HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by billpa, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Oct 11, 2011, 12:36 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2011
134 Posts
How about The NTM Prop Drive Series 35-36A 1400Kv / 550W??? it said 7 turns.. but no poles??
louiealadph is offline Find More Posts by louiealadph
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 05, 2011, 03:21 PM
Registered User
United States, NJ, Roseland
Joined Apr 2009
2,214 Posts
poles
hidaven is offline Find More Posts by hidaven
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2011, 08:27 AM
Earthbound Skyhound
StarHopper44's Avatar
United States, NC, Richlands
Joined Jun 2011
5,049 Posts
2620-1900 & 2815-1059

2620-1900Kv Brushless Outrunner - Mfr/Brand unknown; supplied with Hobby King 'Bixler' airplane: 12 magnets/poles
(Same motor is used in Banana Hobby 'SkySurfer' for Brushless upgrade option)


2815-1050Kv Brushless Outrunner - Mfr/Brand unknown; supplied with Phoenix 2000 Glider: 14 magnets/poles

30-20-1350Kv - Mfr/Brand unknown; supplied with FlyZone Cessna 350 Corvalis;
Motor has 14 poles (magnets) and 12 winding 'teeth'
StarHopper44 is offline Find More Posts by StarHopper44
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by StarHopper44; Nov 04, 2012 at 09:55 AM. Reason: Addendum - SkySurfer note
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2012, 02:48 AM
Registered User
gerryw's Avatar
Canada, BC, Sidney
Joined Feb 2008
8 Posts
Rimfire 400

Rimfire 400 has 14 poles based on calibrating RPM with RPM meter.
gerryw is offline Find More Posts by gerryw
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2012, 11:35 AM
AMA 84248 since 1964
Joined Jan 2011
1,359 Posts
I'm looking for the number of poles on a Turnigy G32 - 600Kv motor...

Thanks

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline Find More Posts by Franco2fly
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2012, 09:26 AM
AMA 84248 since 1964
Joined Jan 2011
1,359 Posts
Its not just the pole count that you need. I found that not all ESC's can be programmed for the poles, Here's an extract from Eflights 60 amp ESC that cured my Telemetry problems, and might be whats driving others crazy:

Programming Menu 3 Timing
The default setting is 15 degrees. As a general rule, lower pole count motors use lower timing and higher pole count motors use higher timing. Please refer to your motor instructions and specifications for an indication of the number of poles. (Default is 15 degrees)
LowTimingAdvance
Timing Degrees 5 & 10
Motor Poles 2 to 4
Expected Performance Good balance of power and efficiency
Motor Poles 6 or more
Expected Performance Best efficiency and run time (lowest power)
StandardTimingAdvance
Timing Degrees 15 & 20
Motor Poles 6 to 12
Expected Performance Good balance of power and efficiency
Motor Poles 14 or more
Expected Performance Best efficiency and run time (lowest power)
HighTimingAdvance
Timing Degrees 25
Motor Poles 12
Expected Performance Highest power, less efficiency
Motor Poles 14 or more
Expected Performance Good balance of power and efficiency


1. Move the stick to center (between 1.4 and 1.6ms) for 5 seconds, and the controller will beep 3 times, indicating you are now in Menu 3.

2. Move the throttle stick to full throttle (>1.7ms) position to make changes to the Timing programming.

a. To select 5 Degrees, (2 to 4 Poles*) You will hear 1 short beep. Move the throttle stick to center (between 1.4 and 1.6ms). The controller will beep 2 times, indicating you have set the program selection or leave in full throttle for 5 seconds to advance to the next selection.

b. To select 10 Degrees(4 to 6 Poles**) You will hear 2 short beeps. Move the throttle stick to center (between 1.4 and 1.6ms). The controller will beep 2 times, indicating you have set the program selection or leave in full throttle for 5 seconds to advance to the next selection.


c. To select 15 Degrees (6-12 Poles**) You will hear 3 short beeps. Move the throttle stick to center (between 1.4 and 1.6ms). The controller will beep 2 times, indicating you have set the program selection or leave in full throttle for 5 seconds to advance to the next selection.

d. To select 20 Degrees (12-14 Poles**) You will hear 4 short beeps. Move the throttle stick to center (between 1.4 and 1.6ms). The controller will beep 2 times, indicating you have set the program selection or leave in full throttle for 5 seconds to advance to the next selection.


e. To select 25 Degrees(14-16 Poles**) You will hear 5 short beeps
Move the throttle stick to center (between 1.4 and 1.6ms). The controller will beep 2 times, indicating you have set the program selection or leave in full throttle for 5 seconds to advance to the first selection again.


KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline Find More Posts by Franco2fly
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 05:56 AM
AMA 84248 since 1964
Joined Jan 2011
1,359 Posts
Just received a response from HK, the tech rep says that a Turnigy G32 - 600Kv motor has 12 poles.

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline Find More Posts by Franco2fly
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 07:49 AM
AMA 84248 since 1964
Joined Jan 2011
1,359 Posts
Melnic,
You say all Monster power from Hobby parts are 14 pole... does that include their
Tacon Monster 32? I just got word from a HobbyKing rep that my Turnigy G-32
600 Kv motor is a 12 pole motor, I'm wondering if folks are posting the correct
number WRT poles and or magnets.

Thanks
KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline Find More Posts by Franco2fly
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 06:03 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
1 Posts
I am trying to find an AXIAL magnetic circuit motor where the number of stator poles outnumber the number of rotor magnet poles. Anybody offer such a motor?
Ken Wasson is offline Find More Posts by Ken Wasson
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 05:22 PM
Aviation Technician
GetToDaChopper's Avatar
Joined Feb 2012
315 Posts
Hacker Brushless A20-6XL 2500kv 10 pole
Scorpion HKII-2221-12 or Stock MSH mini protos Scorpion rebranded 6 poles
GetToDaChopper is offline Find More Posts by GetToDaChopper
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2012, 07:08 AM
AMA 84248 since 1964
Joined Jan 2011
1,359 Posts
Don't know how others are dealing with stator counts, pole counts and such, but I finally found a much better way to go.

The problem, as I see it, is that software trying to calculate RPM gets hosed if the Poles are not correct, and the ESC timing is out of bounds, but even given correct counts, there are other inherant problems with the approach. I never could get the RPM reading to start before the motor was spinning over 4000 RPM then backing off throttle sent the calculations to 28,780 + RPMs but there is a better way.

Merely order the ground sensor SPM 1452 that is an optical sensor. Replace the Dean connector. Place the provided silver dot on the Brushless motor "can" that rotates and mount the sensor on an arm so it senses the silver dot.

My RPM readings start at < 1000 and actually will track down to 700 RPM. They are accurate at least to 14K maybe higher, and there's no false feedback when I retard throttle.

I'm sorry I spent the money and the time trying to make the electronic brushless sensor work. It was a total waste of time and money. The Optical sensor is about 5 bucks. It cost more to ship it than the sensor itself. It took me less than 5 minutes to replace the connector, and maybe another 5 minutes to glue the sensor to a reinforced balsa stringer securley attached to the firewall. IMHO this is the way to go.

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline Find More Posts by Franco2fly
Last edited by Franco2fly; Apr 12, 2012 at 07:08 AM. Reason: sp
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2012, 02:35 AM
ATP/CFI Heli Sea Glidr Balloon
Joined Apr 2012
7 Posts
Now double-confirmed: My unmodified Radian Pro turns about 7900 RPM at 10 MPH and about 8250 RPM at 30 MPH and on the ground my DX8 telemetry closely matches my GloBee IntelliTach display with the DX8 set for 14 poles.
Sidlinger is offline Find More Posts by Sidlinger
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2012, 03:19 AM
Registered User
France, Bourgogne, Nevers
Joined Feb 2012
520 Posts
Mega Acn 16-25-6, inrunner, has 6 poles
wazoo22 is offline Find More Posts by wazoo22
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2012, 03:30 AM
Registered User
France, Bourgogne, Nevers
Joined Feb 2012
520 Posts
When I follow the calibration procedure on the PC software, I get no reading at all. Confident that my software is up to date (done yesterday) and a rhesus monkey could do the install.
Anyone got a suggestion? I'm reluctant to blame the sensor yet- but I note it's no longer in their product list.
wazoo22 is offline Find More Posts by wazoo22
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 02:50 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
66 Posts
Does anyone know how many poles for NTM Prop Drive Series 28-26 1200Kv ?


.
voutsasva is offline Find More Posts by voutsasva
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Post your Aerial Photos here....See Aerial Photo Forum kepople Aerial Photography 224 Oct 17, 2008 08:48 AM
Please Post your Aerial Photos here.... kepople Aerial Photography 258 Oct 03, 2007 01:21 PM
Please post your Small EPP 3D airplanes Here fly4fun 3D Flying 39 Nov 30, 2005 03:10 PM
Yippee! Please post your links to free plans HERE! CactusJackSlade 3D Flying 12 Oct 08, 2004 01:30 PM
Please post your flight times for brushless Voyager E's Astro30 Electric Heli Talk 4 Mar 16, 2003 06:31 PM