Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Aug 24, 2009, 08:12 AM
Joined May 2009
5 Posts
Discussion
Keel Fin and Keel (fishing lead sinker) attachment?

Dear all,

I am in the process of scratch building a 65 cm sail boat (RG65) and let me start by stating that I am a complete beginner.

I am done with the hull and the keel fin and some of the boat structure.

I am now trying to attached the 500g weight (keel) to the keel fin. The keel is made from a lead fishing sinker (hammered and file to hydro-shape). The keel fin is made out of 2 layers of plywood epoxied together, covered with fiberglass and sanded to shape.

I initially inserted a bolt at the bottom of the keel fin. The idea was to drill thru the lead to screw the sinker to the fin. I came to realize last night that drilling thru lead is not that easy. I also realizedthat i should also carve into the lead so the fin will be tighlty inserted.

So my problem is this: drilling thru lead and carving the fin tip into the lead.

Any advice or technics I should consider.

Also I am sure some of you have come up with a much more clever idea, (or just not as dumb as mine) to attached the fin to the lead. Please feel free to pass any helpfull comment.

I also thought of melting the lead down and reshaping it with a mold but that would involve a whole new project.

as always thanks for your help.

Xman.

If i am not clear enough in my explanation let me know and I will post some pics.
FalconXman is offline Find More Posts by FalconXman
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 24, 2009, 09:06 AM
Chicago , Illinois
Joined Jul 2008
878 Posts
Hey Xman
Have you tried to contact Earl Boebert and ask him how to attach the
lead weight to the fin ? you can get an Email addy through the AMYA
website....
I have A) never built a boat and B) dont know anything about the RG65s
BUT I have seen many dire warnings on this and other chat forums about
working with lead - the idea seems to be DON"T unless previous experience