HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 16, 2001, 07:32 PM
Aptos, CA, USA
Joined Apr 2001
276 Posts
Mixing Epoxy

Now that I am starting construction of my Wingo, does anyone have any tricks to mixing 5 minute epoxy? I guess I am usually not getting the mix quite right because it hardens, but has kind of a tacky surface feel long after the hardening time is up, although the bond seems to be strong enough. Is this a problem with the volume of the two components or how well mixed they are?

What I did was try to dispense equal length beads from the two tubes, then mix them together using a small wooden stick. It's hard to get the beads equal in volume because the two components aren't equally viscous and one of them spreads more than the other.

How exact does the mix need to be?

I am also planning to use some plastic knives as mixing and spreading tools. Does anyone have any favorite tools to make the job easier?

I am a rank beginner at this so apologize if I am asking the obvious.

Thanks,
Allen
aginzu is offline Find More Posts by aginzu
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 16, 2001, 08:26 PM
Rehab is for quitters
West Middlesex, PA, US
Joined Jun 2001
4,853 Posts
The 5 minute epoxy I have is from the LHS. I use equal amounts
of resin and hardner. If you use too much hardner, it sets up alot faster. For large surfaces, I use a plastic knife as you. But for small jobs, I just use a toothpick.

Dave...
LuckyArmpit is offline Find More Posts by LuckyArmpit
Old Sep 16, 2001, 09:19 PM
EDF Head
Stavanger, Norway
Joined Feb 2000
7,999 Posts
The epoxy will harden up in ~5minutes but it wont reach full cure before 60mins. The epoxy can feel rubbery right after it start to harden, 5-10mins. It will feel tacky for atleast 30mins.

Time to harden and time to fully cure are two different things so I'd say you're not doing anything wrong.
Haldor is offline Find More Posts by Haldor
Old Sep 16, 2001, 09:22 PM
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Joined Mar 2001
27 Posts