HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 08, 2009, 07:25 AM
Support Cancer Research
JPRC's Avatar
Joined May 2007
128 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero3803
I'll take her up again this weekend for you to see.
Sounds good. Sunday works best for me. Send me a text.
JPRC is offline Find More Posts by JPRC
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 08, 2009, 07:53 AM
iumop ap!sdn w,I
G.P.'s Avatar
Joined May 2005
6,431 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by weaser42
I found some nylon spacers at a local Ace hardware today. They are 10mm OD x 6.3mm ID x 15mm length. I used my prop reamer to get the ID to 8mm and it looks like the hub on my 18x10 Xoar is 16mm so the spacer fits nicely at just 1 mm short. I think this will be a great solution but I'll let everyone know if I have any issues next time I fly.

I believe these are the same spacers on Amazon for about 10x cheaper than what I paid Even though the Amazon pics show white they are black in color, not that it matters.

http://www.amazon.com/Metric-Spacer-...971144&sr=8-14
May want to make them a little shorter as they might stop the prop from being fully tightened down. The wood will probably compress a little.
G.P. is offline Find More Posts by G.P.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 08:52 AM
Registered User
Zero3803's Avatar
Kennesaw, Georgia
Joined Jul 2007
1,752 Posts
Well I just made a bigtime mistake again. I was checking the voltages of the 6s 5000 packs with my wattmeter. I get to the last pack, and accidentally plug the friggin receiver pack into it.......
Flames shot out the back of the powerpoles and I unplugged them as fast as I could. Voltage check on both packs is fine.....

Pretty frustrating to ruin the rx pack, and possibly a flight pack hours before the maiden. Guess that is postponed now again....
Zero3803 is offline Find More Posts by Zero3803
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 08:56 AM
Registered User
ronrandle's Avatar
Huntersville, NC
Joined Jul 2002
1,699 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero3803
Flames shot out the back of the powerpoles ....

What, no pics?
ronrandle is offline Find More Posts by ronrandle
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 09:03 AM
customstandoffs
cmala's Avatar
USA, AL, Madison
Joined Dec 2007
8,547 Posts
get the video camera and do it again.....like no shoes did
cmala is offline Find More Posts by cmala
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 09:16 AM
Registered User
Zero3803's Avatar
Kennesaw, Georgia
Joined Jul 2007
1,752 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmala
get the video camera and do it again.....like no shoes did
I wish I could be that funny about it.

I'm pretty pissed off right now. I will probably use the 6s 5k again simply because of the rx pack redudancy, but I won't use the tp pack in this bird.
Zero3803 is offline Find More Posts by Zero3803
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 09:29 AM
Ta-dah!
blakevan's Avatar
Texas
Joined May 2007
4,462 Posts
Don't power poles have male/female? Sry I don't want to start a brand war just gathering information.
blakevan is offline Find More Posts by blakevan
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 09:44 AM
customstandoffs
cmala's Avatar
USA, AL, Madison
Joined Dec 2007
8,547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakevan
Don't power poles have male/female? Sry I don't want to start a brand war just gathering information.

nope.

They have a red and a black. Any connector will plug into any other connector.

David,

Your not the only one to do this. Many people have done the same thing or even worse, plug the 6S pack directly into the receiver. I used the little futaba style connector for my rx battery/regulator for that reason.
cmala is offline Find More Posts by cmala
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 09:49 AM
customstandoffs
cmala's Avatar
USA, AL, Madison
Joined Dec 2007
8,547 Posts
I would probably do the same thing as you and get a new rx pack. You can test it to see if it is still ok but you could have weakened one of the connections between the cells and it could fail. It's probably ok but I probably wouldn't trust it as the rx power in the slick either.

You don't have anything else laying around that you can use as a rx pack? NiCads? NiMH? Another 2S LiPo?

If you were closer, I could fix you up....
cmala is offline Find More Posts by cmala
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 09:52 AM
House of Paine
weaser42's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined May 2007
2,170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G.P.
May want to make them a little shorter as they might stop the prop from being fully tightened down. The wood will probably compress a little.
Good point, I was thinking that 1mm would be enough for any compression but I'll double check when I mount. It's easy enough to shorten and I'm sure there would be no proble having it another mm shorter.
weaser42 is offline Find More Posts by weaser42
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 10:00 AM
Support Cancer Research
JPRC's Avatar
Joined May 2007
128 Posts
David,

I have a few 2 cell packs that I use in a small heli. You're welcome to them. They don't have power poles on them but I could put some on or you could.
JPRC is offline Find More Posts by JPRC
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 10:21 AM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,153 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero3803
I wish I could be that funny about it.

I'm pretty pissed off right now. I will probably use the 6s 5k again simply because of the rx pack redudancy, but I won't use the tp pack in this bird.
bring it to the fly in this weekend at hodges well get ya goin
Manta1 is offline Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 10:22 AM
customstandoffs
cmala's Avatar
USA, AL, Madison
Joined Dec 2007
8,547 Posts
what are you using as a regulator? Can you use something other than a 2S? Something you might have handy?
cmala is offline Find More Posts by cmala
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 10:23 AM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,153 Posts
dont you have an ice 100 esc? plug it up and go bro
Manta1 is offline Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2009, 11:42 AM
Registered User
Zero3803's Avatar
Kennesaw, Georgia
Joined Jul 2007
1,752 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmala
I would probably do the same thing as you and get a new rx pack. You can test it to see if it is still ok but you could have weakened one of the connections between the cells and it could fail. It's probably ok but I probably wouldn't trust it as the rx power in the slick either.

You don't have anything else laying around that you can use as a rx pack? NiCads? NiMH? Another 2S LiPo?

If you were closer, I could fix you up....
Got a good deal on one from Atlanta Hobby today. $16.00 for a replacement. The maiden should still be today, but a little later.

We'll see how the 6s 5000 I dorked performs over the next few weeks. I may try it today once I get my new rx pack wired up and charged. It will definitely not be the maiden pack..
Zero3803 is offline Find More Posts by Zero3803
Last edited by Zero3803; Oct 08, 2009 at 11:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM