HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:28 AM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Park_aviator View Post
What should give more power? The A60-6XS, or a motrolfly motor? Planning 6s 5000mah.
ummm,these motors can be propped,powered,and kv'd to put out the same watts/ grunt.
Motrolfly is generally (read all the time) more efficient.Will give you the same power with less heat. Hackers are good motors and hold up well too. For me,I will always run a motrolfly as long as Ken will let me.
Manta1 is offline Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:28 AM
Barefoot Birkinsomething
rcbirk21's Avatar
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Aug 2004
9,468 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyC View Post
What is so magical about 842 degrees?
....pretty much arbitrary. haha gotta love science!
rcbirk21 is offline Find More Posts by rcbirk21
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Joe's Battery Contraption
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:42 AM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,463 Posts
Ok the 300kv 5320 out powers the 4330 310kv. The 5320 300kv pulls 3000watts and pushes the 19x8 cf 110gram prop 7850rpms. The 4330 310kv pulls 2740watts and pushes the same prop to 7540rpms. So ken tested the 4430 and said it was 310.58 kv.

So is both of my 5320s l had a higher kv than the 300?

Yeah the 4330 is going to have to have a 20x8 prop to have the same power as the 5320. I asked for higher kv than the 5320 as a were looking for more power???
losifanatic is online now Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:55 AM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,686 Posts
With those numbers it appears like your wind of the 5320 is around 330kv.
bryansifsof44 is offline Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:57 AM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,463 Posts
That's what lm thinking too
losifanatic is online now Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:02 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,686 Posts
When you do the math and convert my 12s setup to 8s it amounts 324kv... Which numbers wise is about what your getting with the 5320. However my rpm reading are higher.
bryansifsof44 is offline Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:06 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,463 Posts
My tach is a little off. It was a cheapy one. I tached a dle35 and got 7760 while his on board tack that came with the motor said 8050
losifanatic is online now Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:09 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,463 Posts
It is consistent though. So reading numbers all with the same tach it works. I need to get a better more accurate one
losifanatic is online now Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:19 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,686 Posts
That makes sense...

Well if you go with the 20x8 here's what performance gains you may get:
APC 20x8E
Weight 112g
Peak: 8167 RPM, 3123 watts, 69.8 amps, 44.8 volts
Settled in: 7990 RPM, 2749 amps, 63.1 amps 43.6 volts

Xoar 19x8 PJN
Weight 54g
Peak: 8330 RPM, 2855 watts, 63.8 amps, 44.8 volts
Settled in: 8124 RPM, 2518 watts, 57.8 amps, 43.5 volts

Xoar 20x8 PJN
Weight 61g
Peak: 8102 RPM, 3180 watts, 71.3 amps, 44.6 volts
Settled in: 7947 RPM, 2863 amps, 65.5 amps, 43.7 volts

Looks like close to 325-350 watts more, should will make it slightly more powerful then the 5320 on the 19x8.
bryansifsof44 is offline Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:21 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,686 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by losifanatic View Post
It is consistent though. So reading numbers all with the same tach it works. I need to get a better more accurate one
Ya thats the main thing when comparing your own systems
bryansifsof44 is offline Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 02:34 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,169 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Park_aviator View Post
What should give more power? The A60-6XS, or a motrolfly motor? Planning 6s 5000mah.
I have only flown the A60-6XS, but I really like it....

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 03:06 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,686 Posts
Steve
I know you said you can't compare numbers... Do you have any rpm readings.
bryansifsof44 is offline Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 03:10 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,169 Posts
I'm sorry, I don't. The system that is in my 71" Slick is the same system that I took out of my 70" Slick when I sold it, and that was set up when the A60-6XS motors became available (I got the first one that went out to a customer), and that was a while back, and I didn't have a tach then...

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 03:59 PM
FlyGuy
ldhflyguy's Avatar
Batavia, IL, USA
Joined Oct 2007
338 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
I'm sorry, I don't. The system that is in my 71" Slick is the same system that I took out of my 70" Slick when I sold it, and that was set up when the A60-6XS motors became available (I got the first one that went out to a customer), and that was a while back, and I didn't have a tach then...

SteveT
Pilots with the A60-6S:
I've just had three test flights on my 71 Slick with an APC 20x13E on my A60-6S on GensAce 60C 6S 2300s On the ground the current is 100 amps at full throttle. I like the hover pullout performance much better than that of an Xoar 21x10 or a Xoar 20x10. I also like the lower price and durability of the APC.
The motor temp was fine, although the outside temp was 40 deg.
ldhflyguy is offline Find More Posts by ldhflyguy
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 04:15 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,169 Posts
I assume you mean the A60-6XS, as, to the best of my knowledge Hacker doesn't make an A60-6S, That said, I was told by Mike Donovan at Aero-Model that the A60-6XS would swing up to a 22" prop, (but I would think that a 22" prop on a 71" Slick might be a bit too much torque) so a 20X13 should be no problem at all.

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM