HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 07, 2009, 07:00 PM
South Jersey
Joined Sep 2009
7 Posts
Help!
A good entry level electric off-roader.

Hi, I'm new to hobby level RCs and I'd like to know what a good first truck/buggy would be. I have my eye on a new Traxxas Slash, but I want to know if it is good. My budget tops out at $270. Also, I want it to be 1/10 size.
JKardisF is offline Find More Posts by JKardisF
Last edited by JKardisF; Sep 07, 2009 at 07:23 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 07, 2009, 07:03 PM
Joined Nov 2008
196 Posts
The slash would be a great choice for a first model.

I would recomend getting 2 batteries though, so while one charges, the other one is in the truck.

I like almost all the Traxxas modles because they have very nice after-market sopport.
Airplanedude is offline Find More Posts by Airplanedude
Old Sep 07, 2009, 07:07 PM
South Jersey
Joined Sep 2009
7 Posts
Yeah, I was looking into getting a second battery anyway, and I've heard that the Slash is super durable. I was on this one website that had brushless kits, but they are expensive. I may get a brushless if I get into the hobby. This is what I hope to get: http://www.rcplanet.com/Traxxas_Slas...ra5805com2.htm. Now for the saving part...
Last edited by JKardisF; Sep 07, 2009 at 07:33 PM.
Old Sep 07, 2009, 09:15 PM
Joined Nov 2008
196 Posts
That looks like a decent deal!

If you are interested in going brushless off the start, I would get something like a brushless Rustler for 250 some-odd dollars.

Both trucks would be great choices though.
Airplanedude is offline Find More Posts by Airplanedude
Old Sep 07, 2009, 10:06 PM
Joined Feb 2005
246 Posts
If you are considering brushless I'll second the Rustler VXL recommendation. It's getting into the top of your budget, but it's better long term than buring brushed now and then upgrading. The Slash is cool, but for general bashing around I feel like the Rustler would be more fun.