SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 09, 2009, 04:11 AM
Anchorage, AK
Joined Dec 2002
280 Posts
Discussion
Dangerous close call

I was reading something earlier that jogged my memory of an incident that happened to me this past summer. I'm a flight engineer on the E-3 AWACS in the Air Force. I'm thinking it was around June sometime, we were flying into Tinker AFB in Oklahoma City. Off the south end of the base, about 6 or 7 miles away, is an RC airplane club. Anyways, we were doing an ILS approach to runway 35 there and were about 1,200 feet above the ground. As we were passing near the RC field, one of the pilots grabbed the yoke, banked the plane to the left while saying "what the hell is that?" I looked out and saw what looked to be a Telemaster less than 100 feet away. The RC pilot flying it, must have been a complete imbecile. I only knew there was an RC club there, because I used to live in OKC. I E-mailed the club officers for that club, but never heard back from any of them. There's no real point to this post. I just felt like telling somebody. Don't let people at your club do a dumb stunt like that. If they do, hit them like Terry Tate. I'd imagine that the Air Force would not be happy if they lost a $400 million airplane and 30 people due to a guy with an RC plane. It wouldn't be good for the club.
KC10Chief is offline Find More Posts by KC10Chief
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 09, 2009, 06:50 AM
New Jersey, USA
Joined May 2003
1,990 Posts