HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 07, 2009, 02:02 PM
Joined Jul 2009
34 Posts
Discussion
Tiger moth wing tips

Hello,

I'm building this Tiger Moth, from plans found on the web. They aren't really clear with the wingtip.. to me it looks like its either just one big chunk of balsa there or a thick shaped sheet. It seems a bit wierd to me, as the rest of the wnig is very light to slap a solid piece there. Should I build some custom framing there instead, or is the solid wingtip there for a reason?

Also, this is the top wing, not very likely to bump into the ground. well.. maybe but then you have a lot bigger problems to deal with.

Attached are some photos that will show what I'm talking about:
Dervall is offline Find More Posts by Dervall
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 07, 2009, 02:07 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,441 Posts
What is the cross section of the view? I imagine it could be a thin sheet perpendicular to the tip rib down the centerline. Also that wing is not all that light.. that is how most wings for glow are built iwth a rear spar and shear webs between ribs, etc... Is it electric or glow?

If it is to be solid balsa, I usually hollow out the middle with a dremel
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old Sep 07, 2009, 02:15 PM
AMA 910957
United States, WA, Hoodsport
Joined Mar 2008
5,272 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thermalin
I imagine it could be a thin sheet perpendicular to the tip rib down the centerline.
That's where my money goes. The covering material angles down to the tip.

You can also cut lightening holes into the tip material.

EJWash
EJWash1 is offline Find More Posts by EJWash1
Old Sep 07, 2009, 02:21 PM
Joined Jul 2009
34 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thermalin