HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 04, 2009, 01:37 PM
Fly lower!
aerolite's Avatar
West Texas
Joined Jan 2005
2,391 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D-Seth View Post
jr 185/188
thanks for the quick response.
aerolite
aerolite is offline Find More Posts by aerolite
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 05, 2009, 05:53 AM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,960 Posts
How does the wing area compare with the Yak 55. The FF site says 290 for the MX2 and 350 for the Yak but I think I have read somewhere that the MX is "bigger"?
u2builder is online now Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2009, 06:20 AM
Oly crap.. Deese ease not gud!
hpapilot's Avatar
USA, NC, Kernersville
Joined Nov 2006
1,160 Posts
The MX-2 is bigger and has more wing area. The Yak wing area probably includes some of the horiz fuse components. I would say the MX-2 has 10-20% more wing area as a guestimate.

RJ
hpapilot is offline Find More Posts by hpapilot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2009, 10:04 AM
Horizon Hobby Employee
3D-Seth's Avatar
Champaign, IL
Joined Jan 2007
666 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
How does the wing area compare with the Yak 55. The FF site says 290 for the MX2 and 350 for the Yak but I think I have read somewhere that the MX is "bigger"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpapilot View Post
The MX-2 is bigger and has more wing area. The Yak wing area probably includes some of the horiz fuse components. I would say the MX-2 has 10-20% more wing area as a guestimate.

RJ
Indeed, the MX2 is quite a bit bigger than the Yak. As RJ said, I'm sure it has a good bit more wing area than the Yak.

Seth
3D-Seth is offline Find More Posts by 3D-Seth
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2009, 11:49 AM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,960 Posts
Thanks RJ, Seth. I'm in. I love my Yak and figure I should try the MX. I've been flying the Yak outdoors but I'm going to try indoor flying this winter.

Can I get by with Tower Pro 9g for the ailerons and 5g for the tailfeathers. I am an old guy and my 3D is not cutting edge by any means. Will these be OK for a dubber? I have em already.

Do most of you guys put the landing gear on these planes?
u2builder is online now Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2009, 12:32 PM
Oly crap.. Deese ease not gud!
hpapilot's Avatar
USA, NC, Kernersville
Joined Nov 2006
1,160 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
Thanks RJ, Seth. I'm in. I love my Yak and figure I should try the MX. I've been flying the Yak outdoors but I'm going to try indoor flying this winter.

Can I get by with Tower Pro 9g for the ailerons and 5g for the tailfeathers. I am an old guy and my 3D is not cutting edge by any means. Will these be OK for a dubber? I have em already.

Do most of you guys put the landing gear on these planes?
Those servos should work fine. I would imagine the 9g has enough torque for the ailerons on this plane.

I definitely suggest installing the landing gear. I designed and tweaked the plane with the gear/legs/wheelpants installed, so it's possible that leaving it off will change some characteristics or coupling a little bit.

RJ
hpapilot is offline Find More Posts by hpapilot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2009, 12:48 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,960 Posts
Yes, the TP 9g has pretty decent torque. I've flown planes like the MS Composit Blade Dancer and even the Stevens Aero Groove using them.

And I like the looks of planes with gear and find that even with the skids I can just set them down in the grass tail first and it keeps the prop out of the grass. Thanks, can't wait fot it.
u2builder is online now Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2009, 05:55 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
33 Posts
Well, I just recieved my A10 9L and x-5 today and for some reason I cannot get the motor to turn. It seems like it wants to, but then it is like something is topping it. I know that my battery is charged, and everything else works on the airplane as well. I am wondering if this is because I am using a 9c with spektrum module and an AR6300 reciever because the manual tells you to reverse the throttle in the radio for futaba radios.
rcmaster12 is offline Find More Posts by rcmaster12
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2009, 10:23 PM
Oly crap.. Deese ease not gud!
hpapilot's Avatar
USA, NC, Kernersville
Joined Nov 2006
1,160 Posts
It sounds like you have a broken motor wire, if I had to guess...
hpapilot is offline Find More Posts by hpapilot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 07, 2009, 07:33 PM
Team Futaba
Devin McGRath's Avatar
Rochester New York
Joined Oct 2004
947 Posts
Well there is about one million MX2's at JR indoor.



Devin McGrath
Devin McGRath is online now Find More Posts by Devin McGRath
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 07, 2009, 10:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
33 Posts
Yeah there is also one in about one million pieces too
rcmaster12 is offline Find More Posts by rcmaster12
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2009, 05:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
33 Posts
Hey RJ, seeing as how much trouble we've been having with the x-5/A10 9l combo, what other esc would you recomend? How about an x-7 or Castle creations t-bird 9? Also, does the x-5 work ok on the A10 12 or 15S?
rcmaster12 is offline Find More Posts by rcmaster12
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2009, 09:22 PM
Registered User
jhicks's Avatar
Joined Jan 2005
289 Posts
it wasnt the ESC's fault. The X-5 is the best all around esc for those motors. Definately recommend them.
jhicks is offline Find More Posts by jhicks
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2009, 11:16 PM
Oly crap.. Deese ease not gud!
hpapilot's Avatar
USA, NC, Kernersville
Joined Nov 2006
1,160 Posts
The X-5 will work great for the 9L, the 15S, and the 12S. It really is the best ESC for these motors... as we found, the issue was in the connection, not the ESC. The X-5 is what all of us run on our 9L's. With the settings we programmed yesterday, it should work very well.

RJ
hpapilot is offline Find More Posts by hpapilot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2009, 02:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
33 Posts
I noticed that it did handle the motor well, its just that having to spin the prop and then turn up the trim is somewhat of an anoyance. Oh well, maybe I'll just make a mix and assign it to a switch
rcmaster12 is offline Find More Posts by rcmaster12
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GW Extra 330 and Yak Foam Fly by gw-ezone part 2 Martin Hunter 3D Flying 293 Nov 18, 2006 05:27 PM
Edge 540 by Fancy Foam JWarren Foamies (Kits) 27 Aug 03, 2005 03:53 PM
Edge 540 by Fancy Foam Models JWarren 3D Flying 0 Oct 22, 2004 10:32 AM
Fancy Foam Models - Take a look! mycamel Product Announcements 2 Feb 18, 2004 07:12 PM
WTB vintage foam slopers by Combat Models AMTJIM Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 12, 2003 08:28 AM