SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 14, 2009, 09:39 PM
Cumulus Altimus
FASTBEN's Avatar
KELLER TEXAS
Joined Feb 2002
3,554 Posts
the motor.


http://www.lightflightrc.com/HTML/pr...RC-28-58-1.htm
FASTBEN is offline Find More Posts by FASTBEN
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 14, 2009, 10:11 PM
The Kid
Thekid3418's Avatar
Detroit, MI
Joined Dec 2007
2,585 Posts
Im surprised so many people are going with a geared application! I'd like to see something like a 16/35/1.5S with 5s-2200 G3/4 lipos and as big of a prop as your ESC can take. Now THAT would rip! Or better yet a 16/35/2 on 5s or NEU 1115-3D on 5s. Both direct drive!
Thekid3418 is offline Find More Posts by Thekid3418
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2009, 10:18 PM
Registered User
sbritton's Avatar
USA, CA, El Dorado Hills
Joined Apr 2008
1,013 Posts
Getting most 5S batteries in there is going to be difficult. I'm pretty sure the hyperion 5S-2600 will fit. My Hyperion 4S-2600 is perfect and I'm going to throw a 1110-1y, CC125 and 4.1x4.1 to start. Then move up to a 1112 or 1115...I'm trying to avoid a small 5S pack like that since I can't use it in any other plane that I have.

I should be ready to maiden once the weather clears up.
sbritton is offline Find More Posts by sbritton
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 12:09 AM
One Idiot is plenty...
Dbox's Avatar
Planet Earth
Joined Jun 2005
5,155 Posts
I hope You guys all aware of thing which calls "wing loading".
When there is almost "no wing" and definetely NO FLAPS on that plane,
with all Your gearboxes,5S batteries,CC-180 controllers and such.....
You will need hundreds feet grass covered flat landing field to return Your baby from the sky in one piece.
Yuri.
Dbox is offline Find More Posts by Dbox
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 01:34 AM
Registered User
sbritton's Avatar
USA, CA, El Dorado Hills
Joined Apr 2008
1,013 Posts
Welp...just finished the plane. I set it up with Spoilers instead of flaps hoping to slow it down.

We have a 400' of fabric runway that I can bring down a Sunracer II and Absolute no problem. This feels like it is in the same ballpark and hoping won't be too much of an issue. I tried to keep it light with a direct drive and only 4S. I will weigh and finish the build log in the morning
sbritton is offline Find More Posts by sbritton
Last edited by sbritton; Dec 15, 2009 at 01:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 08:36 AM
Cumulus Altimus
FASTBEN's Avatar
KELLER TEXAS
Joined Feb 2002
3,554 Posts
ok this outruner consept has been in my head and cant get reed of it...just a perfect plane for it too.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...1&d=1216640888
ben


http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...8&d=1258404882
FASTBEN is offline Find More Posts by FASTBEN
Last edited by FASTBEN; Dec 15, 2009 at 08:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 10:41 AM
Registered User
sbritton's Avatar
USA, CA, El Dorado Hills
Joined Apr 2008
1,013 Posts
Viper Finished

Here are the finished pictures of the Viper. Overall I'm pretty happy with how it turned out. If I build another one, I might rethink the linkages as I would like to use a bit different geometry and adjustable linkages. What I have now is solid and no slop, but could be improved.

The fuse is pretty small and not much room in there for anything else. I have about 3/4" of movement in the battery to work with the CG, but didn't need it as it came in spot on at the recommended settings.

The ailerons have very good movement and range. I set up for spoilers with some elevator mixed in and will have to test to see how effective it will be.

The elevator has really good up range, but the down is pretty small; but there is not need for tons of down elevator anyways in a pylon racer.

Last comment would be the screws that hold on the wing. They seem solid, but I would prefer to have a third one at the back instead of the two. I will see how it flys and consider adding another.

It came in at 1lb-7oz airframe alone and another 10oz for the battery. So 2.065 lbs or 935 grams.

Maiden after the weather clears up.
sbritton is offline Find More Posts by sbritton
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 02:12 PM
Cumulus Altimus
FASTBEN's Avatar
KELLER TEXAS
Joined Feb 2002
3,554 Posts
can one of you tell me what is the inner size of the nose is it 30mm or 28mm?
thanks
ben
FASTBEN is offline Find More Posts by FASTBEN
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 02:53 PM
Registered User
sbritton's Avatar
USA, CA, El Dorado Hills
Joined Apr 2008
1,013 Posts
I believe 28mm is the biggest diameter motor you can put in there. I use a 30mm spinner which seems to suggest the same. If you use a gearbox, I suppose the motor could be bigger.
sbritton is offline Find More Posts by sbritton
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 03:09 PM
Cumulus Altimus
FASTBEN's Avatar
KELLER TEXAS
Joined Feb 2002
3,554 Posts
thanks a bunch bud.i may be going the moded outrunner way.i think 1200 watts will be just fine on this plane.
ben
FASTBEN is offline Find More Posts by FASTBEN
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 03:40 PM
//----\\
Coil's Avatar
Slovenia
Joined Mar 2008
676 Posts
Can you tell us what 28mm outrunner you will use.
Coil is offline Find More Posts by Coil
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 03:56 PM
Cumulus Altimus
FASTBEN's Avatar
KELLER TEXAS
Joined Feb 2002
3,554 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sukalo View Post
Can you tell us what 28mm outrunner you will use.
looking for one as we speek....
in the german speed cup they used outrunners (scorpion)i know that there may not be a a 28mm outrunner,,,but a 30mm can be instaled outside.with spinner and folding prop.
ben
FASTBEN is offline Find More Posts by FASTBEN
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 04:30 PM
Cumulus Altimus
FASTBEN's Avatar
KELLER TEXAS
Joined Feb 2002
3,554 Posts
http://media.rc-network.de/showphoto.php?photo=3413

http://translate.google.com/translat...hl=en&ie=UTF-8

lots of great info...now money talks just need to find some one to build one
FASTBEN is offline Find More Posts by FASTBEN
Last edited by FASTBEN; Dec 15, 2009 at 04:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 04:59 PM
//----\\
Coil's Avatar
Slovenia
Joined Mar 2008
676 Posts
Sorry to but speedcup outrunners are way bigger You will never fit one in a viper, you need 40mm or more, they also use 7inch or bigger prop. The folding props are custom made to sustain that kind of power.

My advice is to go with 28mm motor + gearbox and BIG prop or 28mm motor and small pylon prop.

If you seek speed go with pylon setup.

Viper F5D (2 min 11 sec)
Coil is offline Find More Posts by Coil
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 05:36 PM
Cumulus Altimus
FASTBEN's Avatar
KELLER TEXAS
Joined Feb 2002
3,554 Posts
you are right,,,,now i have a kontronik kira 480-31 if i can find a GB for it will it work?
i like to go large folder.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXWRM2
ben
FASTBEN is offline Find More Posts by FASTBEN
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product New Build thread for Viper F5D Model Rob AR High Performance 20 Sep 08, 2009 03:06 AM
Discussion new pylon model - Viper F5D 2009 MarkChinery High Performance 2 Mar 11, 2009 01:46 PM