HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 21, 2009, 11:23 PM
Renewed Modeler
Joined Sep 2009
2 Posts
Discussion
First Bipe build Opinion. Phaeton 90 or EAA?

Hey guys, back into the hobby after a several year absense due to Real Life and all that stuff. Im a fairly decent builder and have more than a few trainers under my belt that I bought, built and later sold. Im in it for the long haul now and want to get into something newer. Im interested in a Biplane but the kits are getting scarce. So im looking at the BUSA EAA or the Phaeton 90. Plan is for a Saito 125 In terms of complicated what would be the best route?
Gulp is offline Find More Posts by Gulp
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 22, 2009, 12:53 AM
Dana, Indiana
Joined Jan 2007
557 Posts
Either one would build about the sam, I like the looks of the Phaeton 90. The P90 is bigger so would be a little slower (more drag) than the EAA. The hardest part of building a bipe is the second wing and making sure you have them set up correctly, i.e. incidence and washout, these are adjusted through the cabanes and "N"-struts. The struts and cabanes will require some soldering.
whitewolf is offline Find More Posts by whitewolf
Old Sep 22, 2009, 01:02 AM
Shrewsbury, Shropshire.
Joined Mar 2008
917 Posts
You don't fancy a WW1 bipe?

BUSA have several which would suit your engine.
Monza Red is offline Find More Posts by Monza Red
Old Sep 22, 2009, 07:04 AM
That's gonna' leave a mark!!
Imperial, Sask.
Joined Apr 2007
201 Posts
Phaeton 90.... build and enjoy. Mine is now powered with a Thunder Tiger 91 4st (GMS.76 pictured). Does not have excess power but sounds and flies very scale. Lands like a trainer.

Cheers
Curt
chuebner is offline Find More Posts by chuebner
Old Sep 22, 2009, 07:16 AM
Imperial, Sask.
Joined Apr 2007
201 Posts