Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 24, 2009, 05:25 PM
Denmark
Joined Jul 2009
7 Posts
Discussion
Quadcopter UAV project, need help getting started

Hello guys

I am very new to the R/C scene and also new to this board. I apologize if I'm posting in the wrong forum, but my questions cover broad topics I think.

My goal:
I would like to take on a UAV project based on a quad copter. I am very impressed by what I have seen with the mikrokopter (http://www.mikrokopter.de/ucwiki/) and projects like this:

FPV cularis, chasing boat , miami (3 min 7 sec)

I would like it to be able to lift a payload of a kg or maybe two, and have a control range of at least 100-200 meters. My budget for a prototype with limited functionality would be a max of maybe 500 euro / 7-800 dollars and I am willing to build alot of stuff myself.

My background:
I am a fairly adept C/C++ programmer, as I study computer engineering on my third year. I have experience with microprocessors and digital electronics, whereas I haven't worked much with analog circuitry. No previous experience with RC.

My problem:
- How do I connect the remote control transmitter to my computer?
I have seen something called a PCTx, but I am not sure if it'll have a long enough range, as I'm aiming for maybe 100-200 meters (the more the better) or more in a direct line. How is this solved usually?

I am pretty hopeless with analog circuits, so if a readily built solution to the receiver/transmitter is available (and affordable), I would prefer that :P

I'd like to make something like the mikrocopter, that can hover, fly by display, transmit gps position and other telemetry and all that jazz. Making the software is the least of my concerns, but I have no idea where to start really. I was thinking about buying a cheap R/C car and trying it out on that, so I won't wreck the quadcopter when I make my first mistakes.

TOO LONG; DIDN'T READ: Quad copter UAV. Where do I start?

Thanks in advance