HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 22, 2010, 08:32 AM
Registered User
Scooter0509's Avatar
Long Island, NY
Joined Mar 2006
943 Posts
Thanks Rob, after the right wing was done I kinda got a better feel for applying them and had very few bubbles on the rest. Honestly there really isn't that many bubbles in the right wing but I am very picky. Really not hard to install at all. You did a great job on the decals. Thanks again.
Scott
Scooter0509 is offline Find More Posts by Scooter0509
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 22, 2010, 09:57 AM
House of Paine
weaser42's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined May 2007
2,147 Posts
Sweet, love the yellow/black checkerboard as well os going cowless
weaser42 is offline Find More Posts by weaser42
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 11:07 AM
Registered User
mattk0's Avatar
United States, MN, Apple Valley
Joined Jan 2004
2,084 Posts
Sweet - liking the yellow/black checkers. I'm still debating going the vinyl route someday on this plane but so far still liking the 'plain' look too

Got 3 flights on my 70" Slick and 3 on my 57" Extra SC. Man, these make for an awesome combo. I'm really liking all the awesome characteristics of the Slick and it made for a perfect larger plane for me coming from 47" size. Now, I totally understand the "bigger flies better!"

Got home almost giddy last night because of how awesome those two planes are.
mattk0 is offline Find More Posts by mattk0
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 12:35 PM
Registered User
Scooter0509's Avatar
Long Island, NY
Joined Mar 2006
943 Posts
Thanks guys, since my SHP and my AJ Extra were yellow I realized that bright yellow just looks great in the air. I like the fantasy blue scheme but just wanted to add a bit to the yellow. Rob was great to deal with and very accomodating to my wants. Great service.
Scott
Scooter0509 is offline Find More Posts by Scooter0509
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 04:07 PM
Artillery! King of Battle!
Brill 1's Avatar
USA, KS, Scammon
Joined Mar 2002
4,431 Posts
Spinner Gap Too Larger

I was test mounting my Hacker A50-14L on the Slick today and noticed that I have a rather large gap between the spinner backplate and the cowl. I'm using a Tru-Turn spinner and wonder if that has something to do with it?

Thoughts? Did I over-looking something very obvious while mounting the motor?

Thanks

Brian
Brill 1 is offline Find More Posts by Brill 1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 04:55 PM
Registered User
akschu's Avatar
USA, AK, Houston
Joined Aug 2005
776 Posts
Brian,

Pull the blind nuts, put them on the front side of the motor box, then mount the X mount on the back side. You will need longer screws between the motor and X mount but I was able to get those at the local hardware store.

Schu
akschu is offline Find More Posts by akschu
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 05:05 PM
Artillery! King of Battle!
Brill 1's Avatar
USA, KS, Scammon
Joined Mar 2002
4,431 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by akschu View Post
Brian,

Pull the blind nuts, put them on the front side of the motor box, then mount the X mount on the back side. You will need longer screws between the motor and X mount but I was able to get those at the local hardware store.

Schu
Ahhh! Great idea! That should make it line up perfect!

Thanks

Brian
Brill 1 is offline Find More Posts by Brill 1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 06:26 PM
Just "hanging" Around
3D-Dabbler's Avatar
Richmond, VA
Joined Oct 2009
1,589 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by belrix View Post
I was test mounting my Hacker A50-14L on the Slick today and noticed that I have a rather large gap between the spinner backplate and the cowl. I'm using a Tru-Turn spinner and wonder if that has something to do with it?

Thoughts? Did I over-looking something very obvious while mounting the motor?

Thanks

Brian
It seems you have a 1.0 version of the 70" slick. The 2.0 batch has the motor box about 13 mm shorter to accommodate the A50-12L and a50-14L. I have both versions.
3D-Dabbler is offline Find More Posts by 3D-Dabbler
Last edited by 3D-Dabbler; Jul 22, 2010 at 07:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 06:36 PM
Artillery! King of Battle!
Brill 1's Avatar
USA, KS, Scammon
Joined Mar 2002
4,431 Posts
Hmm, just ordered it a couple of weeks ago, must have been a version 1.0 hanging around.

No worries, I will move the blind nuts and x-mount. Besides I'm still waiting on my batteries to arrive.

Brian

On another topic. What settings do I need to change on the Castle ICE 100 for the Hacker A50-14L with a Castle BEC Pro?

Thanks

BW
Brill 1 is offline Find More Posts by Brill 1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 06:41 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
24,887 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by belrix View Post
Hmm, just ordered it a couple of weeks ago, must have been a version 1.0 hanging around.

No worries, I will move the blind nuts and x-mount. Besides I'm still waiting on my batteries to arrive.

Brian

On another topic. What settings do I need to change on the Castle ICE 100 for the Hacker A50-14L with a Castle BEC Pro?

Thanks

BW
No settings to change using a BEC, but you must pull the red wire out of the plug from the ESC to the receiver. If you don't know how to do that, just carefully lift up on the plastic tab that holds the brass contact in the plug, and gently pull it out. Fold it back and put some tape over it, or as I do, I pull all of them, fold the wire back and put some heat shrink over it, and then put the other wires back.

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 06:48 PM
Artillery! King of Battle!
Brill 1's Avatar
USA, KS, Scammon
Joined Mar 2002
4,431 Posts
Thanks!
Brill 1 is offline Find More Posts by Brill 1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 06:57 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
24,887 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by belrix View Post
Thanks!
No problema....

One note is that a lot of people will pull the wire out on a servo extension, rather than the actuall ESC plug, as that way you are still able to program your ESC with-out having to re-insert the wire.

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 07:25 PM
Just "hanging" Around
3D-Dabbler's Avatar
Richmond, VA
Joined Oct 2009
1,589 Posts
I use the servo extension technique as my sacrificial connector.
3D-Dabbler is offline Find More Posts by 3D-Dabbler
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 08:08 PM
Artillery! King of Battle!
Brill 1's Avatar
USA, KS, Scammon
Joined Mar 2002
4,431 Posts
Yup, the servo extension was a great idea. I have the Castle BEC Pro programmed to 6.0 volts. Should I change from auto-calibrate throttle to fixed endpoint? Also should I change the cutoff from hard to soft and volt from 3.0 to something lower?

Thanks
Brill 1 is offline Find More Posts by Brill 1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 08:12 PM
Fly Low-Crash-Rebuild-Repeat !
RotorJockey's Avatar
Jackson, MO
Joined May 2009
3,184 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by belrix View Post
Yup, the servo extension was a great idea. I have the Castle BEC Pro programmed to 6.0 volts. Should I change from auto-calibrate throttle to fixed endpoint? Also should I change the cutoff from hard to soft and volt from 3.0 to something lower?

Thanks
Soft cutoff and instead of auto-lipo at 3.0 volts per cell, I set mine at the lowest allowable voltage. (which I believe is 4 volts)

I do that because I'd rather ruin a battery than lose my plane to an LVC.

Fred
RotorJockey is online now Find More Posts by RotorJockey
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM