HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 11, 2012, 09:32 PM
Closed Account
Joined Aug 2007
4,497 Posts
Sorry about that.

A long shot, but maybe use a RX battery pack. Probably not if you have fail safes. But it might be worth a try.

When I had a Hitech cyclic servo failiure, it moved the servo to the stop at higher
rotor RPM & vibration, and I could reproduce that with the blades off.

The gyro would be hard to troubleshoot.

It might be good to have a beater 450 to test the gyro out on. Don't know about testing servos, except for a $70 500GT. A lot of work though for just that.
eagle777 is offline Find More Posts by eagle777
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 12, 2012, 08:18 AM
Registered User
Ireland
Joined Jan 2008
178 Posts
Does anyone know of a source to get bolts for the tail rotor blade grips? Seems daft to buy the whole tail rotor assembly just for the bolts. Ive had a look through the thread and am I right in thinking that once the bolts holding the tail rotor grips to the hub are replaced the HK tail rotor assembly is ok or is the tail rotor hub dodgy as well?
shane55 is offline Find More Posts by shane55
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 08:44 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
22 Posts
i get all my hardware from this place, good prices and cheap shipping... most of the screws on both 500's have been replaced with screws from trimcraft. M2x6 according to the trex 500 manual.

http://www.trimcraftaviationrc.com/

Darren
Sky120 is online now Find More Posts by Sky120
Last edited by Sky120; Jul 12, 2012 at 08:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 08:56 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
1,062 Posts
Shane. Look in the manual to get bolt dimensions. Then u can get on a lot of the helicopter sites and just search for that size bolt. That's what I do
stingeragents is offline Find More Posts by stingeragents
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 10:22 AM
Registered User
Ireland
Joined Jan 2008
178 Posts
Ok, Thanks for that, should the HK stock tail rotor hub be replaced as well or is it ok?
shane55 is offline Find More Posts by shane55
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 05:40 PM
Just fly
evltoy's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Glen Waverley
Joined Jan 2011
2,014 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane55 View Post
Does anyone know of a source to get bolts for the tail rotor blade grips? Seems daft to buy the whole tail rotor assembly just for the bolts. Ive had a look through the thread and am I right in thinking that once the bolts holding the tail rotor grips to the hub are replaced the HK tail rotor assembly is ok or is the tail rotor hub dodgy as well?
www.hexcrews.com is the place I got all my main bolts from. They are a high grade material.

When I had issues with my tail rotor changing the bolts in the grips was not enough to stop the grips from binding. I did a lot of mixing around with HK plastic metal parts and found I had to replace the hub with Align and have never looked back.

If you do a search in this thread you will find a lengthy discussion about this around Jan-March this year. I believe we were also tailing about red loc-tight on the bolts to stop them from backing out of the hub.

I did a quick search for you and found the topic start around here.... have fun
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=4770
evltoy is offline Find More Posts by evltoy
Last edited by evltoy; Jul 12, 2012 at 08:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 06:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
1,062 Posts
New battery should be in tomorrow
stingeragents is offline Find More Posts by stingeragents
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 07:55 PM
Registered User
mhills51's Avatar
kansas city
Joined Feb 2007
11,738 Posts
I am trying to save one of mine. I had it slow charging. For the first time I used a battery that wasn't charged. My speed control went into low power and I landed, but when I put it on the charger the first time it said one cell was dead. After two hour at .04 amps the cell is back and I'm balancing it now. Crossing my fingers.
mhills51 is offline Find More Posts by mhills51
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 12, 2012, 09:25 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
1,062 Posts
Hmmm
When I tried to charge mine back to health it died
stingeragents is offline Find More Posts by stingeragents
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 09:35 PM
Registered User
mhills51's Avatar
kansas city
Joined Feb 2007
11,738 Posts
Mine came back, but I will put my cell checker on it tomorrow before I fly it.
mhills51 is offline Find More Posts by mhills51
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 12, 2012, 10:09 PM
Just fly
evltoy's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Glen Waverley
Joined Jan 2011
2,014 Posts
mhills - just putting a cell checker on to see if the cells are ok will not be enough.

When the lipo is under load (while flying) is when it will fail and can cause loss of power and may start a fire.

I would be doing full-load bench testing to stress the lipo instead of testing it with flying
evltoy is offline Find More Posts by evltoy
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 10:32 PM
Registered User
wlee1017's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
1,389 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by evltoy View Post
mhills - just putting a cell checker on to see if the cells are ok will not be enough.

When the lipo is under load (while flying) is when it will fail and can cause loss of power and may start a fire.

I would be doing full-load bench testing to stress the lipo instead of testing it with flying
+1. If your battery charger has discharge capability, especially via external high watt resistor, you may stress and discharge battery at rated current and see if battery pertain.
wlee1017 is offline Find More Posts by wlee1017
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 10:50 PM
Just fly
evltoy's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Glen Waverley
Joined Jan 2011
2,014 Posts
my icharger 106B+ can only do a 5A discharge to a large Pb battery for a 6S lipo. I think I can go higher in discharge rate, but my Pb has a limit of only 5A input charge (not sure on voltage??). Even this would not be enough of a stress test.
evltoy is offline Find More Posts by evltoy
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 10:59 PM
Closed Account
Joined Aug 2007
4,497 Posts
I'd just spin it up without the canopy or battery strap on and hover for a minute or so, then check the cell voltages again. Worst case, it will have less power in flight.
eagle777 is offline Find More Posts by eagle777
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 11:07 PM
Registered User
wlee1017's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
1,389 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by evltoy View Post
my icharger 106B+ can only do a 5A discharge to a large Pb battery for a 6S lipo. I think I can go higher in discharge rate, but my Pb has a limit of only 5A input charge (not sure on voltage??). Even this would not be enough of a stress test.
icharger 106B+ max discharge current limit is only 7A. I have icharge 208B and 3010B. 3010B can discharge current up to 30A while 208B only 20A. But you need to get several external high watt resistor to dissipate energy. i.e. using non-regenerative discharge.
wlee1017 is offline Find More Posts by wlee1017
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I got some Fan Fold what to build thread part II started by emoone!!! Don Sims Foamies (Kits) 188 Jan 23, 2010 08:28 PM
Mountain Models Tantrum Partial Build Thread.. Tram Parkflyers 142 Apr 03, 2004 10:41 PM
My Bobolink Build Thread (very Colibri like) Jim Poor Hand Launch 65 Dec 10, 2003 04:48 PM
Laird Super Solution Build Thread! boomerace Parkflyers 178 Oct 29, 2003 07:20 PM
Switchback re-build thread (or What the $#*& was that!) Biggles604 Parkflyers 17 Jun 23, 2003 09:34 PM