HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 04, 2009, 11:37 PM
Joined Oct 2009
12 Posts
Discussion
Good areas to fly r/c jets in Atlanta, ga area?

I'm new the r/c plain hobby and I want to know some good areas to fly areas where i can fly my plains at in atlanta , area.
skyhigh357 is offline Find More Posts by skyhigh357
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 04, 2009, 11:45 PM
WARNING: May contain spam
United States, CA, Alpine
Joined Oct 2007
20,936 Posts
Welcome to RC Groups!

Rule #1 with the hobby: Your first plane should NEVER be a jet!!!!

Jets are FAST, HIGHLY responsive, and absolutely NEED experience and precision to fly them. I've been flying for over 9 years now, and even new jets make me nervous for the first 15 flights or so.

For a beginner, that's just a pile of foam waiting to happen. Good for you, you won't have to wait long, say 5-10 seconds TOPS before you destroy it

My suggestion to you, as a highly experienced modeler, would be to get a Hobby Zone Super Cub LP RTF as your first plane. It's a VERY gentle and stable trainer plane, that doesn't have nasty habbits, so it's perfect for beginners. Also, it's made of highly durable Z-Foam, which can take a lot of abuse before it breaks.
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Old Oct 05, 2009, 12:20 AM
'Sky' King
Watauga, Texas
Joined Jul 2007
220 Posts
To find RC airfields, try out this website for a start:

www.rcairfields.com

Enter you zipcode, and the map will zoom into your area and display existing RC airfields in the area. You can also use the Parks Explorer button to look for parks that may have suitable open areas for flying.

An open 5 or more acre area is nice when you can find it, but some folks settle with open soccer and ball field areas. You can use the Area Tool to measure the size of an airfield or a potential new flying area in acres.

Also, if you have a local hobby shop, flying clubs and groups often post info, and the staff may have suggestions.