HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 22, 2012, 08:19 PM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,125 Posts
Here is what my cowl cutout looks like

My fuel line to my clunk is not hard and does this look like enough room for air??
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 22, 2012, 08:19 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
what about your carb to firewall spacing? is that really close?
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 08:25 PM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,125 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
what about your carb to firewall spacing? is that really close?
I have a cutt out in the fire wall to help the carb breath. I can take a pic in a min and post it if that would help to figure out my issue.
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 08:33 PM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,125 Posts
Here is the carb cut out
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 08:57 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
Try this thread and see if they have anything to help

http://www.flyinggiants.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=68399
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 12:04 AM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,187 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hertzrepkeith View Post
LoL! Steve I would have to agree with you! Has anyone had problems with these tank having this problem? Or is it just me?
I have not had any personal experience with the Fortitude tanks, but as you probably know, I cruise/peruse most of the 3DHS forums, and yes, I have seen a few other people discussing problems with those tanks, but, no, unfortunately, I do not know what the cure was.

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 01:06 AM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,125 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
Try this thread and see if they have anything to help

http://www.flyinggiants.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=68399
Thanks for sharing this info with me. I read through the whole thing. The only thing that is confusing me is that it is not when I go Inverted that it is dieing. It is right when I go to flip the plane back over is when it dies instantly!
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 07:49 AM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
you may think about rebuilding the carb
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 10:51 AM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,125 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
you may think about rebuilding the carb
Even if the carb only has 4-5 Gallons of fuel through it? The only thing that blows me away with all of this is that when I took this fuel tank out and put another new one in it does not die.
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 11:08 AM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
Honestly carbs can cause lots of issues. I just cant imagine how a tank could cause issues and then go away then only to come back and it still be the tank. DLE's are known to have issues and the carb seems to be a huge cause factor.

If it were my motor I would get a rebuild kit and a bowman reed and go through the carb. Other than that I'm out of bullets on this issue.
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 11:23 AM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,125 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
Honestly carbs can cause lots of issues. I just cant imagine how a tank could cause issues and then go away then only to come back and it still be the tank. DLE's are known to have issues and the carb seems to be a huge cause factor.

If it were my motor I would get a rebuild kit and a bowman reed and go through the carb. Other than that I'm out of bullets on this issue.
Well I have been out of bullets for awhile So I think I will take your advice and do it! Thanks for your help. Does anyone know where I can get this kit to do this??
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 12:16 PM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,170 Posts
I'm actually inclined to wonder if there is a piece of trash clogging a jet and when flipping inverted and back it moves it just right into the kill zone of said jet.. theres a screen in there that gets clogged sometimes too. You may be cooking with gas by taking the carb apart for a look see. take it apart slow and look for bits of garb to fall out.
Manta1 is online now Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 12:17 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
If there is a number on the carb I think you could get one at a lawnmower store.
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 04:36 PM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,262 Posts
Do motor have to be broken in before the really let loose or something? I feel like my 5330-300 is really starting to crank up now. That thing was absolutely ripping across the sky today - it just felt like it was way faster than my first few flights.
turnerm is online now Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 07:14 PM
Registered User
jsmith285's Avatar
Fort Wayne
Joined Feb 2009
4,729 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnerm View Post
Do motor have to be broken in before the really let loose or something? I feel like my 5330-300 is really starting to crank up now. That thing was absolutely ripping across the sky today - it just felt like it was way faster than my first few flights.
Air Temp?
jsmith285 is online now Find More Posts by jsmith285
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM