Old Submariner
United States, WI, Milton
Joined Dec 2007
575 Posts
Build Log
Slowpoke- A Little Larger

Hi Guys:

Ok, I admit it I love Slowpokes !

I have been building and flying Slowpokes for years. I still have my first one, a Sport 40. I have been flying this 'Poke for almost 10 years. I fly it every week during the season, about 8 good months here in Wisconsin. It is powered with the original engine which was new for the project, a OS .52 4-stroke. She is covered with 21st Century Coverite Fabric, great stuff. Originally flown with Futaba 8UAP-PCM, has since been converted to JR 9303 2.4Ghz. I also have built the little Slowpoke 15, I added ailerons to all three of them. One nose plant and two were sold. Attached are a few pictures of my 'Pokes.

I wanted to post this Build Log for other Slowpoke guys. This 'Poke will be a little diferrent, a little larger.

I started with a stock GP Sport 40 kit. This project is no where near as ambitious as "crazychristian"s 10'-3"' 100 twin, it is more along the specs of "valleyforest"s enlarged version. Both of these projects are outstanding. Unfortunately "crazychristian"s met with early demise when he had a structural failure in aft fuselage. I beleive he is going to build another one, I hope so I would love to see it fly. The effort by "valleyforest" is a little larger with a .61 ASP 4-stroke. A truly beautiful job and he says flight is very good.
If you haven't seen these two go to "cc"s build and take a look. I contacted "valleyforest" in Sweden to ask a few questions about his project and he was really helpful. His comments confirmed in my mind that I was going in th right direction for my project.

My project will be simply a change to some of the basic dimensions and minor configuration changes.

A: Increase fuselage nose moment by 1.0"
B: Increase tail moment by 2.625"
C: Increase outter wing panels 5.0" each
D: Relocate landing gear to the fuselage just in front of the wing saddle. I