SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 10, 2009, 12:48 PM
Engineer for Christ
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,402 Posts
Build Log
Snyper - FPV flying wing

Now that I've tried FPV (first person view) flying, I decided to design a better airplane suited for flying with a camera. Paul (happyKillmore) suggested a smaller, more maneuverable airplane, so the Snyper is what I came up with.

The idea is to build a fairly quick and maneuverable platform that can be thrown in the back of a car without dismantling it. It also needs to keep the camera protected and shade it from sunlight. I came up with a flying wing design that I'm hoping will work. This is my first attempt at a 4 piece wing.

The camera will be mounted underneath the wing inside a narrow fuselage. The fuselage will extend beyond the camera lens both to shield it from sunlight, and to protect it in the event of a crash.
IBCrazy is offline Find More Posts by IBCrazy
RCG Plus Member
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 10, 2009, 12:55 PM
Engineer for Christ
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,402 Posts
The Wing

The wing is a Gottengen 286 airfoil. This should provide a fair amount of lift. I used blue EPS foam from Lowes and my hot wire bow. The center cut used a 4.5" wide template, while the outer wings used an 18".

Once cut, I trimmed the wings down to add some sweep to the airframe. That should add some stability to the platform and make it a little less sensitive to CG.

Wingspan: 39"
Wing central chord: 15"
Wing sweep: 14"
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 10, 2009, 08:20 PM
Wonderfully Wicked
Willoughby, Ohio
Joined Jan 2002
13,070 Posts
Is it going to be a flying wing?

Don
The Don is online now Find More Posts by The Don
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 10, 2009, 09:25 PM
Suspended Account
Mentor, OH
Joined Dec 2004
8,426 Posts
no, silly.
it's going to be a flying pyramid.

geez, just look at the shape.
sgtdirt is offline Find More Posts by sgtdirt
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)