HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 20, 2010, 07:10 PM
TEAM CANUCKER HUCKER
ssflylow's Avatar
Canada, AB, Medicine Hat
Joined Sep 2003
1,636 Posts
FWIW, I have some readings on my power system for the 57" SC.
I'm running a Scorpion 3026-710, CC Phoenix 80, Xoar 15x7, and Hyperion CX 4000 4S. Static test were 1165 watts @ 79 amps. After a 7 minute flight, I'm putting back 2300 mah, battery is barely above ambient temp, ESC is cool, and motor is slightly warm.

Oh, and did I mention.............it's a vertical missile!!!

I just can't see why you'd need a 4020 series in this airframe
ssflylow is offline Find More Posts by ssflylow
Last edited by ssflylow; Apr 20, 2010 at 08:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 20, 2010, 08:23 PM
Registered User
kygreen229's Avatar
Boise, Idaho
Joined Jun 2009
592 Posts
So what would be the advantage of the Scorpion 4020-8 on 4s over the 3026-710 on 4s? both look pretty similar to me. little difference in RPM. You can throw more watts and amps at the 4020-8...That would be my guess why someone would choose that one over the 3026-710.

-Kyle
kygreen229 is offline Find More Posts by kygreen229
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2010, 10:01 PM
TEAM CANUCKER HUCKER
ssflylow's Avatar
Canada, AB, Medicine Hat
Joined Sep 2003
1,636 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kygreen229 View Post
So what would be the advantage of the Scorpion 4020-8 on 4s over the 3026-710 on 4s? both look pretty similar to me. little difference in RPM. You can throw more watts and amps at the 4020-8...That would be my guess why someone would choose that one over the 3026-710.

-Kyle
Honestly I don't see an advantage on running the 4020. I simply do not need any more power. And with the 3026 I save 3 oz. of weight.
ssflylow is offline Find More Posts by ssflylow
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2010, 10:13 PM
Postcards From The Purple Edge
tuppertn's Avatar
United States, OK, Sand Springs
Joined May 2007
3,919 Posts
The 4020-8 has considerably better efficiency at those power levels. The 3026-710 is rated for 60A constant. ScorpionCalc says your running around 70% efficiency at 79A (and ScorpionCalc tends to be a little optimistic with its efficiencies). The 4020-8 does give more rpm and slightly more current with the same prop, but it's only working at 70% capacity and closer to 80% efficiency.

3oz means nothing on this plane. You're talking about an increase of 0.6oz/sqft in wing loading.

kendall
tuppertn is offline Find More Posts by tuppertn
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2010, 10:31 PM
Registered User
tho98027's Avatar
Joined Aug 2004
976 Posts
Kyle, I know Ben's website recommends a 8-10 oz motor but I would try to use a quality motor that is about 7 oz. The plane will still fly great even with a 10 oz motor. It's too bad Reaper does not make the reaper GR-45 anymore. That was the recommended motor until they stopped making it and it is awesome. Apparently they are making a gr-45 VII but it's not out yet. Keep it light. An extra 3 oz in the nose is a lot IMHO.
tho98027 is offline Find More Posts by tho98027
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2010, 11:29 PM
wrecklessly misspeling stuff..
tuck's Avatar
United States, CA, Citrus Heights
Joined Feb 2009
1,008 Posts
F[QUOTE=cryhavoc38;14899002]An ar6200 would work just fine. No need for a 7 channel receiver and the 6200 is just as much a full range receiver as the larger AR7000.

I have lost three planes do to radio glitches with three different AR6200s. At ten dollars more the Ar7000 is a safe bet.
tuck is offline Find More Posts by tuck
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 12:48 AM
I think I forgot how to fly RC
cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA, Woodinville
Joined Mar 2007
8,063 Posts
[QUOTE=tuck;14905128]F
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryhavoc38 View Post
An ar6200 would work just fine. No need for a 7 channel receiver and the 6200 is just as much a full range receiver as the larger AR7000.

I have lost three planes do to radio glitches with three different AR6200s. At ten dollars more the Ar7000 is a safe bet.
Thats interesting.

I've got an ar6200 in a sundowner 50 and a GP shoestring, and I do believe I have one in my GP Revolver.

all three are go fast planes and never have had any issues with the 6200.

