HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 25, 2011, 11:27 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,884 Posts
Yes, you can upgrade to the new top mount with your setup. You need to order the LONG pigtail and the top mount adapter. They will come assembled ready to install. You just remove the old pigtail assembly and slide the u.fl end of the new assembly down the tube and snap it on to the u.fl connector on the XBEE board. Please note that the pigtail end of the u.fl is only good for 2-3 insertions. So, it is important that you snap the connector in place the first time (or second time). It needs to be directly on top of the connector and pressed straight down. There will be a 'snap' sound when a good connection is made. Now, orient the cable so it is out of the way of the lid closing and then use shoo-goo or similar semi-permanent adhesive to make sure that the connector can not pop off.

That glue is "shoo-goo", and it just peels off. Once that is gone, you need to pull straight up on the connector, do not twist it sideways or you can damage the u.fl on the XBEE module. THAT would require replacement of the module.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 25, 2011, 11:35 AM
Live for speed
GoFaster's Avatar
USA, CT, Bethany
Joined Mar 2004
1,371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Yes, you can upgrade to the new top mount with your setup. You need to order the LONG pigtail and the top mount adapter. They will come assembled ready to install.
So these two components?

http://www.xtremepowersystems.net/pr...-MOUNT1&cat=12

http://www.xtremepowersystems.net/pr...XPS-PT2&cat=12

How is the mount secured in the Evo's antenna tube?
GoFaster is offline Find More Posts by GoFaster
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 01:48 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,884 Posts
Yes, those two.

The mount is pressed into the top of the EVO. It can spin, so I used a dab of shoo-goo to prevent that (and I can still get it out if need be). MAKE SURE that you keep the antenna pivot relatively straight. It is possible to kink the cable if you try to pivot it all of the way.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 02:10 PM
Live for speed
GoFaster's Avatar
USA, CT, Bethany
Joined Mar 2004
1,371 Posts
Ordered! Thanks for the shoo-goo tip.
I've opened up the pivot ball so it's much more resistant to swiveling.
Waiting for your new DivBee sailplane rx with the external antennas.

- Felix
GoFaster is offline Find More Posts by GoFaster
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 06:10 PM
Registered User
Tennessee
Joined Sep 2003
2,335 Posts
I long ago found the Evo pivot ball to be useless and disabled it with CA. Shoe Goo would be better but I didn't have any at the time and the CA was handy. That was 5 years ago and it is still holding.
ChuckA is online now Find More Posts by ChuckA
Last edited by ChuckA; Jul 26, 2011 at 11:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2011, 03:43 PM
Registered User
tadawson's Avatar
Lewisville, TX
Joined Dec 2003
834 Posts
Odd . . . At least on 72, I use it all the time . . . . I find the ball to be one of the more useful subtle features on the Evo . . .

- Tim
tadawson is offline Find More Posts by tadawson
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 08:53 AM
PGR
Low AltiDude
PGR's Avatar
United States, CA, Costa Mesa
Joined Jun 2004
7,949 Posts
Ditto what Tim said, although I haven't found it real useful since I removed the 72MHz antenna.

Pete
PGR is offline Find More Posts by PGR
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 09:06 AM
Live for speed
GoFaster's Avatar
USA, CT, Bethany
Joined Mar 2004
1,371 Posts
I suppose that if I were still using a neck strap (or a tray), I would be swiveling the antenna to point up. However I found that I was constantly smacking myself in the face with it
GoFaster is offline Find More Posts by GoFaster
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 10:29 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,884 Posts
You can just bend the 2.4GHz antenna at its pivot point if you wanted to change the angle of the antenna.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 09:15 PM
THAT'S WHY
causeitflys's Avatar
Eastern Ohio
Joined Aug 2004
762 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoFaster View Post
I suppose that if I were still using a neck strap (or a tray), I would be swiveling the antenna to point up. However I found that I was constantly smacking myself in the face with it
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
You can just bend the 2.4GHz antenna at its pivot point if you wanted to change the angle of the antenna.
GoFaster,
If you still slap yourself in the face with the 2.4 antenna I suggest you lengthen that neck strap
causeitflys is offline Find More Posts by causeitflys
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2011, 10:00 AM
Live for speed
GoFaster's Avatar
USA, CT, Bethany
Joined Mar 2004
1,371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Now that I am finishing up the Black Box support, I will make a change to the EVO module firmware to give you more sensor options as well.
Jim, is this in progress? I am looking at getting an OpenAltimeter as a telemetry sensor.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1342829
GoFaster is offline Find More Posts by GoFaster
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2011, 12:31 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,884 Posts
That is a neat project. So neat in fact that I laid out a board today to make a sensor for our radio system using the BMP085 pressure chip. I just modified one of my existing sensor board designs. I can change the EVO firmware to add this sensor.

I will post PCB layout and source code as soon as it is tested.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2011, 02:10 PM
Live for speed
GoFaster's Avatar
USA, CT, Bethany
Joined Mar 2004
1,371 Posts
Super! I would like to see real time altitude on my Evo to help me optimize my launches.
Since the rx can also send data to the "PC" (telemetry station?) at the same time, the entire launch profile of altitude over time can be viewed later too.

- Felix
GoFaster is offline Find More Posts by GoFaster
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2011, 12:35 AM
Registered User
Son, Norway
Joined Sep 2004
3,321 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoFaster View Post
Since the rx can also send data to the "PC" (telemetry station?) at the same time, the entire launch profile of altitude over time can be viewed later too.

- Felix
Do you have room for an 8+ channel Rx ++?
flarssen is online now Find More Posts by flarssen
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2011, 01:11 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,884 Posts
Our sailplane receiver is 1" wide with end pins, and fits in just about every glider made.
JimDrew is offline Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Evo Pro Update CyberPilot Hitec/Multiplex USA 30 Nov 25, 2009 10:34 PM
Funtana Pro Update Matt Fritz Sport Planes 302 Oct 29, 2005 01:58 AM
Multiplex ROYAL Evo software update modelspot Electric Plane Talk 1 Aug 09, 2003 09:46 AM