HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 20, 2012, 12:45 AM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,717 Posts
Chief might not, but Hitec will take care of it for you. The amplifier that is in the bottom of the servo probably burnt out...

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 20, 2012, 12:57 AM
AKA Boomhauer
Lomchevac's Avatar
Arkansas
Joined May 2008
291 Posts
I would definitely check that the servo is not binding. Or trying to pull further than choke will allow.
Lomchevac is offline Find More Posts by Lomchevac
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 07:50 AM
Wingman II
diggity2424's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Sep 2011
1,254 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hertzrepkeith View Post
So today i went to the field and fired my 71 up to learn that my choke servo was not working. I am running HT 7955 for all my control surfaces and ht 5665 HV on my throttle and choke. When I got home I pulled it out and opened the bottom up and it smelt burnt. I bought them from Chief air craft a month ago. Will they swap this out for me?? I sent them a email but have not heard back yet. What could have caused this to do this??
Go to Hitec's website. Follow the instructions for repair service. Its very simple and easy. They usually come back within 7-10 working days no questions asked.
diggity2424 is online now Find More Posts by diggity2424
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 09:45 AM
Registered User
Capt. Roll's Avatar
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Dec 2010
525 Posts
Motorbox Repair

For those of you that have done a motor box repair to the 71" Slick (electric) using a new MB kit, I have a couple of cut pieces of balsa that I'm not sure where they are supposed to go.

The pic show where the piece seems to be the best fit; the matching piece is laying on the board below the motor box.
Capt. Roll is offline Find More Posts by Capt. Roll
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 10:41 AM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,929 Posts
I don't know the answer but would like to suggest you go to this thread and pose the question.

Build and repair


Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Roll View Post
For those of you that have done a motor box repair to the 71" Slick (electric) using a new MB kit, I have a couple of cut pieces of balsa that I'm not sure where they are supposed to go.

The pic show where the piece seems to be the best fit; the matching piece is laying on the board below the motor box.
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 01:25 PM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,151 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Roll View Post
For those of you that have done a motor box repair to the 71" Slick (electric) using a new MB kit, I have a couple of cut pieces of balsa that I'm not sure where they are supposed to go.

The pic show where the piece seems to be the best fit; the matching piece is laying on the board below the motor box.
You may not use every piece. Normal
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 04:51 PM
Registered User
Zimm98's Avatar
USA, SD, Rapid City
Joined Jan 2008
683 Posts
Hey I got a 70" electric that could use a new motorbox, anyone have one kicking around? Thanks
Zimm98 is offline Find More Posts by Zimm98
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 06:49 PM
Team Twisted!
hone1er's Avatar
United States, CA, Hercules
Joined Dec 2011
4,227 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan_m View Post
Ok, here are some pics of the 4330 and 4325. As well as the weights of each. The 4330 is 560 grams, while the 4325 is 510 grams, so a good 50 grams, or just shy of 2 ounces lighter.
They look visually identical, and use the same mounting bolt patterns as well. The 4330 is just 5mm longer. Haven't flown it yet, will do that sunday.
Can't wait to hear what you think about the motor. Did you fly the 4325 already and are replacing it with the 4330? I'm still deciding on what motor to use for a 6s setup.
hone1er is online now Find More Posts by hone1er
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 07:56 PM
doh!
ryan_m's Avatar
United States, AR, Little Rock
Joined May 2006
4,300 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hone1er View Post
Can't wait to hear what you think about the motor. Did you fly the 4325 already and are replacing it with the 4330? I'm still deciding on what motor to use for a 6s setup.
yep, had about 50 flights on my last 70" Slick with the 4325, custom wind to 425kv with 18x10 prop. Prior to that my old 70 had a 380 wind on a 19x10" prop. Sold that 70, replaced with a new 71, and the first 15 flights or so had a 4325 425kv again.
Just swapped that out for this new 4330, which is a 435kv. Also spinning an 18x10 currently. So I should have a pretty good feel for comparison to the 4325.
Also I sold my 4325 to a local buddy who is also sticking it into a 71" Slick and I can get a direct comparison one of these days flying them back to back. If he comes out tomorrow I can do it tomorrow, otherwise I'll just be flying the 4330 tomorrow.
ryan_m is offline Find More Posts by ryan_m
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 08:03 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
3,009 Posts
Yeah, I still have no idea if I'm going to get the 4325, 4330, or 5320 for my 71 slick on 6s.
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 08:09 PM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97 View Post
Yeah, I still have no idea if I'm going to get the 4325, 4330, or 5320 for my 71 slick on 6s.
I just bought the 5320-300 and I plan on running it on 8s with a 19x8.
turnerm is offline Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 08:18 PM
TEAM TWISTED
ROLLING CIRCLE's Avatar
United States, MD, Middle River
Joined Dec 2011
989 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Roll View Post
For those of you that have done a motor box repair to the 71" Slick (electric) using a new MB kit, I have a couple of cut pieces of balsa that I'm not sure where they are supposed to go.

The pic show where the piece seems to be the best fit; the matching piece is laying on the board below the motor box.
Ask RCMC. Go to the build and repair thread in this 3D Flying forum. He posts there sometimes when he is on. He has repaired almost every flavor of 3DHS plane

He can help.
ROLLING CIRCLE is offline Find More Posts by ROLLING CIRCLE
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Team Tundra 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 08:21 PM
TEAM TWISTED
ROLLING CIRCLE's Avatar
United States, MD, Middle River
Joined Dec 2011
989 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joesmith285 View Post
3.2 volts is fine, you definitely don't want to set it to 3.6 volts. I usually set mine somewhere betweem 3.0 volts and 3.2 volts and also soft cutoff and you will be good to go.
Thanks Joe. Done!

Now need 2 new 4S packs to test this bird out. Those packs may have been a little soft after this season.
ROLLING CIRCLE is offline Find More Posts by ROLLING CIRCLE
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Team Tundra 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 08:33 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
3,009 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnerm View Post
I just bought the 5320-300 and I plan on running it on 8s with a 19x8.
I plan on running 6s though. I was thinking 5320-400kv for 6s with a 19x10 prop but I wanted to keep my ice 100 esc and I think the 5320 will pull too many amps for that esc.
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 08:35 PM
Team Twisted!
hone1er's Avatar
United States, CA, Hercules
Joined Dec 2011
4,227 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97 View Post
I plan on running 6s though. I was thinking 5320-400kv for 6s with a 19x10 prop but I wanted to keep my ice 100 esc and I think the 5320 will pull too many amps for that esc.
Looks like we're in the same boat.


It's going to take me forever to build this thing. Anyone want to buy a 60'' EF Extra?
hone1er is online now Find More Posts by hone1er
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM