HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 16, 2009, 10:37 PM
Nashville TN
Joined Jan 2007
286 Posts
Help!
Please look at this set-up it's my first attempt

Hi to all, please look at this and let me know if it looks OK or I need to change something. I have never built a float plane or flown from water, but what the heck I will give it a try. Some info. on the plane and set-up...the plane is a Sig Seinor Kadet wing span is 80" Motor is a O.S .61FX Prop is a APC 13x5 Floats are balsa over foam that have been fiberglassed and painted. Prop to the top of the floats is about 4.50" From the bottom of the fuse. to the bottom of the floats is 11.50" Floats are level and elev. is level. The floats are on 24" from the center line of the floats and about 27" outside to outside ....I know that's a little wide but I thought it would make it a little more stable. PLEASE look at the bracing it is made from 5/32 music wire, I think that I need a "Z" brace in it. Also look at the C/G it's at the wing strut, I have it right over the step of the floats I hope that this is right. Please feel free to give any input.
Thanks, Eng30
eng30 is offline Find More Posts by eng30
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 16, 2009, 11:10 PM
Crossville, TN
Joined Dec 2004
2,907 Posts
The floats need to be rigidly mounted. A diagonal on each side and a fore and aft spreader bar would be ideal.
You are way over powered...not a bad thing
The step needs to be about an inch BEHIND the CG on a plane this size.
Balance it slightly nose low with a third of a tank of fuel.
Nice looking plane and floats.
Art Schmitz is offline Find More Posts by Art Schmitz
Old Sep 17, 2009, 10:40 AM
Nashville TN
Joined Jan 2007
286 Posts
Hi Art, will put some more side bracing in . I also use this plane to piggy-back gliders on top of the wing with a mount then release them. Now with floats I thought the extra power might be needed, I can always pull the power back on the stick. I have moved the C/G 7/8" BACK from the step.