HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 10, 2009, 07:22 PM
Fairport, NY
Joined Aug 2009
20 Posts
Discussion
New here wanted to introduce myself.

Hi my name is jason and i am new to the hobby. With two flights I have a total of about 25 second of flight time behind me. I currentlly own an E-flite Apprentice and think in theory it is a great plane. Im sure i will have many questions aboutlots of stuff.
jdoenumber2 is offline Find More Posts by jdoenumber2
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 10, 2009, 07:38 PM
wormburner
Minneapolis
Joined May 2009
811 Posts
welcome dude.

one flight that laster 25 seconds and one crash, or two 12.5 second flights?
grimace308 is offline Find More Posts by grimace308
Old Aug 10, 2009, 08:12 PM
Fairport, NY
Joined Aug 2009
20 Posts
First 10 seconds. Second 15 seconds.
Old Aug 10, 2009, 08:24 PM
Toronto, Canada
Joined Feb 2009
49 Posts
I take it then you are flying without an instructor and/or buddy box?

They are highly recommended with the Apprentice. Have an instructor trim out the plane before you fly it.

Before I flew my Apprentice I had a lot of practice on the flight sims then I had a buddy box for a while. The instructor would get it up to altitude then I would fly circuits either clockwise or counter clockwise and I got the feel for it up high. If I lost orientation (flying too far out) the instructor saved the plane for me.

Once I got more comfortable just cruising around I started practicing approaches for landings. Just kept doing them over and over. Eventually some of the approaches turned into landings. Takeoff was the easy part. If you are on grass (as I was) it is important to give it lots of up elevator to keep the nose from tipping down.

It is a great trainer. But having an instructor saved my Apprentice from crashes at least 3 or 4 times.
kirch is offline Find More Posts by kirch
Old Aug 10, 2009, 08:27 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Jul 2006
22,991 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdoenumber2