Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 17, 2012, 06:05 PM
Life's short - Enjoy!
DeeCee 57's Avatar
Zurich, Switzerland
Joined Nov 2009
596 Posts
Thanx again Steve, I do understand it makes sense to you

No worries, and a great day to you too
DeeCee 57 is online now Find More Posts by DeeCee 57
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 17, 2012, 09:43 PM
Registered User
DesJardins's Avatar
United States, AZ
Joined Oct 2012
170 Posts
Question using S.bus; is there a particular Frequency requirement or Rx setting?
Such as the MULTI vs. MLT2?
And Normal vs. Hi-speed mode?

Thanks... My replacement won't even bind the new Rx, Futaba must hate me.
been racing Futaba 3pk-4PKs for years, but all my flying was Spektrum...

Thanks folks
Jon
DesJardins is offline Find More Posts by DesJardins
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 09:58 PM
Perfect 3pt inverted landing!
teookie's Avatar
USA, AL, Huntsville
Joined Oct 2008
3,089 Posts
Hold the antennas REALLY close to each other, and if that doesn't work turn off your wifi router.
teookie is offline Find More Posts by teookie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 10:05 PM
Registered User
DesJardins's Avatar
United States, AZ
Joined Oct 2012
170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teookie View Post
Hold the antennas REALLY close to each other, and if that doesn't work turn off your wifi router.
Yup had it 8" apart and wifi was already off
:-/
DesJardins is offline Find More Posts by DesJardins
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 10:07 PM
Sponsored by Team de la Peņa
bdelapen's Avatar
Miramar, FL
Joined Aug 2008
2,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesJardins View Post
Question using S.bus; is there a particular Frequency requirement or Rx setting?
Such as the MULTI vs. MLT2?
And Normal vs. Hi-speed mode?

Thanks... My replacement won't even bind the new Rx, Futaba must hate me.
been racing Futaba 3pk-4PKs for years, but all my flying was Spektrum...

Thanks folks
Jon
So if you are going to use s.bus you most probably want Multi2. As a general rule of thumb you want 7CH with all non s.bus receivers 7 channels or less. For non s.bus 8 channel receivers you want Multi and for all s.bus or receivers greater than 8 channels you want Multi2. You can always use Multi2 on any s.bus or 8+ channel receiver, you may just not have access to all the channels in the receiver that you have in the radio.

As for HS, you want to use this only if you have HS servos and even then I believe that it only operates on direct ports 1-6 but read the manual that came with your receiver for the details. Be careful with non HS servos in a HS port, they may actually burn up.

Regards,

- Birger
bdelapen is online now Find More Posts by bdelapen
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 17, 2012, 10:26 PM
Registered User
DesJardins's Avatar
United States, AZ
Joined Oct 2012
170 Posts
Thanks a bunch Birger, when I get less irritated I'll try the rebind and go from there again!
DesJardins is offline Find More Posts by DesJardins
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 02:20 AM
Fit to CFIT
vespa's Avatar
Thousand Oaks, CA
Joined Mar 2004
2,500 Posts
Sadly the idiots at Futaba are so stupid that they haven't figured out how to make receivers compatible with transmitters. The only thing you can do is a series of trial/error experiments hoping that maybe you somehow bought a Futaba Rx that just happens to be compatible with your Futaba TX and the just keep guessing at the modes until it works. For example a 3CH RX should be set as Mult but a 4 CH should be set as 7 CH. Good luck.
vespa is online now Find More Posts by vespa
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 02:59 AM
Registered User
South Africa, WC, Cape Town
Joined Dec 2009
1,401 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesJardins View Post
Thanks a bunch Birger, when I get less irritated I'll try the rebind and go from there again!
YOutr 8FG came with a R6208SB Rx.

To bind is very simple.

Power up the Tx.

Hold down the "LINK" button on the RX.

Power it up using a fullycharged 4.8V or 6.0-V or 6.6V LifE or 7.4V LiPo Rx battery. A switch doesmake things easier. Thre is NO REQUIREMENT for servo's or any other devices to be plugged in.

Power up the Rx while holding the LINK button down.
The LED Will Flash RED and then go solid green. Rx is now bound.

To check HS or Norml modes, power down the Tx.

Power down the RX

Power up the Rx. If it flashes red then goes solid Red it is in Normal Mode.
If it Flashes red then goes solid Orange (RED+GREEN) it is in HS mode. Use this mode only if you wan to use Digital servo's in PWM Channels 1-6.

For S.bus, you need to get some additional hardware. like a male to male connector and S.bus hubs and servos.
You can program (Channel set ) the S.bus servo's from the Rx if you like but for more flexible programming the CIU-2 programmer is the way to go.


the linking process is really simple.
TimBle is offline Find More Posts by TimBle
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 04:27 AM
Registered User
DesJardins's Avatar
United States, AZ
Joined Oct 2012
170 Posts
Oh I know how to bind it... This is #2 as I felt there were range issues with the first but that's a whole different story.

