Old Sep 15, 2009, 06:55 AM
GOK
Turkey, Izmir
Joined Aug 2005
1,302 Posts
Discussion
1/5 Piper J3 Cub as an FPV platform?

Hi all,

I'm gathering some ideas to put together my first FPV rig. I've been flying RC models for about 5 years now and have been APing with the ES for around 3 years.

I have an electrified 1/5 J3 Cub. She is big, slow, docile, can lift some weight and can handle wind. However, she needs a large flying field, and is a pain to carry around and assemble.

What would your thoughts be on a big Piper J3 Cub as a first FPV platform? I've only seen Typicalamister try this at some point but have never been able to watch his videos as they were removed from Vimeo. Oh, I've also found a thread where fpvflyer has shared a few photos of his nitro powered Cub but not much info anywhere else.

Thanks in advance for the help...

Cheers,

GOK
GOK is offline Find More Posts by GOK
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 15, 2009, 09:34 AM
RCGroups Editor
United States, OH, Parma
Joined Jul 2009
4,841 Posts
My thoughts are:

pros: Big and docile, able to fly in wind and has a good glide (most cubs glide very well). Able to lift alot, lots of room to space out components. Scale factor a plus

cons: expensive airframe vs a smaller foamie. More dangerous/does more damage to anything it hits if your video takes a crap and your not prepared to take over visually. Bigger flying field as you stated.

As a beginner and setting up your first rig, theres more of a chance to have problems you havent anticipated. Theres a small margin for error and reaction when flying along in FPV. Im not saying you cant do it, but learning the ropes on an more expendable foamie might be less painful if something goes wrong. A 1/5 scale cub packs alot of punch
Matt Gunn is online now Find More Posts by Matt Gunn
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 15, 2009, 09:44 AM
Team White Llama!
Joined Jan 2008
8,144 Posts
i'd say to big, would be very dangerious in a crash (will happen)