HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 15, 2001, 03:39 PM
Wilmington Oh 45177
Joined Nov 1999
885 Posts
How many planes have you scrapped?

The question "How many planes do you have?" comes up enough, if you have been around here for a while, so lets take a different slant on it.
How many planes have you crashed, not just crashed, but destroyed, beyond repair?
Come on now , You will feel much better if you get it out.
I think from memory I have destroyed more than 15 models in a 5 year span.
I am self taught and if someone said, that's not a beginner model, I would buy it and fly it, er I mean crash it anyway
Regards,
Shelby
shelby is offline Find More Posts by shelby
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 15, 2001, 03:47 PM
Joined May 2000
754 Posts

Dynamic Soaring..a sure fire way to pare slope planes..another story.
Compleatly destroyed a beautiful Pilatus B4 glider last weekend...launched into a 40mph wind and the Tx battery took a crap.

Have been lucky with F5B so far..knock on carbon, but I too will probably have the drive system dig a trench some day...
partoftheproblm is offline Find More Posts by partoftheproblm
Old Jun 15, 2001, 04:05 PM
MotoCalc Developer
Moorefield, Ontario, Canada
Joined Mar 2001
315 Posts
Scrapped? 3

<ul>[*]Home-brew Piper Cub. Built it way too flimsy, flipped over and broke it before even getting off the ground. This was _long_ before I knew what I was doing with e-power too, so it was way underpowered.</li>[*]Gentle Lady. Shortly after I electrified it, I had a servo fail and hold in hard right rudder. http://www.capable.ca/wreckage.jpg </li>[*]Ace Pacer. I finally got it flying well, but the structure was so poorly designed that it would crack on almost any less-than-perfect landing. Finally had a really hard landing, so I pitched it. http://www.capable.ca/pacer </li>[/list]Stefan
stefanv is offline Find More Posts by stefanv
Old Jun 15, 2001, 04:16 PM
Tel-Aviv,Israel
Joined Apr 2001
457 Posts