SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 12, 2009, 10:05 PM
Joined Sep 2009
5 Posts
Discussion
Li-po battery explosion

I am new to flying. I have a super cub LP which I love. I took it up for a short flight tonight since the wind had laid down, it was flying beautifully. Brought it down, changed batteries and the battery exploded once I plugged the new one in. I got my video camera to film it. My poor cub lay upside down with a plume of smoke billowing out of it and the foam melting away.

Question is: is this a common thing?

I am using the Hobbyzone charger that came with the plane and a parkzone lipo battery that was the same as the one that came with it.

I may add the video to youtube and post the link here for kicks.
IN-Freeflyer is offline Find More Posts by IN-Freeflyer
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 12, 2009, 10:09 PM
Retardedly intelligent
beavercreek,ohio
Joined Jan 2007
3,857 Posts
NO not at all lipo fires and especially explosions are'nt very common today (with the new technology lipos are getting safer) they usually explode while charging?

contact horizon and see whats up with that?
foam and tape is offline Find More Posts by foam and tape
Old Oct 12, 2009, 10:09 PM
Check my blog-updated
Columbus,Ohio
Joined Nov 2005
2,133 Posts
Sounds like you shorted it.-- Assuming the fresh lipo being plugged in.
Mayday!Mayday! is offline Find More Posts by Mayday!Mayday!
Old Oct 12, 2009, 11:28 PM
WARNING: May contain spam
United States, CA, Alpine
Joined Oct 2007
20,964 Posts
An explosion would be where it sends fragments out.

What you had happen was a battery flame up in a very rapid succession, likely from either shorting it upon plugging in, or something being up with your electronics. NO, it's very rare for that to happen, so think on the bright side: it probably won't happen again
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Old Oct 13, 2009, 01:02 PM
Joined Sep 2009
5 Posts