Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:11 AM
Epoxy & CA Investor
DenverJayhawk's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined May 2010
2,580 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigster View Post
I finally got my 4315-714 bolted up with a 15x6 Xoar and the ICE was claiming ~80A peak (with a storage charged battery). I didn't have the connectors for my wattmeter yet, but holy cow, it nearly dragged me across the room!
Yeah. You'll love this. It's like a sling shot on takeoff. Kind of stupid vertical power, really.
DenverJayhawk is offline Find More Posts by DenverJayhawk
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:12 AM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverJayhawk View Post
sounds low on the amp draw with that setup. I'm closer to 90amps with the same setup but a 15x10 prop.
Your 15x10 prop numbers make sense. I think with a 15x8 you'd get around 80-85.
turnerm is offline Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:12 AM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverJayhawk View Post
Yeah. You'll love this. It's like a sling shot on takeoff. Kind of stupid vertical power, really.
Stupid indeed but MAN I love it.
turnerm is offline Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:13 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverJayhawk View Post
i wouldn't trust a 75 amp esc with that motor on 4S. You'll definitely peak over 75amps given my experience with similar equipment.
A few people have been telling me that, but the data I'm getting isn't confirming it. I have a buddy I fly with who has the same setup, and his results are very similar to mine. I'll probably swap to a 100 just to be safe though.
timlake is offline Find More Posts by timlake
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:13 AM
Epoxy & CA Investor
DenverJayhawk's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined May 2010
2,580 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnerm View Post
Your 15x10 prop numbers make sense. I think with a 15x8 you'd get around 80-85.
that makes sense. I should try a 15x8 sometime. I propped up for the elevation where i fly, which is generally about 5300-6000 ft.
DenverJayhawk is offline Find More Posts by DenverJayhawk
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:15 AM
Epoxy & CA Investor
DenverJayhawk's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined May 2010
2,580 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timlake View Post
A few people have been telling me that, but the data I'm getting isn't confirming it. I have a buddy I fly with who has the same setup, and his results are very similar to mine. I'll probably swap to a 100 just to be safe though.
well, if your watt meter is telling you that, then give it a go. You should be safe in theory.
DenverJayhawk is offline Find More Posts by DenverJayhawk
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverJayhawk View Post
maybe your throttle end points in the radio are limiting the range?
I've never messed with that... Are the default settings not good?
timlake is offline Find More Posts by timlake
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:21 AM
Yard Dart
Letzrock's Avatar
United States, TN, Woodbury
Joined Aug 2012
133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timlake View Post
I've never messed with that... Are the default settings not good?
At WOT you should see a red light flicker on your ESC. The red light indicates full throttle has been reached by the ESC. I dont believe you can change much on your throttle with a DX6.
Letzrock is offline Find More Posts by Letzrock
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:22 AM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverJayhawk View Post
that makes sense. I should try a 15x8 sometime. I propped up for the elevation where i fly, which is generally about 5300-6000 ft.
If you're not pulling too many amps with the 15x10 then I'd just stick with that. I'm guessing you might be disappointed with the 15x8 at your altitude.
turnerm is offline Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:31 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Letzrock View Post
At WOT you should see a red light flicker on your ESC. The red light indicates full throttle has been reached by the ESC. I dont believe you can change much on your throttle with a DX6.
I think the logged data also shows a "100" in the "power out" column when the ESC registers full throttle. Am I reading that right?

I'm also noticing a temporary 3v dip in voltage when I go from 0 to 100 on the throttle. Is this normal, or is my battery about to become a paperweight?
timlake is offline Find More Posts by timlake
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:39 AM
Epoxy & CA Investor
DenverJayhawk's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined May 2010
2,580 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timlake View Post
I've never messed with that... Are the default settings not good?
my radio had them defaulted at 100 and 100. I generally change the end points using Castle's instructions.
DenverJayhawk is offline Find More Posts by DenverJayhawk
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:51 AM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverJayhawk View Post
my radio had them defaulted at 100 and 100. I generally change the end points using Castle's instructions.
+1. Setup fixed end points per their instructions.
turnerm is offline Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:51 PM
Yard Dart
Letzrock's Avatar
United States, TN, Woodbury
Joined Aug 2012
133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timlake View Post
I think the logged data also shows a "100" in the "power out" column when the ESC registers full throttle. Am I reading that right?

I'm also noticing a temporary 3v dip in voltage when I go from 0 to 100 on the throttle. Is this normal, or is my battery about to become a paperweight?
A higher c rated battery helps this
Letzrock is offline Find More Posts by Letzrock
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 02:47 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,197 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timlake View Post
Wow... I wonder why I'm getting such different results? What kind of battery are you using?
A larger ESC will usually give you more power due to it having a lower internal resistance, and also, they usually have larger wires, so again lower resistance...

SteveT.
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 02:50 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,197 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Letzrock View Post
At WOT you should see a red light flicker on your ESC. The red light indicates full throttle has been reached by the ESC. I dont believe you can change much on your throttle with a DX6.
He has end point adjustment, and that is what is needed to set up fixed end points. And yes, Fixed end points usually works best...

SteveT.
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product 3D Hobby Shop 47" Edge 540 #BUILD VIDEOS ADDED# ipsmotors 3D Flying 3960 Nov 23, 2013 07:39 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop 57" Sukhoi sukhoi26mx Electric Plane Talk 7 Sep 17, 2008 08:33 AM
Sold NIB 3D Hobby Shop SHP Extra 300 *Blue* Version 2 thomer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 7 May 04, 2008 01:31 PM
Build Log 3D Hobby Shop 55" Katana LIVE Build Log Jeremy Sebens 3D Flying 54 Oct 12, 2007 03:39 PM