Not saying your issue is something else, but its just interesting to me that you've had glitches on the 6200 and not the 7000. I've lost planes to the 6100 series, thats why I only have a couple in foamy planes and nothing that I don't wish to crash on me.
cryhavoc38 is offline Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 12:42 PM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,174 Posts
i believe there was a bad batch of 6200s to hit.if you have a 2010 model or newer im sure youll be ok.I lost a plane due to 6200 glitch and have seen 3 others go down due to same glitch and know of 3 more that went in same circumstance...I am sure my plane died because of it as the entire power system is in a friends plane hes been flying since I pulled it out of mine....except the 6200..it went in the trash after I waited to see if anything failed on my buds plane..
Manta1 is online now Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 12:53 PM
ADC Vinyl
Fliprob17's Avatar
SoCal-Rancho Santa Marg.
Joined Mar 2007
5,229 Posts
I am not saying this is the case.......but if anyone was running an older 6200 and had a habit of using the LVC as their "timer" the older 6200's would reboot/lose signal. I've got two handfuls of the older 6200 with hundreds of flights each, no issues, but I always change my LVC to one cell count below what I am actually flying so it never kicks in, flying by timer there's no risk to the battery anyway.
Fliprob17 is offline Find More Posts by Fliprob17
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 02:19 PM
I think I forgot how to fly RC
cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA, Woodinville
Joined Mar 2007
8,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fliprob17 View Post
I am not saying this is the case.......but if anyone was running an older 6200 and had a habit of using the LVC as their "timer" the older 6200's would reboot/lose signal. I've got two handfuls of the older 6200 with hundreds of flights each, no issues, but I always change my LVC to one cell count below what I am actually flying so it never kicks in, flying by timer there's no risk to the battery anyway.
whats odd about that statement is that even at LVC, a lipo pack is still sitting at a nominal 9v, assuming a low LVC of 3.0v per cell for a 3s pack.

Additionally at LVC, a typical 3s pack still has plenty of amps on tap for a speedo's bec or a ubec to power the electronics.

All my 6200's were purchased this year and all have the brownout/quick connect firmware so, knock on wood....

I still prefer my fasst's though, but I do like to have options with as many planes as I have.
cryhavoc38 is offline Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 02:19 PM
I think I forgot how to fly RC
cryhavoc38's Avatar
United States, WA, Woodinville
Joined Mar 2007
8,063 Posts
OH and doesn't everyone love the following 3 words!!

"OUT FOR DELIVERY"

my 330sc arrives today..wahoo.
cryhavoc38 is offline Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 03:05 PM
ADC Vinyl
Fliprob17's Avatar
SoCal-Rancho Santa Marg.
Joined Mar 2007
5,229 Posts
....voltage to the receiver would sag just enough from the BEC/ESC when LVC would kick in (for some reason), should have been a little more clear without clouding the issue further
Fliprob17 is offline Find More Posts by Fliprob17
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 03:26 PM
wrecklessly misspeling stuff..
tuck's Avatar
United States, CA, Citrus Heights
Joined Feb 2009
1,008 Posts
Ya mine were first couple of shippments to the local hobbyshop. So its good to know the AR6200 are now a viable option. Do any of of you guys use differentail. If so how do you decide how much is effective, twenty rolls to a click untill your happy? Yup I still can't keep a consistant expo rate. So I might not be ready for diff.
tuck is offline Find More Posts by tuck
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 03:37 PM
Registered User
Dennis C's Avatar
Grass Valley California
Joined Jun 2004
2,469 Posts
Do a roll on a down line, if it has a barrel in it then add some sifferential ,this should be your last trim work, so be sure that C>G> are correct and all your other trimming is done.

Make sure you do not have any elevatro when you do the roll.
Dennis
Dennis C is offline Find More Posts by Dennis C
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 03:42 PM
Registered User
Dennis C's Avatar
Grass Valley California
Joined Jun 2004
2,469 Posts
Finishe the repairs, all the fuslage formers from the wing tube forward were cracked,broken and damage,. The motor box had several breaks, landing gear plate ripped out. saved all the pieces and it went back togeather like a jig saw puzzle, some thin and medium ca and all was good. not a scratch on the cowl.

The wing tube ripped out and all the ribbs inboard of the servo were broken. saved most of the pieces and the wing is ready to cover. damage only to the bottom of the wing.

one side force generator broken

What color is the transparent blue on the bottom of the wing?

Dennis
Dennis C is offline Find More Posts by Dennis C
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product 3D Hobby Shop 47" Edge 540 #BUILD VIDEOS ADDED# ipsmotors 3D Flying 3960 Nov 23, 2013 08:39 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop 57" Sukhoi sukhoi26mx Electric Plane Talk 7 Sep 17, 2008 09:33 AM
Sold NIB 3D Hobby Shop SHP Extra 300 *Blue* Version 2 thomer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 7 May 04, 2008 02:31 PM
Build Log 3D Hobby Shop 55" Katana LIVE Build Log Jeremy Sebens 3D Flying 54 Oct 12, 2007 04:39 PM