HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 06, 2012, 03:28 AM
Registered User
motorhead's Avatar
Kansas, USA
Joined Sep 1999
3,888 Posts
If you are using the surgical tubing bands you can double them up to hold the prop on better.
Mike
motorhead is offline Find More Posts by motorhead
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 06, 2012, 02:11 PM
Registered User
darknrgy's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
41 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorhead View Post
If you are using the surgical tubing bands you can double them up to hold the prop on better.
Mike
That's the plan, thanks! I'm actually not entirely sure I have the motor on correctly. I had to make some space for the shaft to fit into the fuselage as it sticks out some distance. Then the prop goes directly onto the motor with no other parts supporting it except the bands. It fits on snugly and is well balanced but it just seems to lack some structure. Good for a crash I suppose. Does this make sense? Would a pic help?
darknrgy is offline Find More Posts by darknrgy
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 02:34 PM
Registered User
United States, MA, Lowell
Joined May 2004
866 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by darknrgy View Post
That's the plan, thanks! I'm actually not entirely sure I have the motor on correctly. I had to make some space for the shaft to fit into the fuselage as it sticks out some distance. Then the prop goes directly onto the motor with no other parts supporting it except the bands. It fits on snugly and is well balanced but it just seems to lack some structure. Good for a crash I suppose. Does this make sense? Would a pic help?
I also had the prop come undone on my maiden and it really shook the plane. I just put on a second o-ring and everything was fine. Also make sure that the prop fits snugly on the motor with no slop. If the hole in the prop is too big, it will obviously cause vibration as if the prop was out of balance. And make sure the prop doesn't fit too snugly on the motor. You should be able to deflect the prop and let go and it should easily spring right back to position perpendicular to the shaft. If it's too tight, the prop won't spring back perpendicular to the shaft and that will also cause some good vibration.
Neil_SC is offline Find More Posts by Neil_SC
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2012, 08:36 AM
Registered User
tacdriver's Avatar
United States, CO, Fort Collins
Joined Dec 2010
301 Posts
I had my Hacker stutter so bad, it actually broke the X mount and ripped out of the tape. This was with a Hacker ESC too. I just swapped in the backup mount, and make it a point to not take so long bumping up the idle on my tx. It stutters very badly otherwise. Everything is stock out of the box settings on the ESC.
tacdriver is offline Find More Posts by tacdriver
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:47 PM
Gaui X3, Blade 150X
BladeScraper's Avatar
United States, MO, KC
Joined Jun 2011
3,043 Posts
Hey, I am planning to get one of these but I can't decide which servos to use.

I have:
-Hitec HS-55 (x2)
-Spektrum S75 (x2)
-TowerPro SG-90 (x1)
-TowerPro SG-50 (x1)

I don't know what to use. I measured up the hS-55's and Spektrum S75 and they weight the same, 8g. Now it's just a matter of torque. Anyone used either of those for this?
BladeScraper is online now Find More Posts by BladeScraper
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:53 PM
"Free" in Christ!
Free's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Jan 2012
852 Posts
I have used the HS-55s they work good. They are slow, but have a lot of torque.

That's my experience.(now I use s3114!)

Free
Free is online now Find More Posts by Free
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 05:31 AM
Registered User
motorhead's Avatar
Kansas, USA
Joined Sep 1999
3,888 Posts
If you are not trying to build a feather light one I recommend (3) Fut. S3114.
Mike
motorhead is offline Find More Posts by motorhead
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:09 AM
Oly crap.. Deese ease not gud!
hpapilot's Avatar
USA, NC, Kernersville
Joined Nov 2006
1,160 Posts
I recommend Futaba S3114's or S3154's (the digital version) either way. 3114's are not much more expensive and will far outperform the other options!
hpapilot is offline Find More Posts by hpapilot
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 10:51 AM
DFC~ We Do Flyin' Right
bsbauman's Avatar
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Nov 2008
14,319 Posts
+1 to the Futaba Servos- they are hands down my favorite servos in that size.
bsbauman is offline Find More Posts by bsbauman
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My New Workshop
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 04:55 PM
Gaui X3, Blade 150X
BladeScraper's Avatar
United States, MO, KC
Joined Jun 2011
3,043 Posts
I am definitely trying to go as light as possible. I will use the HS-55's until I can afford the Futaba S3114's. Are the HS-55 and Futaba S3114 about the same size?
BladeScraper is online now Find More Posts by BladeScraper
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 05:12 PM
"Free" in Christ!
Free's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Jan 2012
852 Posts
Yes
Free is online now Find More Posts by Free
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 05:31 PM
Gaui X3, Blade 150X
BladeScraper's Avatar
United States, MO, KC
Joined Jun 2011
3,043 Posts
awesome
BladeScraper is online now Find More Posts by BladeScraper
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 02:03 PM
Registered User
3171scott's Avatar
United States, OH, Youngstown
Joined Apr 2011
317 Posts
Futaba 3114 are 14.99 at my LHS. compaired to HS 55's they are WAY better. If you have to use HS servos i would go with the HS 45's. same price ae the futaba but better than the 55
3171scott is offline Find More Posts by 3171scott
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 10:23 PM
Gaui X3, Blade 150X
BladeScraper's Avatar
United States, MO, KC
Joined Jun 2011
3,043 Posts
Okay, since I was considering the HS-45's I may as well go with the Futaba S3114. They sound great, and I want light but strong. It seems these servos can offer that. However, did you need to get bigger control arms for the servos to get the amount of throw for 3D or do the stock ones do it just fine? I mean, I want a huge amount of throw on these...
BladeScraper is online now Find More Posts by BladeScraper
Last edited by BladeScraper; Dec 13, 2012 at 10:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 07:34 AM
Registered User
3171scott's Avatar
United States, OH, Youngstown
Joined Apr 2011
317 Posts
You should only need a 1 to 1 ratio. If you know how to set up and program properly stock should do fine. 1 to 1 means that whatever length the control horn is that what the servo length should be. Full end points and properly centered servo arms will get you the throws you need. Use an offset differential arm for ailerons. Remember, if you put a long arm on the servo you actually cut your torque down.

Also it takes one hell of a 3D pilot to actually be able to keep up with RJ’s MX2 with huge throws. You don’t have over throw this plane, it’s a great plane.
3171scott is offline Find More Posts by 3171scott
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GW Extra 330 and Yak Foam Fly by gw-ezone part 2 Martin Hunter 3D Flying 293 Nov 18, 2006 05:27 PM
Edge 540 by Fancy Foam JWarren Foamies (Kits) 27 Aug 03, 2005 03:53 PM
Edge 540 by Fancy Foam Models JWarren 3D Flying 0 Oct 22, 2004 10:32 AM
Fancy Foam Models - Take a look! mycamel Product Announcements 2 Feb 18, 2004 07:12 PM
WTB vintage foam slopers by Combat Models AMTJIM Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 12, 2003 08:28 AM