SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 24, 2013, 03:58 PM
Registered User
edf_rookie's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Mar 2011
329 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
1mm is a bit tight, but you can add a thin washer behind each spacer. 1mm is a bit close, at .0393", I like about 1/16" (.0625")to 3/32" (.09375") in case of any flexing of the motor shaft/motor/firewall to keep the spinner from rubbing.

SteveT.
Thanks SteveT.

That's what I was worried about in case of the flexing. I run my smaller planes with a bigger gap than this one so it would make sense. Looks like I will need to go find some washers and longer bolts. The stock ones barely make it through to the end of the blind nuts with the motrofly and spacers.
edf_rookie is offline Find More Posts by edf_rookie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2013, 05:16 PM
Registered User
mdauth's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2010
130 Posts
I'm using 1/4" washer 1.93mm thick, my spacing between the cowl and back plate of the spinner is 2.2mm. With my bat. placed against the wing tube my CG is at 160 from the leading edge, will test in flight to see if I can set my plane neutral with out adding weight. Also the skies are much heavier then the wheels so it will help wen I switch my gear. Here is a pic of where I put my ESC and BEC Pro.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edf_rookie View Post
Thank you for sharing the photo. I am currently half way through building mine at the moment and am leaving the rudder till last to see whether I need to go push-pull or remain at pull-pull with the 5320 300kv and 2x4S 4000mah batteries.

What are you using between the wooden spacers and the firewall. I have currently set it up with just the wooden spacers but I only have around a 1mm gap between the spinner and cowl which I am not too comfortable with - unless told otherwise that it will be ok.

Thanks
mdauth is offline Find More Posts by mdauth
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:45 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,453 Posts
castle ice 100 directly under the batteries make we worried
3drcparts is offline Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:02 PM
Registered User
mdauth's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2010
130 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverted-I-Fly View Post
castle ice 100 directly under the batteries make we worried
The ESC is about about 1"1/2 in front of the batteries, I could push it on one side.
mdauth is offline Find More Posts by mdauth
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 08:02 PM
Registered User
mdauth's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2010
130 Posts
Ok, I past it on the side, after you brought it to my attention I think its better on the side, wasn't gaining that much anyways not worth taking a chance. Thanks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverted-I-Fly View Post
castle ice 100 directly under the batteries make we worried
mdauth is offline Find More Posts by mdauth
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 08:21 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,453 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdauth View Post
Ok, I past it on the side, after you brought it to my attention I think its better on the side, wasn't gaining that much anyways not worth taking a chance. Thanks.
I feel much better after what happened to my ice100
3drcparts is offline Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 09:26 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
28,049 Posts
Personally, I think better on the side or bottom of the motor box, for better cooling, and in the case there is a problem, less damage to the plane....but hey...that's just me....

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 10:41 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2006
51 Posts
After burning up a couple of escs I put the telemetry temp probe around mine instead of around the batts. Telemetry is da bomb. Now if i could figure out how to make my dx18 a little less excited during an alarm. Wow its loud... even w just the vibe.
Maxmannnn is offline Find More Posts by Maxmannnn
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 08:46 AM
Registered User
jsmith285's Avatar
Fort Wayne
Joined Feb 2009
4,731 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxmannnn View Post
After burning up a couple of escs I put the telemetry temp probe around mine instead of around the batts. Telemetry is da bomb. Now if i could figure out how to make my dx18 a little less excited during an alarm. Wow its loud... even w just the vibe.
Telemetry would be neat. Heat sensors on engines work well.

Just keep in mind usually when a ESC goes, it usually goes from normal temps to off the charts in less than a second.
jsmith285 is offline Find More Posts by jsmith285
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 01:15 PM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,853 Posts
Orange Wings

Anyone interested in two new wings with wing bags and wing tube?

The Fuse was crushed by something.......

But the wings were safe in their bags.

It was a brand new Slick, only had about 10 flights.

The wings are flawless and horns were installed cleanly with precision.

I have pics, the ad will be up this evening, just thought I would give you guys a heads up.

$115 shipped
johnnyrocco123 is offline Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 01:50 PM
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
USA, UT, St George
Joined Aug 2010
8,200 Posts
that really sux johnnyrocco123. I have to ask what crushed it though...
3DNater is offline Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:00 PM
ex-noob
Lardog's Avatar
Sammamish, WA, USA
Joined Jan 2010
2,426 Posts
Gravity
Lardog is offline Find More Posts by Lardog
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:09 PM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,221 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrocco123 View Post
Anyone interested in two new wings with wing bags and wing tube?

The Fuse was crushed by something.......

But the wings were safe in their bags.

It was a brand new Slick, only had about 10 flights.

The wings are flawless and horns were installed cleanly with precision.

I have pics, the ad will be up this evening, just thought I would give you guys a heads up.

$115 shipped

Bummer, can we guess. But I didn't think you keep these much past 8-9 flights.

I had a deer fall on a plane once and crush, was loading it in the truck and the head flopped. Yep, would fly after the morning hunt.
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:30 PM
Registered User
Dennis C's Avatar
Grass Valley California
Joined Jun 2004
2,469 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Yes, being able to combine the batteries is definitely a good thing. Have you bought the Slick yet? If not...try the 74" Edge or 72" Extra....the A60-5S combo is killer is them. I just flew my 72" yesterday for the first time with the A60-5S in it, and it is very good in my opinion....

That said....If you don't mind a little bit of weight in the tail, you could probably put a one ounce or 1.5 ounce strip between the landing gear and the fuselage, and balance the 71".....and quite truthfully, unless you like really "light and floaty" you'll never notice it with this plane. I used a Hacker A60-5XS in my 70" Velox, and had to do that...and the plane still flies with a tremendous amount of power.

SteveT.
I have the 72 Extra, actually did the RC Groups review for Ben on it when it first came out. I love it and not sure why I want anything else. It is so preise and long slow rolls are easy peasy. incredible pop tops.

I do like a little more enegery in some of the manovers so a little extra weight is OK. friends have the 71 + DLE 30 much heavier and still great to fly.

Just a change I guess

Dennis
Dennis C is online now Find More Posts by Dennis C
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:32 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
28,049 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrocco123 View Post
Anyone interested in two new wings with wing bags and wing tube?

The Fuse was crushed by something.......

But the wings were safe in their bags.

It was a brand new Slick, only had about 10 flights.

The wings are flawless and horns were installed cleanly with precision.

I have pics, the ad will be up this evening, just thought I would give you guys a heads up.

$115 shipped
If it is an orange or red electric, 3DHS has the fuselages in stock on their website.... orange......red....

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 07:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 08:31 AM