Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 23, 2012, 04:17 PM
customstandoffs
cmala's Avatar
USA, AL, Madison
Joined Dec 2007
8,547 Posts
Or....firewall is setback farther I should say
cmala is offline Find More Posts by cmala
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 23, 2012, 04:18 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,371 Posts
And there is that too....

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 04:23 PM
Registered User
United States, KS, Arkansas City
Joined Oct 2012
112 Posts
dang..... Thanks for the speedy response !!! ok.. so i don't think i want to convert a new electric to gas then...... that means i wait for another shipment to come in.... atleast the cold weather will be here soon and it will be easier to wait. Thanks guys !!
johnfly1234 is offline Find More Posts by johnfly1234
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 04:26 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,371 Posts
No problem.....but just as a matter of mentioning.....on my 71" Slick, my batteries ended up a ways back, and in point of fact I had to put my rudder servo in the tail. So...it is not that hard to convert a 71" gasser to electric. Just need some longer stand-offs, which either Cmala or I can make for you....

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 05:34 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,317 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
No problem.....but just as a matter of mentioning.....on my 71" Slick, my batteries ended up a ways back, and in point of fact I had to put my rudder servo in the tail. So...it is not that hard to convert a 71" gasser to electric. Just need some longer stand-offs, which either Cmala or I can make for you....

SteveT
I think he was thinking the other way around, converting an electric to gas

Steve, why do you suppose you need to move your batteries so far back and have the rudder servo in the tail, are you running a lighter than usual motor?
3drcparts is online now Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 05:38 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
United States, NC, Hertford
Joined Oct 2007
16,433 Posts
Batteries are far back because he is running a heavier than normal motor
losifanatic is offline Find More Posts by losifanatic
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 05:41 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverted-I-Fly View Post
I think he was thinking the other way around, converting an electric to gas

Steve, why do you suppose you need to move your batteries so far back and have the rudder servo in the tail, are you running a lighter than usual motor?
D'oh!!! That's what I get for answering question when am tired!!

I don't know why, as to the motor, no, A60-6XS, ICE100 and BEC Pro mounted on the motor box, Thunder Power 6S 65C 5000 packs....(and just as a matter of mentioning, a lighter motor would mean you would need more weight up front, rather than in the back)....

That said.... I ran the exact same power system in my 70" Slick (I took it out of the 70" when I sold it), and it balanced fine with the batteries in the same position, but with pull/pull rudder...

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 05:45 PM
3d Master in Training
United States, PA, Tunkhannock
Joined Dec 2011
712 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan_m View Post
This one?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...or_Lipoly.html

input voltage is only 12.6v (3s) if so. Are you running on the flight battery or a secondary servo only battery?
What servos?
This is the correct one. I was planning on running a 3s 2200mah pack for the electronics. Servos are http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9441
garrettt04s is offline Find More Posts by garrettt04s
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 05:55 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,317 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
and just as a matter of mentioning, a lighter motor would mean you would need more weight up front, rather than in the back)....
That is what I meant to say, heavier motor than usual

so for those that are running the motrolfly 4325-380, 5000mah 6s, align ds610 servos (set up I'm leaning towards) where are you mounting the rudder servo and where on the tray are your batteries?
3drcparts is online now Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 06:52 PM
The Twisted Elf
lugnutz's Avatar
USA, NJ, Trenton
Joined Nov 2010
453 Posts
rudder servo is pull/pull,and batteries are about 2" infront of wing tube
lugnutz is offline Find More Posts by lugnutz
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 09:38 PM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,137 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverted-I-Fly View Post
I think he was thinking the other way around, converting an electric to gas

Steve, why do you suppose you need to move your batteries so far back and have the rudder servo in the tail, are you running a lighter than usual motor?
It doesn't seem likea good idea to convert an electric to gas. Seems that whole MB thing isn't as strong.
robj is online now Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:04 PM
Registered User
United States, KS, Arkansas City
Joined Oct 2012
112 Posts
Ya i was thinking of converting an elect. to gas..... motor box wouldn't be a problem. but if the cowl and other things are different then .... i can wait for the next shippment. I was just hunting some options. How does the extra 72" gas compare to the slick ?? as floaty? any bad habits?
johnfly1234 is offline Find More Posts by johnfly1234
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:07 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,925 Posts
The motor box on an electric with a gas motor would not last long for sure.

What about a velox?
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:12 AM
Registered User
Husafreak's Avatar
United States, CA, Livermore
Joined Oct 2004
744 Posts
You'll have no problem with the CG on the 6s /Motrofly 4325-380 setup as long as you mount the rudder servo in the forward tray. Also on mine the ESC is on the motor box in the cowling. Ken fixed my motor for a very reasonable price and it is headed my way, can't wait to fly my Slick again! I may even pick up a Real Flight 6 so i can sim it. I just have 5.5 now. The Motrofly was pulling 88A on 6s for me. Not insane power but very similar to a big IMAC gasser.
Husafreak is offline Find More Posts by Husafreak
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 04:45 AM
customstandoffs
cmala's Avatar
USA, AL, Madison
Joined Dec 2007
8,547 Posts
Gas to electric isn't a problem. I have made standoffs for a few people that did that. The standoffs are longer than normal.

Electric to gas, I assume you would have to move the firewall back but I'm not sure.
cmala is offline Find More Posts by cmala
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM