HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 27, 2009, 09:33 PM
Morgan City/Patterson, Louisiana, United States
Joined Oct 2004
65 Posts
Discussion
Why aren't RPMs and prop size ever listed in electric motor specs??

I'm thinking about converting a Nitro Planes Falcon 120 pusher jet to electric but I'm having a hard time finding information that makes sense to me on which motor and battery set up will work for my application. I'm new to electrics, but have been in R/C for about 17 years so I know prop size and RPMs, not watts. I just read a review where the author tells what prop, and what battery produced so many watts, but that tells me nothing about its performance relative to a glow motor. I asked about this conversion in the glow conversion section and got asnwers like "you'll need at least 2,000 watts" but no specifics on how to get there. This plane is going to be about speed so I need to spin a 10" pitch prop at about 13,200 or 12" pitch prop at 11,000 rpms. About the only place I can find that gives me any prop/RPM/battery info is the Electrifly Rimfire site. Can some one give me some guidance on where to look to find some relavant information or recommend specific combinations? The specs for the plane are below.

Wing Span : 63 in / 1600mm
Wing Area : 1007sq in / 65sq dm
Flying Weight : 12.3 lb / 5600 g
Fuselage Length: 76.8in / 1950mm
Engine Required : 1.20 2c or 1.60 4c
rcmigpilot is offline Find More Posts by rcmigpilot
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 28, 2009, 12:58 AM
WARNING: May contain spam
United States, CA, Alpine
Joined Oct 2007
21,001 Posts
Regarding that plane, you're probably going to need to run a 14" prop or so, say a 14x8 prop.

Regarding watts, firstly, you select your prop range you can use, then we can help you using the watts per pound rule. For pushers, 150 watts per pound is plenty for sporting around, and good strong climbs. 200 watts per pound wih the proper prop will send the plane vertically.