HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 20, 2009, 06:09 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
Discussion
Corona DSSS V2 Hack Thread

I have been so pleased with the new Corona DSSS V2, I decided to convert my EVO 9. I had previously tested and worked fine. I was going to sell it but my XP7202 crapped out. I was not sure which way to go but after seeing the review below, I was sold on Corona!

The Corona uses 3 band where Spektrum uses only two band. I purchased my JR/8 Ch. 2.4G combo for $60 from HobbyKing. Now its only $45.

Note: I don’t know about the Futaba module, but the JR module works with + and – shift.

JR. Module from HobbyKing:
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s..._&_Rx_(V2_DSSS)

I also bought couple of light weight receivers from HiModel.
http://www.himodel.com/radios/2.4G_C...ules_CR4D.html

Full Review:
http://www.rcmodelreviews.com/corona_dsssv2.shtml
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 20, 2009, 06:11 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
The binding switch and LED are removed and pigtails are added so I can mount them remotely.
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 06:14 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
The binding switch is mounted at the empty position K. I mounted it flush so it can not be pushed accidentally.

Looks like it belongs there!
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 06:16 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
The status LED for the Rx was mounted on the EVO at the empty position P after removing the plug. It looks really good.
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 06:19 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
I took the antenna tube completely out and took the antenna “ball” apart. It is made up of two halves. I took a small fiberglass and screwed it the existing holes so it can not move. The antenna is pushed in to place tightly and is held by electric tape to it does not simply fall out
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 06:24 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
With the antenna tube remove, there is plenty of space to mount the Corona module behind the LCD display.

All finished and everything works really good.

With Corona DSSS V2 Tx/Rx costing only $45, I am not sure why it is not discussed as much as other Chinese brands, especially considering it offer 3 band performance.
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 08:51 PM
Registered User
Singapore
Joined Mar 2007
162 Posts
FF6 Corona futuba hack

SPECIAL thanks to alfoot and sebbe !!!!!!


PPM SIGNAL CONVERTER - Not needed if you use Assan.



Completed







Video of my FF6 with Corona Ver 2 ( FUTABA )

Futaba FF6 on Corona 2.4 ver 2


it works..



Quote:
Originally Posted by alfoot
Hi,

I just thought I'd let the group know that I managed to get the Corona V1 module to work with the FF6 transmitter by building the PPM signal inverter circuit as per the attached diagram, which I found on this very helpful site here:-

http://users.belgacom.net/TX2TX/tx2t...h/tx2txgb7.htm

I hope that the site owner doesn't mind it being reproduced.

To the right of the Zener diode, the +ve from the transmitter trainer port ("+V switched" in the diagram) is connected to the +ve on the Corona module, "In" goes to the module PPM, and "Ground" goes to the module -ve.

I didn't have the BC547C so I used a BC107, and it seems to work OK.

I managed to solder all of the components inside the DIN plug cover.

I now just need to devise an elegant way of holding the Corona module/aerial to the main body of the transmitter. I need to keep the body of the module clean because I still use the module in other transmitters. I recently bought a Futaba 10C transmitter and it works fine in that, for example, as well as my ancient 7UAP.

Hope this helps anyone else who wants to give new blood to their FF6.

Al
BenziT is offline Find More Posts by BenziT
Last edited by BenziT; Aug 31, 2009 at 10:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 09:00 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
No Conversion Module Needed If You Use Corona Dsss V2 Jr Module !!!!
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 09:05 PM
Registered User
Singapore
Joined Mar 2007
162 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gyroguru
No Conversion Module Needed If You Use Corona Dsss V2 Jr Module !!!!
OHHHHHH.. i was curious about that too.

Cause I am using a FUTABA FF6.( Assuming that it is a positive shift as i needed the ppm inverter ) Thus, I bought a CORONA FUTABA instead of a JR . How do I find out if it is + shift or - shift. Jr radios use positive shift PPM, Futaba uses negative shift PPM

I am intending to hack a corona module into my friend Futaba 7C.( NEG SHIFT ) Can I still use a Corona FUTABA module ?


So, its confirmed that the difference between the JR and Futaba module is only the PPM shift.


Many many thanks

BenziT is offline Find More Posts by BenziT
Last edited by BenziT; Aug 20, 2009 at 09:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 09:59 PM
Registered User
Singapore
Joined Mar 2007
162 Posts
http://www.zelscope.com/

BenziT is offline Find More Posts by BenziT
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 10:16 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
Not all JR are + shift !!!

This is a trace on a scope from my JR 631 which has crystal.
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 10:18 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
This is a scope trace from my JR 7202 which is synthesized. It appears to be – shift !!!
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 10:19 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
These are from my EVO9 with + and - shift settings:
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 10:20 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
365 Posts
I dont know about Corona DSSS V2 Futaba, but th JR works with my EVO with + or - shift settings. This woudl explain why it would also work with the JR 631 (+) and JR 7202 (-).
Gyroguru is offline Find More Posts by Gyroguru
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2009, 03:15 AM
Registered User
Singapore
Joined Mar 2007
162 Posts
so am i correct to say .. if i want to hack any model. Using a JR will be the safest bet
BenziT is offline Find More Posts by BenziT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Corona 2.4GHz DSSS V2 very good. MUST READ ! Gyroguru Radios 9 Jun 08, 2013 02:09 AM
Discussion Corona 2.4GHz DSSS V2 - Converted my JR XP7202 Gyroguru Radios 11 Dec 03, 2010 05:53 AM
Discussion Corona DSSS v2, what ppm signals ? sebbe Radios 34 Nov 06, 2010 09:13 AM
Discussion Corona 2.4GHz DSSS V2 - EVO9 - Works with + & - shift !!! Gyroguru Radios 2 Dec 30, 2009 11:08 AM
Discussion Corona 2.4GHz DSSS V2 - Converted my JR XF631 Gyroguru Radios 0 Aug 12, 2009 09:13 PM