HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 03, 2009, 03:33 PM
y chucu, chucu, chuuuu...
Argentina, Buenos Aires
Joined Apr 2003
597 Posts
Cool
1940’s Thermic 70 flight report

First things first: why building a plane from a kit instead of buying an RTF one?

There are several reasons about why this time I wanted to build from a kit an old-timer free flight model.

The first is because several senior pilots have similar models in the field, and I have been always fascinated with their flying and their look. They have this kind of magic only achieved by hand made models.

The second reason is that I have been building planes since I was 11 years old (long time ago), and for me it is a relaxing and healthy activity that makes me feel a kid again.

Nostalgia apart, an electric power plant and RC equipment updated the Thermic 70, making it more practical and enjoyable. Sorry to the purist, but I believe that planes are to be flown.

The building log is here:

http://twoscenarios.typepad.com/adrin_muios_build_log/
nick_cool is online now Find More Posts by nick_cool
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by nick_cool; Oct 03, 2009 at 04:09 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 03, 2009, 04:18 PM
Argentina, Buenos Aires
Joined Apr 2003
597 Posts
The day was gusty, with average wing of 9km/hr, certainly not the best conditions to maiden this fragile model.

So I check everything and metered the power plant that sweetly amazed me with these results:

AXI 2212-20
Jeti Spin 22
Polyquest XQ 11.1v 1200mAhr 30C or 700mAhr
Prop : Robbe 8x5 folder

The results:
Voltage 11,4v
Current 9,4A
Power 107W
RPM 12.300 !!!

Ready to flight the model is bellow 500g, so the power is more than enough for a the sailplane, and it is at the most efficient point for the power plant.

Here is the blog about the power plant selection:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...9#post12995341
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by nick_cool; Oct 03, 2009 at 05:54 PM.
Old Oct 03, 2009, 05:49 PM
Charleston, SC, USA