HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 18, 2011, 10:24 AM
blucor basher's Avatar
United States, PA, Lancaster
Joined Jun 2003
24,141 Posts
Epoxy works fine for hinging, we (and the rest of the world) have tested it many, many times.

Gorilla also works well. Tested. Good.


My current favorite is an epoxy, 3M DP110.
blucor basher is offline Find More Posts by blucor basher
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 18, 2011, 10:26 AM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,446 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by twilkers View Post
what prop for 8S?

tim
I think I read 18x8 for the 12L on 8s
losifanatic is online now Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 11:29 AM
TEAM CANUCKER HUCKER
ssflylow's Avatar
Canada, AB, Medicine Hat
Joined Sep 2003
1,636 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lugnutz View Post
shawn what type of epoxy were you using,from my experience if you use 5 minute epoxy you will have this problem of hinges coming loose.if you use 30 minute or a longer setup epoxy you will not,reason being that with 5 minute epoxies they setup to quick and dont bond very well to the wood structure to well,where with 30 minute the epoxy soaks into the wood and adheres alot better.jm2c
I used 5 minute, that may be the reason. And I learned something I wasn't previously aware of. Thanks.

One more thing, when you apply vaseline to the hinges, give it a quick shot with a lighter. You'll see the vaseline soak right into the hinge joint. Works great.
ssflylow is offline Find More Posts by ssflylow
Last edited by ssflylow; Feb 18, 2011 at 11:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 12:27 PM
Advocating for RC Aviation
USA, NJ, Phillipsburg
Joined Jul 2010
1,390 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by losifanatic View Post
I think I read 18x8 for the 12L on 8s
+1 great size prop for 8S in this size airfame.
danamania is offline Find More Posts by danamania
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 12:31 PM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,788 Posts
Anyone using a DX7?

For anyone using a Spektrum DX7, what are your throttle endpoints set to?

I just got one recently and notice that with the factory settings at 100/100, props begin to turn at 1/3 throttle????

This is probably adding to my problem of touchy throttle in vertical flight.

Thanks
johnnyrocco123 is online now Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 12:34 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,446 Posts
what esc are you useing?
losifanatic is online now Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 12:41 PM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,788 Posts
Ice 100. But I notice this on every plane I have linked to the Dx7.

Never messed with throttle endpoints on my dX6i


Throttle response whould be set the way I want it on the Ice controller, but I will double check it tonight.
johnnyrocco123 is online now Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 12:57 PM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,151 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrocco123 View Post
Well if Gorilla does a better job hinging, I was not aware. It's the expansion properties that turn me off of GG. Experience with it is the only way to know how much is enough for each application.


I hope my Hinges don't come out in flight
The expansion is the great thing about GG. Smaller tigher areas will get filled. If any expands out...just peel it off. Easy.

As far as the lower rudder joint comming off. Don't know if it was the glue, but I can't count how many times I've dragged the tail on my 42, 51 and 70 a few times.
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 12:58 PM
blucor basher's Avatar
United States, PA, Lancaster
Joined Jun 2003
24,141 Posts
Quote:
I used 5 minute, that may be the reason. And I learned something I wasn't previously aware of. Thanks.
yep. That's why the "required items" list in the manual specifically calls for 30-minute epoxy.
blucor basher is offline Find More Posts by blucor basher
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 01:29 PM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,151 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by losifanatic View Post
I filled the holes and very little came out. The vaseline I think stops it from expanding out to much
With GG, more moisture, more expansion. I've built many pieces of furniture using GG. If I wanted more expansion, I'd wipe the surfaces with a very damp rag. Then glue and clamp.

The vaseline is to protect the hinges from getting glue in them, it may defeat the GG to.
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 01:30 PM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,165 Posts
I'm gonna try some of that 3m epoxy you use one of these days.I like 3m stuff and the applicator looks perfect for what we use it for.
Manta1 is offline Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 01:51 PM
TEAM CANUCKER HUCKER
ssflylow's Avatar
Canada, AB, Medicine Hat
Joined Sep 2003
1,636 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blucor basher View Post
yep. That's why the "required items" list in the manual specifically calls for 30-minute epoxy.
I just figured 30 min. epoxy was simply a longer cure time, more time to get the piece in place before setting. I didn't know there were different reactions involved during the curing process.
ssflylow is offline Find More Posts by ssflylow
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 01:53 PM
Registered User
Fort Worth, Texas
Joined Nov 2002
185 Posts
Typically with epoxies, the longer the cure time, the stronger the bond.
DBA-FW is offline Find More Posts by DBA-FW
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 02:00 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,446 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrocco123 View Post
Ice 100. But I notice this on every plane I have linked to the Dx7.

Never messed with throttle endpoints on my dX6i


Throttle response whould be set the way I want it on the Ice controller, but I will double check it tonight.
Put the Ice on fixed endpoints and set it up like the manual states and it will start turning at 1 click. You really need to set it at fixed endpoints
losifanatic is online now Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 03:07 PM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,165 Posts
+1 on what Losi said.Agreed 100%
Manta1 is offline Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM