Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 30, 2012, 12:50 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Wichita Falls
Joined Nov 2011
70 Posts
Electric... I'm a little worried about the setup though.. I've already got the motor, esc, and batts for a 6s setup but I think it might be a bit on the heavy side?

This is what I've got:

AXI 5320/18 380kv (at 494g.)
CC ICE 100
CC Bec PRO
Gens Ace 30c 6s 5300 (750g.)
Xoar 20x8

and I'd like to run the HS-7985s in it. I've been cross checking the EF 70" Extra 300 forum and this motor/esc/prop setup is supposed to give solid power for THAT airframe, but 6s setups are supposed to be light and I'm not sure if I've defeated the purpose with this?? I'd love to use the stuff I've already got if I can...
ellzy_21 is offline Find More Posts by ellzy_21
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 30, 2012, 01:10 AM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,556 Posts
Looks like the setup will work only thing I would change is the prop adapter... Do they have a option for a bolt on adapter? Should produce plenty of power and AXI makes a good quality motor. Plane does awesome with the heavier setup. I've 3Ded 1070g of battery with my motor that weighs about what yours does... Not ideal but it did fine.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 01:42 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Wichita Falls
Joined Nov 2011
70 Posts
That's reassuring, thanks. Someone mentioned getting this for the AXI...

http://www.hobby-lobby.com/propadap....ueryId=4102957

Is that what you're talking about? Should take it down from a 12mm to 8mm shaft
ellzy_21 is offline Find More Posts by ellzy_21
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 02:17 AM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,385 Posts
I mentioned that.... I think Bryan was thinking the motor uses a collet type prop adapter, (which it can), but not used in this instance....

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 03:06 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellzy_21 View Post
Electric... I'm a little worried about the setup though.. I've already got the motor, esc, and batts for a 6s setup but I think it might be a bit on the heavy side?

This is what I've got:

AXI 5320/18 380kv (at 494g.)
CC ICE 100
CC Bec PRO
Gens Ace 30c 6s 5300 (750g.)
Xoar 20x8

and I'd like to run the HS-7985s in it. I've been cross checking the EF 70" Extra 300 forum and this motor/esc/prop setup is supposed to give solid power for THAT airframe, but 6s setups are supposed to be light and I'm not sure if I've defeated the purpose with this?? I'd love to use the stuff I've already got if I can...
Looks like the perfect 6 cell setup if you ask me.
cookci is offline Find More Posts by cookci
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 03:34 AM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,556 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
I mentioned that.... I think Bryan was thinking the motor uses a collet type prop adapter, (which it can), but not used in this instance....

SteveT
The picture that in saw of the motor showed the collet style, not the bolt on prop adapter.

Ellzy... That is what I was talking about. Does the motor come with a X mount or do you need to buy that separately too.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 11:29 AM
FlyGuy
ldhflyguy's Avatar
Batavia, IL, USA
Joined Oct 2007
322 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellzy_21 View Post
I'd love to use the stuff I've already got if I can...
I suggest you go ahead and use what you've got, especially if it's already used and not returnable. If you don't like the setup, after maybe trying a different prop or two, upgrading to a different motor should be easy. I have the same setup as you have listed, except I have the Hacker A60 and had the A50 12L and thought those were both fine for my flying style, although the A60 with an APC 20x13 is a bit faster.
ldhflyguy is offline Find More Posts by ldhflyguy
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 07:20 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,385 Posts
In talking on the phone to one of our more aggressive fliers (who shall go un-named), he mentioned that he has torn the sides out of his 71" Slick a few times, due to where the wing bolt goes through not being very strong. So in an effort to possibly prevent this from happening on my plane, I made up some braces to brace this area....here is what I did....
The length is 4.5" the width 1.75. There is a piece of 1/32" ply to make up for the difference in thickness at the top, which is 1/4" from top to bottom. The hole .3125" and is 1.6875" down from the top, and centered on the width.

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 07:34 PM
RCTC
USA, MI, Traverse City
Joined Feb 2005
49 Posts
That looks like great setup. I flew that Axi in a 3dhs 72" extra on a 6 cell TP 5000 pack.
Plenty of vertical. I flew that combo for 2 months until a friend talked me out of the plane for his DLE 30 gas motor. You wil be very happy with the Axi 5320-18 in the slick.
rctc is offline Find More Posts by rctc
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 07:40 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,433 Posts
Wow Steve that's awesome!!!!! l am going to copy that if you don't mind. We have 3 71 slicks at our field right now that could use that.
losifanatic is online now Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 08:15 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,556 Posts
Have you had issues with that area to losi?
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 08:47 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,433 Posts
I know of 5 71 slicks that have had issues with that including mine. So l am very very happy to see that.
losifanatic is online now Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 08:58 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,556 Posts
I guess I better do the same... not that I fly hard enough to bust it but better to be safe then sorry.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 09:05 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
3,008 Posts
Steve, you selling those? Might need some.
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 09:15 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,385 Posts
In retrospect, I wish I had done them a bit different, and may redo them,(just because I'm a bit picky about some things), but they will certainly work like that...

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM