HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 12, 2009, 10:48 AM
Registered User
Threshold's Avatar
London UK
Joined Jul 2004
2,530 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan_m
But with the 70" Slick I wonder if it is just too big and graceful to really get good tumbles out of? I've got a 50cc gasser and find that it's so big that it's hard to really get good 3d performance out of it. Maybe I'm just too used to smaller more flip/floppy planes...

So - all to ask, for anybody who has owned and/or flown both the 51's and 70's, which do you prefer and why?
I have all three. I think you will like the 51" it flies much bigger than the 42" but still tumbles like crazy. I prefer the 70" because it shrugs off a wind and does fly so gracefully which is just what I really like. I still love the 51" for fun crazy flying and its easier to transport and setup etc but for my style of flying the 70" is king. In a prop hang for example it just sits there and you can make tiny corrections to keep it absolutely still, the 51" will almost do the same if there is no wind. For you the 51" is the answer.
Threshold is offline Find More Posts by Threshold
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 12, 2009, 11:06 AM
WAR EAGLE
callen's Avatar
Parrish Fl
Joined Apr 2004
1,856 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manta1
fixed endpoint setup with throttle?if so sure
dep on yur radio first use castlelink to change auto throttle calibration to fixed endpoint.update esc.
no i have 9303 so this is how we done it with it.
go into throttle trims on the tx,set high and low to 0,then go full throttle on tx,plug in plane.(recomment prop not on plane for this) ok when you plug plane in,gragually increase throttle trim until you hear the esc beep,go to idle (stick down)run throttle trim up until you hear beep.this sets up your throttle trim and your done,fly,charge batteries repeat
p.s. this is with my ice 100 castle esc,i do believe it works on any of them tho.the castles that is.
pm me if need more help.
Same for DX 7 I'm using a Castle 80 ESC

Be in fixed endpoints on selection of esc. Trims to 0 on tx
1.TX..Go to endpoints on throttle and set hi an lo to around 35%
2.Throttle to max
3.Power up everything, yes even the airplane.
4.Increase hi endpoint slowly until a beep is heard from esc, then go 2 clicks or 2% more.You'll probably be around 75% + or -
5.Unpower all
6.Throttle to idle
7.Power up all
8.Increase lo endpoint until a beep is heard then 2 % more or 2 clicks.

That's its.
Now your throttle trim will work for a slow spin if you fly that way as I do.
callen is offline Find More Posts by callen
Last edited by callen; Oct 12, 2009 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2009, 11:30 AM
ADC Vinyl
Fliprob17's Avatar
SoCal-Rancho Santa Marg.
Joined Mar 2007
5,229 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by weaser42
Well I got in 4 flights today and the spacer is working fine.
That's good news. I got a spacer in the 18x10 and have had it bolted to the prop. adapter for about 4 days now letting everything compress and settle before making it a permanent "resident" in the prop. Seems like it will be just fine though. Length is perfect so it's getting plenty of pressure on both sides, and the width was right on after reaming it out, nice snug fit in the prop.
Fliprob17 is offline Find More Posts by Fliprob17
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2009, 05:00 PM
blucor basher's Avatar
United States, PA, Lancaster
Joined Jun 2003
24,141 Posts
Guys - Next shipment of 70" slicks is due within a week or so. Finally, this one is not totally sold out. We are apparently catching up at least a little.

We have plenty of Reaper GR-60XL in stock and have finally rec'd some Castle ICE100 8S ESC's, so we're putting a combo up on the site. I'll put it up early with no photos in case anyone wants to pre-order it.
blucor basher is offline Find More Posts by blucor basher
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2009, 05:25 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
25,891 Posts
Quote:
I'll put it up early with no photos in case anyone wants to pre-order it.
I doooo...but...the funds just aren't there...

Its funny...I really like the looks of the blue one, but can't quite go the red one....something about the color scheme changes the look of the cowling, and the red ones looks stubby or something....strange..... (just my opinion of course)

And.... are these servos okay for this plane???

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by SteveT.; Oct 12, 2009 at 05:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2009, 07:43 PM
lazy 3D specialist
ronbo111's Avatar
United States, OH, Canal Winchester
Joined May 2007
2,016 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitter
I do not have a Slick yet but I am trying to decide on my power system. I am looking at the Hacker A50-16S, Reaper GR60XL, Scorpion 4025-12, Hyperion ZS 4025-14, AXI 4130-16, or Neu 1512/2D with a P32 6.7:1 GB on XOAR 18x8 prop and 6S 5000 pack. I am looking for about 8 minutes flight times with power to spare! What did you think of the comparison between the GR60XL and the Neu 1512/2D as far as power and flight times?


Thanks Vitter
Vitter,Dont know about the other motors, Iam sure you can can find some info on them in this thread.As for the Reaper and Neu,Fig Jam has some great info in post # 1685.Iam very happy with the Reaper motor and I think the Reaper -100 amp Ice will be a very good combo FWIW Iam getting a Neu for my 68" Velox.Ron
ronbo111 is online now Find More Posts by ronbo111
Last edited by ronbo111; Oct 12, 2009 at 08:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2009, 08:12 PM
Registered User
jadamian75's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado USA
Joined Oct 2007
2,393 Posts
That is an excellent Combo. Exactly what I use at 5200ft and love it.
Joe

Quote:
Originally Posted by blucor basher
We have plenty of Reaper GR-60XL in stock and have finally rec'd some Castle ICE100 8S ESC's, so we're putting a combo up on the site. I'll put it up early with no photos in case anyone wants to pre-order it.
jadamian75 is offline Find More Posts by jadamian75
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2009, 10:19 PM
Fly Navy
zaboaa's Avatar
Rockwall, TX
Joined Sep 2007
245 Posts
18x10..

Any of you guy's that have flown the 18x8 and 8x10 with the 60XL what kind of performance difference are you getting? What are amp/watts number differences. Thanx...
zaboaa is offline Find More Posts by zaboaa
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2009, 10:32 PM
Fly Low or you'll never know!
RC4x4's Avatar
Thornton, Colorado
Joined Jul 2002
3,804 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaboaa
Any of you guy's that have flown the 18x8 and 8x10 with the 60XL what kind of performance difference are you getting? What are amp/watts number differences. Thanx...
I'm gonna be doing my maiden wednesday with a 18x8 Xoar. I'm getting around 1700 watts / 74 amps / voltage at 22.1v with a Rimfire. I'll be doing a 18x10 also.


Cory
RC4x4 is offline Find More Posts by RC4x4
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2009, 11:15 PM
3D Sunset Flier
Buzzed's Avatar
PHX
Joined Jun 2008
3,863 Posts
RC4x4,

Where did you get your Xoar props? I just received two Xoars today in the mail but they are drilled to about 10mm. Both my prop adapters (Scorpion and Hyperion) are 8mm.

All my props show up needing to be drilled, but not these.

Ughhhhh,

-Buzzed
Buzzed is offline Find More Posts by Buzzed
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2009, 11:52 PM
Registered User
jadamian75's Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado USA
Joined Oct 2007
2,393 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC4x4
I'm gonna be doing my maiden wednesday with a 18x8 Xoar. I'm getting around 1700 watts / 74 amps / voltage at 22.1v with a Rimfire. I'll be doing a 18x10 also.


Cory
Can't wait to see it fly on the Rimfire. When are you going to prop it to 2300 watts like the specs say you can? It looks like a good high power motor.
jadamian75 is offline Find More Posts by jadamian75
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 01:22 AM
House of Paine
weaser42's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined May 2007
2,164 Posts
Hey Buzzed, I ran into the same thing with my Xoar's. I found some plastic spacers at Ace hardware which were 10mm OD by I think 6.3mm ID and 15mm long. I used a prop reamer to get the ID up to 8mm and it makes a nice bushing. I got in 4 flights last weekend with that setup with no problems.

You're in the Phoenix area? If so, where are you flying? I've not seen another 70" Slick yet. I'm on the east side and have been flying mine out at the Gilbert Quiet Flyers site.
weaser42 is offline Find More Posts by weaser42
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 02:23 AM
Aerial Abstract Art
Daloaf's Avatar
San Francisco, CA
Joined Nov 2005
2,432 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaboaa
Any of you guy's that have flown the 18x8 and 8x10 with the 60XL what kind of performance difference are you getting? What are amp/watts number differences. Thanx...
With the 60XL, 17x8 is the recommended setup. 18X8 gets the motor pretty warm, but still well within tolerance levels. But a 18x10 is really going to heat up the motor unless you're at higher altitudes. The guys in Colorado tend to use the larger props with higher pitch because of the thinner air. If your near sea level, go with the 17x8 or 18x8. Btw, Scott said going with anything above a 17x8 will void the warranty on the motor.
Daloaf is offline Find More Posts by Daloaf
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 13, 2009, 06:48 AM
Account Closed
Joined May 2008
252 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blucor basher
Guys - Next shipment of 70" slicks is due within a week or so. Finally, this one is not totally sold out. We are apparently catching up at least a little.

We have plenty of Reaper GR-60XL in stock and have finally rec'd some Castle ICE100 8S ESC's, so we're putting a combo up on the site. I'll put it up early with no photos in case anyone wants to pre-order it.

Ben,

Can I put one of the leftovers on "Lay a way". I want one for a winter project but have to save a couple months for it, I'm taped out after putting the 89" together this fall and I'd hate to have to wait until next year for the next batch of 70's....


Scott
Scott Gerber is offline Find More Posts by Scott Gerber
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 07:17 AM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,149 Posts
guys just a note,CLint,our castle rep updated my 70 slick with the last thursday update (the one they been promiseing for a while since my 87 shp dilema) and yep,you guessed it,squeal above half throttle!!! aaaarrrgggg! but this was with reaper gr60xl and the ice 100..went back to original firmware and all ok.so theres a tremer in the force,and NO i did NOT touch my shp...whatever change they made with firmware since my mtr and esc was in their shop im scared of now.
Manta1 is offline Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM