SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 03, 2009, 06:27 PM
Texas Hill Country
Joined Mar 2005
127 Posts
Question
What's the difference between trailing edge and aileron stock?

I'm building my own ailerons and flaps for a flat bottom glider wing. I need stock material that makes a right triangle, instead of an isosceles. Would that be trailing edge, or is the difference something else?

By the time I round off or bevel the edges on the hinge side, I don't know if it's really going to matter anyway.

Advice?
flatland2d is offline Find More Posts by flatland2d
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 03, 2009, 07:02 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,428 Posts
I believe the trailing edge is an all inclusive term covering the fixed and moveable portions with the movable portions have secondary names, ailerions, flaps, etc.

You should be able to buy ailerons stock in the right angle form which is what you want with a flat bottom wing at your LHS.
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old Oct 03, 2009, 07:13 PM
Texas Hill Country
Joined Mar 2005
127 Posts
I'm looking at www.balsausa.com and they have both trailing edge and 90 degree aileron stock. The latter is the one I'll get.

Unfortunately, the local hobby shops I've been to don't carry aileron/trailing edge stock.

Thanks for the clarification.
flatland2d is offline Find More Posts by flatland2d
Old Oct 04, 2009, 05:09 AM
East Anglia, UK
Joined Sep 2002
29,703 Posts
you should see FrannyB's amazing article on the Valkyrie build in the vintage forum and how she sanded the T.E.

Essentially, in your case, strip the wood you need to the correct width, and glue some wire of the correct leading edge and trailing edge thickness to a board, slip the strip between, and block sand down to the wire.

It would take less time than a trip to the LHS. And you get perfect results exactly the way you want then.