That's all great info for anyone looking :thumbup:
DesJardins is offline Find More Posts by DesJardins
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 06:35 AM
Perfect 3pt inverted landing!
teookie's Avatar
USA, AL, Huntsville
Joined Oct 2008
3,089 Posts
I've had trouble linking RX's to my 8FG before. In every case I eventually got it by moving outside away from interference in my house (mostly wifi, probably) and holding the antenna's like an inch from each other. 8 inches would not have been close enough. The Antennas need to almost be touching.
teookie is offline Find More Posts by teookie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 07:03 AM
I live my life 8oz at a time..
arnav's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Nov 2011
2,458 Posts
To bind the R6208SB that came with the 8FG was really simple and exactly like TimBle described. To bind the free R617FS that also came with it, i had to search RCG to realize you need to change the band in the Tx to 7CH. I wish the manual would have explained it as clearly as bdelapen did below.
arnav is online now Find More Posts by arnav
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 18, 2012, 07:53 AM
Registered User
DesJardins's Avatar
United States, AZ
Joined Oct 2012
170 Posts
Yea, I'll be testing the new 8FG/Rx Friday after work.

Thanks everyone
DesJardins is offline Find More Posts by DesJardins
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 08:04 AM
Sponsored by Team de la Peņa
bdelapen's Avatar
Miramar, FL
Joined Aug 2008
2,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vespa View Post
Sadly the idiots at Futaba are so stupid that they haven't figured out how to make receivers compatible with transmitters. The only thing you can do is a series of trial/error experiments hoping that maybe you somehow bought a Futaba Rx that just happens to be compatible with your Futaba TX and the just keep guessing at the modes until it works. For example a 3CH RX should be set as Mult but a 4 CH should be set as 7 CH. Good luck.
Hi Vespa,

It seems to me you are making a mountain out of a molehill. Once you realize that ANY S.Bus enabled receiver is actually a 14CH receiver in disguise then it becomes very simple:
  • For receivers that have 7 channels or less AND no S.Bus use 7CH
  • For every other receiver use Multi2
Regards,

- Birger
bdelapen is online now Find More Posts by bdelapen
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 18, 2012, 08:11 AM
Registered User
Champaign
Joined Apr 2003
142 Posts
If you would like to check whether a transmitter is compatible with a certain receiver, we have had this on our website for quite some time now.

You can check this at the bottom of these two pages:

http://www.futaba-rc.com/receivers/air.html

and

http://www.futaba-rc.com/receivers/f...ss-compat.html


Sincerely,
Krysta
Product Development & Support Specialist
Futaba Service Center USA
service@futaba-rc.com




Quote:
Originally Posted by vespa View Post
Sadly the idiots at Futaba are so stupid that they haven't figured out how to make receivers compatible with transmitters. The only thing you can do is a series of trial/error experiments hoping that maybe you somehow bought a Futaba Rx that just happens to be compatible with your Futaba TX and the just keep guessing at the modes until it works. For example a 3CH RX should be set as Mult but a 4 CH should be set as 7 CH. Good luck.
krysta is offline Find More Posts by krysta
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 08:32 AM
I live my life 8oz at a time..
arnav's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Nov 2011
2,458 Posts
Hi krysta,

Thanks for your help.

I looked at those tables when I got my 8FG two weeks ago. I looked at those tables again now. Please take an objective look at them yourself again... Please pretend you are a first time Futaba user (which some of us here are)..
How based on these tables alone are you actually suppose to infer what to select in the Tx? it is a matter of having good usability. For example, the "Protocol Selection" column says "Via Screen Selection." But select what "Via Screen Selection?" Compatibility tables have their place and of course are needed, but I think is missing is how to make the leap from them to the actual Tx configuration. I think what should be added in the manual/online, is exactly something along the lines of what Birger said:

- For receivers that have 7 channels or less AND no S.Bus use 7CH
- For every other receiver use Multi2
- Etc'

Very clear statements that will explain and generalize the compatibility into something that users can relate to and understand when configuring their TXs... I think this will avoid a lot of confusion...

Thanks!
arnav is online now Find More Posts by arnav
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focus 3 FM question. Also, about that new Futaba 3 ch. . . EFoil Parkflyers 5 Oct 19, 2001 11:59 AM
Wanted New Futaba T6XHS / Complete xios3 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Aug 04, 2001 06:16 AM
4- New Futaba S-148 Servos $45 Shipped xios3 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Aug 01, 2001 04:49 PM
New futaba 3 channel ss radio! carl schaller Electric Plane Talk 6 Jun 24, 2001 08:21 PM
New Futaba FF9 to replace FF8? John E Electric Plane Talk 5 Jun 10, 2001 05:41 AM