SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:34 PM
NaN
Andy2No's Avatar
Manchester, UK
Joined Nov 2005
3,757 Posts
I haven't got round to it yet, SB. Too many other things to do, at the moment.

I'm still wondering how to check which trees have gone underground. Thinking about it, I'm not sure if what I see when looking under the edge are trees that are underground, or just trees that are on the surface, but seen without the surface. Possibly some of both.
Andy2No is offline Find More Posts by Andy2No
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:59 PM
No place like cloud base......
SuperBarlow's Avatar
United States, VT
Joined Aug 2012
426 Posts
The trees orient themselves on top of the land, as far as I know.
The trees that you see are on top, but you're seeing through the ground.

SuperBarlow
SuperBarlow is online now Find More Posts by SuperBarlow
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:04 PM
Registered User
United States, WA, Gig Harbor
Joined Oct 2009
120 Posts
Hi,

I've installed RC Desk Pilot for my grandson, seems pretty nice. Now hitting lots of confusion on what type of USB cable to use to connect a Spektrum transmitter up to PC. I know there is the mono 1/8" cable method using the auxiliary SmartPropoPlus software. This is the method that I used for FMS and I know it works for FMS. I've searched through this whole thread, and some say to use a standard Spektrum compatible USB connector - but offer no link. What is standard?

There is this connector - http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...rd_i=GWSFM002B But the reviewer says it does not work on his Spektrum transmitter. Does it work or not?

Others have posted that you need an expensive cable with electronics to get decent resolution from your transmitter. Is this true?

So my question is - what specific USB cable are you guys using - and where can that cable be found??

Thanks much.
Doug
svtdoug is offline Find More Posts by svtdoug
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:40 PM
Gravity gets me down.
helicow's Avatar
USA, FL, Brooksville
Joined Jan 2008
1,392 Posts
This is the cable I have used with both a DX5 and a DX7:

I am sure you can find it cheaper - not sure where I got mine.

Model Number: GWFSM002 is what is on the tag I have.

http://www.amazon.com/Stereo-Plug-Fl.../dp/B0016N18JC


Good luck
helicow is offline Find More Posts by helicow
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:41 PM
Gravity gets me down.
helicow's Avatar
USA, FL, Brooksville
Joined Jan 2008
1,392 Posts
Has anyone got this working on Windows 8? I searched and nothing came up.
helicow is offline Find More Posts by helicow
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 06:38 AM
Registered User
GeneralFailure's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
343 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by helicow View Post
Has anyone got this working on Windows 8? I searched and nothing came up.
Hi, I've tested it on Win8 and it works fine (at least on one of the release candidates).

Cheers,
Davy
GeneralFailure is offline Find More Posts by GeneralFailure
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 10:06 AM
Gravity gets me down.
helicow's Avatar
USA, FL, Brooksville
Joined Jan 2008
1,392 Posts
Thanks - good to know.
helicow is offline Find More Posts by helicow
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:52 PM
Callsign: Jolly Roger
MyDigitalParadis's Avatar
Ridgecrest California
Joined Jun 2006
589 Posts
An alternative to the Spektrum connection cable and about the same price is one of the old Eskay flight simulators. It comes with a dummy controller that you can use with Desk Pilot and it saves wear and tear on your Spectrum and it's batteries. It is what I use.

Grayson hobby carries it: (Out of stock right now) http://www.graysonhobby.com/catalog/...ofkuf7i5u7qsk4

HobbyPartz also carries it and is a west coast supplyer: http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dyu-1002.html

Both are under 20$ before shipping.
MyDigitalParadis is offline Find More Posts by MyDigitalParadis
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:29 PM
Registered User
sonnier00's Avatar
United States, TX, Huntsville
Joined Oct 2011
202 Posts
i have a Turnigy tx and 12n1 dogel but dask pilot dose not see them. is there some thing i can do to make them work?
sonnier00 is offline Find More Posts by sonnier00
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:35 PM
No place like cloud base......
SuperBarlow's Avatar
United States, VT
Joined Aug 2012
426 Posts
Set the TX up as a game controller. If you can't do that, you can't use it, I would assume.
SuperBarlow is online now Find More Posts by SuperBarlow
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:25 AM
Registered User
United States, NC, Pilot Mountain
Joined Oct 2011
171 Posts
Sim fails with HDMI connected.

Just got a new laptop with HDMI out and this sim will not run with the cable connected. I even tried starting the sim then connecting the cable but it still fails. It does show a report that I can post if that helps but I don't have that available now.

I am hoping that there is a known issue that is easily fixed. This sim would look really nice on a bigger screen, I think.

Edit:
Same or similar problem on two TV. A 1080i @ 30" and a 720p @ 50".
Ikankrachuhmoll is offline Find More Posts by Ikankrachuhmoll
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 12:14 PM
Registered User
Cheese5's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Jul 2010
4,362 Posts
Interesting, mine works well with the HDMI connector to a 20" and a 48" flat screen. Does your computer switch screens? Does everything on the computer work? I just turn everything on, open flight sim, connect HMDI cable and it works.
Cheese5 is online now Find More Posts by Cheese5
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 06:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2009
151 Posts
I use HDMI to a large LCD tv just fine too. I have a desktop pc though, not a laptop.
Do you see your desktop screen on the TV? or other programs/3D games?
Try running RCDP in windowed mode. For fullscreen/dual monitor mode I must switch my TV to the #1 monitor in windows for it to work.

RCDP restarts when it senses a screen format change when switching monitors, that must be when you get an error?

Make sure you have the latest video drivers for your laptop too.

A screen shot of the error could help.
Eves is offline Find More Posts by Eves
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 02:01 PM
Registered User
GeneralFailure's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
343 Posts
Hi Ikankrachuhmoll,
Does the problem also occur when you only use the external monitor (so no extended desktop mode)? A screenshot of the error would help. Also: are you using the BMI version of the regular 1.3?

Cheers,
Davy
GeneralFailure is offline Find More Posts by GeneralFailure
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 08:58 AM
Registered User
United States, NC, Pilot Mountain
Joined Oct 2011
171 Posts
Product version appears as 0.1.3.* and the file version appears as 0.1.3.0.

Error are either as follows or attached. These were with the TV as primary,, no extended or cloned desktop. But I have tested and the same appears with extended or cloned.



Name: rcdp error.jpg
Views: 74
Size: 31.9 KB
Description: This appears after the splash screen.

Name: rcdp error2.jpg
Views: 50
Size: 102.0 KB
Description: Then, after OK is clicked, I see this.

Others asked about other 3D games. I don't run a lot of games on this PC (supposed to be a "work" PC. But, even if its not relevant, FMS does run.

The laptop is new but I will check for latest drivers. That will likely require a reboot so those results will be in the next post. (edit): reinstalled latest driver,, same results.
Ikankrachuhmoll is offline Find More Posts by Ikankrachuhmoll
Last edited by Ikankrachuhmoll; Dec 28, 2012 at 10:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Atlanta area micro r/c heli pilot needed ASAP Greg McNair Aerial Photography 1 Nov 13, 2006 05:20 AM
For Sale (71)r/c digest mags up for bid bigtfortulsa Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 11, 2006 08:29 AM
For Sale Old r/c Digest magazines up for bid bigtfortulsa Non R/C Items (FS/W) 0 Jan 11, 2006 08:24 AM
R/C Airship Pilot Needed - Orlando, FL Stevens AeroModel Parkflyers 4 Mar 18, 2002 09:24 PM