HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 29, 2012, 02:34 PM
Registered User
Dirty Dee's Avatar
United States, IL, Northbrook
Joined Sep 2011
539 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bart83 View Post
This was fun to do.

So now i have the shape how can i make formers and sheeting etc?

Greets ,

Bart
To get formers you can create planes and set them going through the solid at locations that you want the former. Then use the command SECTION. then offset the cross section by the sheet thickness, and remove excess material from the former.
Dirty Dee is online now Find More Posts by Dirty Dee
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 09, 2012, 02:06 PM
71% of the world is runway . .
Bart83's Avatar
Nederland, ZH, Oostvoorne
Joined Jun 2009
1,680 Posts
Hello , cant get the float to become a solid er get a solid one piece skin , this is how far i have come.




















Greets ,

Bart
Bart83 is online now Find More Posts by Bart83
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 03:15 PM
71% of the world is runway . .
Bart83's Avatar
Nederland, ZH, Oostvoorne
Joined Jun 2009
1,680 Posts
Does anny one know how i can give tthe balsa sheeting a 1.5mm thickeness ?? i tried using offset surface -solid but the result is not what i want ( see picture)



Greets , Bart
Bart83 is online now Find More Posts by Bart83
Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 03:28 PM
Registered User
Dirty Dee's Avatar
United States, IL, Northbrook
Joined Sep 2011
539 Posts
you can create a vertical plane going down the centerline of the floats. Then use that plane to split the solids so each side butt against one another. you will need to cap the split ends though
Dirty Dee is online now Find More Posts by Dirty Dee
Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 07:50 PM
JOE MOCERI
United States, MO, St Charles
Joined Nov 2006
28 Posts
When I input a picture using picture frame in Rhino the picture dissapears when zooming in on it. Do I have a setting wrong? Anyone experience this problem.
Joe
JMDESIGNS is offline Find More Posts by JMDESIGNS
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 01:23 AM
71% of the world is runway . .
Bart83's Avatar
Nederland, ZH, Oostvoorne
Joined Jun 2009
1,680 Posts
do you have the wire frame on visible ? if you have turn it off.

greets,

Bart
Bart83 is online now Find More Posts by Bart83
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 12:16 PM
JOE MOCERI
United States, MO, St Charles
Joined Nov 2006
28 Posts
The picture shows up in render and also in the view ports when imputed. It turns white after a couple of scrolls to zoom in. I have searched the web for the problem and others have experienced the same issue on white picture. I have removed and reloaded the program and no change.
I tried with wire frame on and off and still same problem. I'm wondering if it is my computer............... Has worked in the past so I'm still searching for the answer.
Joe
JMDESIGNS is offline Find More Posts by JMDESIGNS
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 12:20 PM
Registered User
Dirty Dee's Avatar
United States, IL, Northbrook
Joined Sep 2011
539 Posts
Dont know if this might fix it. But, have you placed the images on their own layer, and then locking that layer?
Dirty Dee is online now Find More Posts by Dirty Dee
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 12:23 PM
JOE MOCERI
United States, MO, St Charles
Joined Nov 2006
28 Posts
The image imputs to a default layer and I have locked it. Ill try coping to a new layer and see if it works.
Joe

Edit,,,, Still has the issue with being on a different layer.
JMDESIGNS is offline Find More Posts by JMDESIGNS
Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 08:57 AM
Sink stinks
Montag DP's Avatar
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Apr 2005
4,516 Posts
I'm having some trouble printing. For some reason it just shows up as a black page. I'm pretty sure I've tried to do this before, so I'm not sure why it's not working. Anyone seen this before?
Montag DP is online now Find More Posts by Montag DP
Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 01:46 PM
Build it again, Sam!
Harpye's Avatar
Germany
Joined Oct 2004
4,091 Posts
Open GL / Graphics Driver Update Some Graphic mode changing parallel tasks opened??? if not - no idea ... never had this issue!!
Harpye is offline Find More Posts by Harpye
Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 04:38 PM
Sink stinks
Montag DP's Avatar
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Apr 2005
4,516 Posts
Yeah, I'm not sure what it is. I may have switched drivers since the last time I tried printing from Rhino but I'm using the ATI Catalyst drivers and they are up to the task for everything else. I think I will try submitting a support ticket.
Montag DP is online now Find More Posts by Montag DP
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 01:26 AM
Crash proof pilot
FlyDave's Avatar
Svizzera, TI, Bellinzona
Joined Oct 2005
380 Posts
Have you tried "Vector" instead of "Raster" output ? (options on the left)
FlyDave is offline Find More Posts by FlyDave
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 03:37 PM
Sink stinks
Montag DP's Avatar
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Apr 2005
4,516 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyDave View Post
Have you tried "Vector" instead of "Raster" output ? (options on the left)
Oh hey, that actually works. I thought I had tried it but I guess I actually hadn't. Thanks.

Dan
Montag DP is online now Find More Posts by Montag DP
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 08, 2012, 01:58 AM
71% of the world is runway . .
Bart83's Avatar
Nederland, ZH, Oostvoorne
Joined Jun 2009
1,680 Posts
Hello ,

I am a bit further on my way trying to learns rhino3d. I desinged a replacement wing for my widgeon and made a few pics. I arranged the parts for milling , did i do this wright ?
I would like to know if there is any easy way to make parts interlocking for making fuselage formers for example ?

Greets ,

Bart



Shear webs


Ribs


Joiner


Spars


Dowels



Hold-down block


Leading-Edge


Trailing-Edge & Sub trailing-edge


Fill blocks


Ailerons & tips


Sheeting


Rendered construction


Started nacelle


Nacelle formers


Complete wing


Parts for milling done wright?


Parts for milling using '''make 2d visible''


Plan
Bart83 is online now Find More Posts by Bart83
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Rhino ... some basics Harpye CAD/CAM 557 Nov 15, 2012 01:17 PM
Wanted Looking for some 4S and 5S zippy/Turnigy/Rhino Lipos Aga1978 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 0 Oct 30, 2009 08:09 AM
Help! Probably basics for some markles123 Sailplane Talk 6 Oct 07, 2009 01:46 AM
Discussion Some basics of FPV for a beginner?! GOK FPV Talk 10 Feb 15, 2007 08:04 PM
In need of some basics Doug Sipprell Batteries and Chargers 5 May 26, 2004 10:21 PM