HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 03, 2011, 05:40 AM
Live for speed
GoFaster's Avatar
USA, CT, Bethany
Joined Mar 2004
1,368 Posts
Not in my DLGs but it will fit in my F3B models. Perhaps one of the new telemetry-capable rx's will fit in a DLG...
GoFaster is offline Find More Posts by GoFaster
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 18, 2011, 06:29 AM
Live for speed
GoFaster's Avatar
USA, CT, Bethany
Joined Mar 2004
1,368 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
That is a neat project. So neat in fact that I laid out a board today to make a sensor for our radio system using the BMP085 pressure chip. I just modified one of my existing sensor board designs. I can change the EVO firmware to add this sensor.

I will post PCB layout and source code as soon as it is tested.
Jim, are you still working on this side project?
GoFaster is offline Find More Posts by GoFaster
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 10:39 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,827 Posts
Yep, got some sample boards and built them. Working on the very long and drawn out code for the compensation.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 10:43 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,827 Posts
Here is what the board looks like. Fits in the standard sensors case (same box that the XDP uses).
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 12:23 PM
Live for speed
GoFaster's Avatar
USA, CT, Bethany
Joined Mar 2004
1,368 Posts
Nice! Will you be selling these or releasing the schematics?
Also what is the empty spot next to the 3-pin connector for, along with the 5 empty solder pads next to the pressure sensor?
GoFaster is offline Find More Posts by GoFaster
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 02:58 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,827 Posts
Do you mean the blank portion of the circuit board layout? Nothing goes there. The 5 holes are for the programming interface for the PIC.

I will be releasing the schematic, PCB artwork, and code for it. We may also produce them. I really don't want to ever be in the sensor business.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2011, 01:16 PM
yyz
Registered User
yyz's Avatar
USA, CA, Paso Robles
Joined Dec 2004
2,400 Posts
Another Royal EVO upgraded to 2.4 this weekend. This one was my 9 channel with the 10 channel XPS receiver in one plane and a Nano 6 in another.

Installation instructions need updating as the 2.4 antenna on the transmitter module is now installed down through the top rather than up through the bottom.

Mike
yyz is online now Find More Posts by yyz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2011, 07:05 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,827 Posts
Yeah, we definitely need to update that now that we are pulling this out of a beta stage to production.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2011, 11:40 PM
yyz
Registered User
yyz's Avatar
USA, CA, Paso Robles
Joined Dec 2004
2,400 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Yeah, we definitely need to update that now that we are pulling this out of a beta stage to production.
Jim,

Is there any way to get at the telemetry data (serial, i2c, etc) at the transmitter end rather than sending it to the EVO's display?

Mike
yyz is online now Find More Posts by yyz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2011, 10:13 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,827 Posts
The data going to the EVO is sent its encoded scheme. There is no way to get that data from our module in a normal format.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2011, 04:12 PM
yyz
Registered User
yyz's Avatar
USA, CA, Paso Robles
Joined Dec 2004
2,400 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
The data going to the EVO is sent its encoded scheme. There is no way to get that data from our module in a normal format.
Thanks Jim. Makes that a pretty simple decision.
yyz is online now Find More Posts by yyz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2011, 06:00 AM
Registered User
JonyEpsilon's Avatar
London, UK
Joined Jan 2009
581 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
That is a neat project. So neat in fact that I laid out a board today to make a sensor for our radio system using the BMP085 pressure chip. I just modified one of my existing sensor board designs. I can change the EVO firmware to add this sensor.

I will post PCB layout and source code as soon as it is tested.
Just stumbled across this ...

Thanks for the kind words!

I now have more experience of the BMP085's quirks than any person would want, so feel free to PM if I can help in any way.

One thing to watch out for, if you decide to go to production, is that approximately 5% of BMP085s (tested from several batches) have higher noise than usual (by a factor of two or three). The openaltimeter BMP085 driver has a software fix for this (oversampling the temperature) which is far from obvious!


Jony
JonyEpsilon is offline Find More Posts by JonyEpsilon
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2011, 10:19 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,827 Posts
Thanks for the heads up. I am still working (in my spare time) on the math required to do the conversion. I looked at some Proton Basic source to get the basic equation. Doing it in assembly with a 8 bit CPU is a bit timing consuming, but there is really no rush in providing the data as outgoing telemetry info is not real fast anyways.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2011, 06:02 AM
Live for speed
GoFaster's Avatar
USA, CT, Bethany
Joined Mar 2004
1,368 Posts
Any progress on this side project? Thx.
GoFaster is offline Find More Posts by GoFaster
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2011, 12:06 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,827 Posts
Worked a little this weekend on the math, but spent most of my time on our 6 channel nano receiver to get the PPM output finished so we can get that to beta.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Evo Pro Update CyberPilot Hitec/Multiplex USA 30 Nov 25, 2009 10:34 PM
Funtana Pro Update Matt Fritz Sport Planes 302 Oct 29, 2005 01:58 AM
Multiplex ROYAL Evo software update modelspot Electric Plane Talk 1 Aug 09, 2003 09:46 AM