Lipo, i'll get around 2 hours constant use (broken into 25 minute segments, that's a good number of flights in a day!

Hope that helps

Cheers

Andy
Andology is offline Find More Posts by Andology
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Show us your FPV / RVP ground Base set up in action Trackercal FPV Talk 94 Nov 05, 2010 11:21 AM
Discussion Show Us Your FPV Helo Set Up Trackercal FPV Talk 2 May 12, 2009 12:05 AM
Gallery Show us your Ground equipment setup a9amg FPV Talk 2 Dec 03, 2008 03:47 PM
go on show us your avatars mudlark Life, The Universe, and Politics 105 Dec 19, 2007 08:23 PM
Show us your choppers! sneu Electric Heli Talk 23 Dec 30, 2001 11:50 AM