"The Judge"
Sweden
Joined Feb 2006
5,563 Posts
Discussion
whats up with 2,4ghz ?

xxxxxxx
sebbe is online now Find More Posts by sebbe
Last edited by sebbe; Aug 16, 2009 at 05:55 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 16, 2009, 12:01 PM
early retired & loving it
USA, AZ, Kingman
Joined Aug 2005
1,229 Posts
I don't have a problem with 2.4G or Spektrum.
I don't find a problem with 72M either.
Most pilots that go out and have a great day flying just don't post about it.
Those who crash for any unexplained reason try to come up with a reason and the radio may be their first emotional reason.
I think there is a problem with communicating that 2.4G may not be a direct "insert and play" without going over the rest of your system and understanding the differences of these NEW (but not GOLD) systems.
Battery ineffeciencies, antenna position, servo problems, and mechanical failures... are just as likely to be the cause of problems.
I have been flying since 1968 and have never lost a plane to deffective radio design.
bnrusso is offline Find More Posts by bnrusso
Old Aug 16, 2009, 12:06 PM
AMA # L576
United States, OR, North Bend
Joined Sep 2006
2,225 Posts
Also never forget the dumb thumb, but don't want to admit it, so blame it on the radio crowd (probably accounts for 90% of crashes).
vhoward1122 is offline Find More Posts by vhoward1122
Old Aug 16, 2009, 12:27 PM
USA
Joined Sep 2003
967 Posts
sebbe

I think you will find the the "Real World" and what you read on these forums are close to polar opposites.

While I've no doubt that some have had problems with (name your system) the fact is that the change to 2.4GHz has been far smoother than any other 'sea change' I've experienced in RC for the last 49 years.

The MAJOR difference is the availability of "The Web".
I have mixed emotions as to its value and certainly violent disagreement with the views there as ANYONE can post ANYTHING, ANY TIME no credentials required.