HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 08, 2012, 01:51 PM
Santi
DaaBears's Avatar
United States, TN, Nashville
Joined Nov 2003
1,597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverted-I-Fly View Post
I was going to go 6s because I already have 10 2500 gens ace 6s I could double up to make 5000mah packs, but now I'm wondering if I should go 12s
The only reason I love the 6s setup I have now is I get the big 20" disk and still have good forward speed with the 10 pitch... I'm not sure what prop the 12s would need to spin to make it comparable. You would think someone would have done it by now of it was a sought after option.
DaaBears is offline Find More Posts by DaaBears
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:05 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansifsof44 View Post
Finally pulled the trigger on this bad boy... My LHS placed a order on bunch of pre ordered 3dhs planes and I was able to get one of the extra slicks they ordered for less then 1/2 the normal shipping cost to Alaska. Anyways... I am ordering a power system right now and servos will be a week or two down the road. Have a Ice2 80hv... have a email out to Ken to see what he recommends for a 12s kv on the 4330. He recommended a 200kv on the 4325 for my cooler Alaskan climate before. So as soon as I get the word I will be placing order. Any of you try the 4330 yet? and if so what do you think? I will be using 2 - 6s 2600-3000mAh batteries I run in my helis. For the servos I am leaning towards the HV Hitecs... but I would like to sacrifice a little torque for speed that the HS-7954sh have to offer. 403oz/in way more then enough. On the other hand the alternative is $133 a pop (HS-7945TH) I will most likely will go with the 7954 since I could get 4 for about $300.
HS-7955TG servos will be "more than enough" for this plane and are much less expensive than the HS-7945TH at $89.00 each at Chief Aircraft....

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:10 PM
Team Twisted!
hone1er's Avatar
United States, CA, Hercules
Joined Dec 2011
4,165 Posts
Wow all the hitecs have a lot of torque. Are the savox 1258TGs enough? I swear that i've heard they were a great servo for this size plane?
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ium-Gear-Servo
hone1er is online now Find More Posts by hone1er
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:15 PM
Santi
DaaBears's Avatar
United States, TN, Nashville
Joined Nov 2003
1,597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hone1er View Post
Wow all the hitecs have a lot of torque. Are the savox 1258TGs enough? I swear that i've heard they were a great servo for this size plane?
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ium-Gear-Servo
I think I have these in my ailerons, if I do, they are awesome! I'll check when I get home...
DaaBears is offline Find More Posts by DaaBears
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:19 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hone1er View Post
Wow all the hitecs have a lot of torque. Are the savox 1258TGs enough? I swear that i've heard they were a great servo for this size plane?
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ium-Gear-Servo
Yes, they are fine!! Especially on six volt (don't go any higher as they are no HV servos)

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:19 PM
doh!
ryan_m's Avatar
United States, AR, Little Rock
Joined May 2006
4,135 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hone1er View Post
Wow all the hitecs have a lot of torque. Are the savox 1258TGs enough? I swear that i've heard they were a great servo for this size plane?
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ium-Gear-Servo
I have them all around in my 71" Slick and 70" Velox. They are plenty. Wickedly fast as well.
ryan_m is offline Find More Posts by ryan_m
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:23 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hone1er View Post
Wow all the hitecs have a lot of torque. Are the savox 1258TGs enough? I swear that i've heard they were a great servo for this size plane?
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ium-Gear-Servo
I believe the align ds610 is the same servo as the savox (correct me if I'm wrong) and this is the best price I could find on those, $225 for 4 shipped
http://www.ebay.com/itm/330697507861...84.m1438.l2649
3drcparts is online now Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:29 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,276 Posts
I have another question about HV servos and powering them, if you use a separate 7.4v rx pack directly with out bec, won't your servos be faster when the pack is newly charged and gradually become slower?
3drcparts is online now Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:36 PM
doh!
ryan_m's Avatar
United States, AR, Little Rock
Joined May 2006
4,135 Posts
Yes, and this is the reason that Joe and some others use a 3s lipo regulated down. The voltage remains constant always then.
Personally I'm not good enough to tell that difference
ryan_m is offline Find More Posts by ryan_m
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:43 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverted-I-Fly View Post
I have another question about HV servos and powering them, if you use a separate 7.4v rx pack directly with out bec, won't your servos be faster when the pack is newly charged and gradually become slower?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan_m View Post
Yes, and this is the reason that Joe and some others use a 3s lipo regulated down. The voltage remains constant always then.
Personally I'm not good enough to tell that difference
Me neither.... I am using two 2S 2700mAH Thunder Power packs in my 89" Slick... I have three sets of flight packs for the plane, and from the first flight to the third flight, I sure as heck can not see any difference, but as noted, I'm not good enough to notice either!!

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by SteveT.; Nov 08, 2012 at 03:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:49 PM
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
USA, UT, St George
Joined Aug 2010
7,858 Posts
My servos are around 200 oz/in and it is plenty for the 70" slick. I don't think I am getting any blowback.
3DNater is online now Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:54 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,432 Posts
2700= recommend max watts for the 4330 according to motrolfly's website. But I am used to ballistic power... Have a 48" on 4s DM2820 750kv spinning a 14x7, a 60" on 6s DM4315 480kv spinning a 16x8. So this should fall right in line.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 02:57 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,432 Posts
Oh I'm gonna try the 19x10 which is recommended on the 400kv 6s and 20x8 also... Check numbers and see what I like.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 03:00 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,276 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan_m View Post
Yes, and this is the reason that Joe and some others use a 3s lipo regulated down. The voltage remains constant always then.
Personally I'm not good enough to tell that difference
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Me neither.... I am using two 2S 2700mAH Thunder Power packs in my 89" Slick... I have three sets of packs for the plane, and from the first flight to the third flight, I sure as heck can not see any difference, but as noted, I'm not good enough to notice either!!

SteveT
Thanks guys, that is what I thought.

Steve, do you run two 2s 2700mah for the size or for redundancy
3drcparts is online now Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 03:10 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverted-I-Fly View Post
Thanks guys, that is what I thought.

Steve, do you run two 2s 2700mah for the size or for redundancy
Redundancy, as I am using a "Power-safe" receiver... but it still uses both packs, unless there is a problem, at which time it switches out the bad one and to the good one.

And I forgot to say, the three packs I mentioned were the flight packs....I only have one set of receiver packs....

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM