New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:59 PM
bryansifsof44 is offline
Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
5,491 Posts
Quote:
On what motor?
On a Motrolfly 4330 wound to 216kv running 12s
bryansifsof44 is offline Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:56 PM
hertzrepkeith is offline
Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,157 Posts
A bad day that could have been worse!

This was a BAD DAY that could have been WORSE! I was in the air flying and about 30 Sec after I did a Knife Edge Spin and my Elevator Spar broke away from the right side of my elevator and caused my plane to go into the ground and full speed! I can not believe how tough these planes really are. How many of you have had this happen???
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 11:36 PM
3DNater is online now
Find More Posts by 3DNater
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Aug 2010
8,755 Posts
That is so freaking lucky! I can't believe you mostly dodged damage with a crash like that.

I had a landing with my 70" slick where I ran it out of gas and had to ditch it in the wash next to the runway. All the damage it took was a little crack in the LG. I filled it up and flew some more. Amazing! Yours sounds much more severe than mine was but I agree... these planes are tough!
3DNater is online now Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:04 AM
hertzrepkeith is offline
Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,157 Posts
Yeah My plane hit the ground at close to full throttle because I was unaware what was going on so when it did its loop of shame I layed into throttle. It actually hit in the field that had just been ripped from having Corn in it some I am sure that it helped absorbe some of the impact.
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 05:45 AM
losifanatic is offline
Find More Posts by losifanatic
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,487 Posts
You know you could take the extra weights out of your plane if you put the rudder servo in the tail. There is a spot for it back there. Glad to see there wasn't much damage. You got lucky
losifanatic is offline Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:58 AM
cmala is offline
Find More Posts by cmala
customstandoffs
cmala's Avatar
USA, AL, Madison
Joined Dec 2007
8,549 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hone1er View Post
Ahaha are you free this weekend? That would make the next plane choice a thousand times easier
not necessarily.....
cmala is offline Find More Posts by cmala
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:03 AM
cmala is offline
Find More Posts by cmala
customstandoffs
cmala's Avatar
USA, AL, Madison
Joined Dec 2007
8,549 Posts
brathanke, stick 2 ounces of lead in the tail and see how it flies. Much easier and cheaper than adding the servo first. Just tape it on with some scotch tape.
cmala is offline Find More Posts by cmala
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:10 AM
3DNater is online now
Find More Posts by 3DNater
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Aug 2010
8,755 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmala View Post
brathanke, stick 2 ounces of lead in the tail and see how it flies. Much easier and cheaper than adding the servo first. Just tape it on with some scotch tape.
Hey, It's pretty weird but 2 oz of lead will cost me more than a servo right now since the servo is on-hand and the lead isn't I was thinking I'd use a bit of packing tape and stick the servo on right where it would go.

Four Golden Words: Your Order Has Shipped
3DNater is online now Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:23 AM
cmala is offline
Find More Posts by cmala
customstandoffs
cmala's Avatar
USA, AL, Madison
Joined Dec 2007
8,549 Posts
well, in that case....

what are you waiting on?
cmala is offline Find More Posts by cmala
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:34 AM
3DNater is online now
Find More Posts by 3DNater
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Aug 2010
8,755 Posts
A new canopy and for the semester to end
3DNater is online now Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 03:47 PM
robj is offline
Find More Posts by robj
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brathanke View Post
Hey, It's pretty weird but 2 oz of lead will cost me more than a servo right now since the servo is on-hand and the lead isn't I was thinking I'd use a bit of packing tape and stick the servo on right where it would go.

Four Golden Words: Your Order Has Shipped
nuts, bolts, anything for weight. if the servo falls off in air, then it becomes expensive!
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 04:44 PM
rimaarts is offline
Find More Posts by rimaarts
Registered User
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jul 2011
2,243 Posts
since august my slick is just standing... im reaaaaallly thinking of electrifying it... but im wondering, what must i do to store my os gt33? (waiting for aeroworks 30cc ultimate or me getting a car! )

and will motorbox extension from edge/velox would fit on slick or better to go with looooong standoffs?
rimaarts is offline Find More Posts by rimaarts
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 04:51 PM
SteveT. is offline
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
30,175 Posts
Edge might...Velox will not, completely different...

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 05:18 PM
rimaarts is offline
Find More Posts by rimaarts
Registered User
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jul 2011
2,243 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Edge might...Velox will not, completely different...

SteveT
thanks!
rimaarts is offline Find More Posts by rimaarts
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 05:48 PM
Reaper802 is offline
Find More Posts by Reaper802
Registered User
Reaper802's Avatar
United States, MD, Lexington Park
Joined Jun 2002
442 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by losifanatic View Post
Sad thing is that motor is very inefficient at that power level. My motrolfly 4325 at 2500watts produced just as much power but didn't get as hot. Now the motrolfly 5320 pulls 2960watts but produces a ton more power than either of the other two and has no heat issues. I get 6.25 minute flight times on gen ace 4k lipos
I guess I should have held off on my 4325 for that new 5230. So far I've had no temp problems with my 4325 but then again it's been cold. I guess I will know come June.
Reaper802 is offline Find More Posts by Reaper802
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM